1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

first time over clock

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by vivabiafra, Jan 4, 2012.

  1. vivabiafra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Portland O.R.
    Mainboard : Asus M3N72-D
    Chipset : nVidia nForce 740a SLI
    Processor : AMD Athlon II X3 445 @ 3100MHz
    Physical Memory : 6144MB (3 x 2048 DDR2-SDRAM )
    Video Card : NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti
    Hard Disk : Western Digital WD5000AAVS-00N7B0 ATA Device (500GB)
    DVD-Rom Drive : SONY DVD RW DW-Q28A
    Monitor Type : SONY SDM-P232W - 23 inches
    Monitor Type : Samsung SyncMaster - 19 inches
    Network Card : Nvidia MCP77 Ethernet
    Operating System : Windows 7 Home Premium Home Edition Media Center 6.01.7601 Service Pack 1 (64-bit)
    DirectX : Version 11.00
    Windows Performance Index : 5.9 on 7.9
    PSU: OCZ 800 watts

    K guys I want to over clock my cpu and gpu to squeeze some more performance out of my machine. This is my first time doing it and I am feeling like a virgin :ohwell:. Can anyone give me some tips, some do and don'ts? I would appreciate it.
     
  2. vivabiafra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Portland O.R.
    Oh I should add that I have 6 fans in my tower the three smallest being 120s and the other three gaining in size...not sure of the sizes but the largest is about the size of a dinner plate (thats the main intake) the three smallest fans are also intakes....so I have plenty of cooling and airflow.
     
  3. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. micropage7

    micropage7

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2010
    Messages:
    5,950 (3.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,380
    Location:
    Jakarta, Indonesia
    maybe you could post its pic here, but anyway more fan could help you to reduce the temp since if you OC it, it would generate more heat :D
     
  5. vivabiafra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Portland O.R.
  6. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,317 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    868
    Location:
    London, UK
    pics or model of your CPU fan please.
     
  7. vivabiafra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Portland O.R.
    no way to do pics but its just the stock fan that came with it
     
  8. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,680 (9.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,154
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. vivabiafra New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Messages:
    26 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Portland O.R.
     
  10. MasterInvader

    MasterInvader

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    275 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    58
    Location:
    Portugal
    With stock cooler I should not recommend OC, but if you really want try this:

    Bus: 225 Multiplier: 15.5 Vcore: 1.39 OC: 3500Mhz
    Bus: 233 Multiplier: 15.5 Vcore: 1.42 OC: 3600Mhz

    With a decent cpu cooler:
    Bus: 255 Multiplier: 15.5 Vcore: 1.51 OC: 3950Mhz

    Set manually the correct timings and ram speed @ bios
    The max supported by the Asus M3N72-D is 1066

    Good luck... and watch the temps
     
  11. Dark_Soul New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2012
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    just made my new rig with a i7, the right cooler was out, so i'll have to wait till tuesday to get one, stuck with the stock cooler till then...

    still don't know if I'll take a Thermaltake or an Zalman...

    edit:
    The fan has turned out to be a Noctua NH-C14...
    I coudnt keep my eyes of the 2 giant NF-P14 FLX fans.

    Can someone tell me how to start overclocking my i7 2600K?
    I have a ANTEC Darkfleet DF85 case, with an extra fan on the sidepanel... that makes 3 fans for intake in the front and 2 fans in the back + 2 fans on top + the sidefan for outtake.
    when idle (IE, firefox and Asus Suite II open) the cpu has 24°c now.

    This would also be my first overclock ever...
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page