1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First time poster.. first time builder

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by surfingerman, Jan 1, 2010.

1. surfingerman

surfingerman New Member

Thanks Received:
    hi everyone i have been reading here a lot before i built my system.. and i have it together now.. i thought i would post the pictures because i love to look at others' pictures... also i have a few minor questions.. and i also have advice for anyone else making a build based on my success

this is my first build i have never even replaced a video card before this i didnt even know how to install ram.. lol looking back i was a total newb.. luckily i learn very fast and i think i can call myself now a semi-expert

but unfortunately im still newb at photo taking

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

okay time for system specs (everything i bought i made sure had the highest feedback at newegg.. and that strategy has paid off greatly)

CPU: I7 920 D0@3.8 1.15v (shows lower on CPUz ? not sure why) 1.2v QPI, 200 blck 19x multi (ordered at newegg)

(i have made it stable at 4.2 but i don't need so much power and i don't think its worth the CPU strain over the long term, if i need a quick upgrade next year i will just set it higher)

CPU cooling: Prolimatech Megalahems with two 1800rpm very very quiet fans Noiseblocker NB-Multiframe M12-S3HS 120mmx25mm Ultra Silent Fan - 1800 RPM - 27 dBA (i cant even hear them with my ear next to them) these are absolutely silent placed vertically.. they make alot noise if you put them horizontal.. don't do that
    (ordered at frozencpu, (highly recommended))

Runs idle 32C-40C in ambient 70F

Runs full load Prime 95 1 hour.. 58-64C (max 64C on core 0, all other cores stay under 62C) ambient 75F