1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Time Time Water Cooling

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by newlife, Sep 13, 2012.

  1. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Hey im thinking about using a XSPC Raystorm 750 RX360 Water Cooling Kit, then upgarding to a better pump and adding 2 240mm rads to the side of my case to help cool the cpu which will i5 3570k and 2 gtx 560s
  2. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
  3. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Buy an H100 for the CPU, and do a separate loop for the GPUs.

    H100, or that loop, is not really gonna offer much difference for the CPU, really. Separetion into two loops will make tube routing easier, and you could toss a 240 rad in the front of the case to cool the GPUs.
  4. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,480 (7.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,990
    why not opt for the better performing Tt Water 2.0 Extreme over the aging H100?
  5. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    THermaltake cooler doesn't offer the flexibility(4 fan headers, COrsair Link software support) the Corsair unit does. Again, no matter what water you use, all are going to be sub-optimal for IVB.

    Erocker and his heatkiller block and triple rad have higher temps than I do with my Coolermaster TPC812 and my 3770K. IVB is so not a water-cooling chip, IMHO.


    Plus, I like Corsair stuff..you know that.:p I prefer the metal mounting hardware to the plastic that Thermaltake uses, too, nor do I like how the thermaltake kit is powered via fan header, @ near 0.75 A, when most motherboard headers are 1.0 A max.
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,533 (13.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,930
    I don't use any of those things. I'm using a 2x120 radiator that is just a little larger than the H100 radiator and an EK Supremacy block. Topping out at 70c on one core after about a half hour of running IBT running at 4.6ghz. In most circumstances my CPU doesn't go over 55c, only when running these "burn tests" does it get so high.
    newlife and Binge say thanks.
  7. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    OK, but still, higher than my own, on air. My CPU, @ 4.6 GHz, barely tops 50c gaming. ALso, I get just under 70C under load @ IBT/LinX(68c). You should try LinX with AVX, not sure if IBT has AVX support yet. :p

    Forgot you got the new block! My bad!

    Like, either I got a magic chip, or these chips really suck for water. LN2/air only. :laugh:

    Could be our ambients, but we seem to have similar outdoor temps at roughly the same times. It's unbeleivable to me that my CPU runs so cool, to be honest, but then, I'm not pushing mega voltage, but I don't really think you are either?


    Doesn't matter anyway, your loop LOOKS impressive. :p
  8. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,981 (3.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,751
    Location:
    PA, USA
    Well my coffee tastes better than yours, but yours is still coffee and coffee is awesome.

    <3
  9. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,770 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,847
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I don't drink coughpee.


    I drink espresso.

    :p


    I dunno, watercooling is nice, looks great, but I do not see the cost worth it. The gains just aren't there. A loop is a whole lots of cost, for almost no gains in clocks, and not much difference in temps, if any.


    GPU cooling, now yeah, that usually pays off in spades, but even that is quesationable with current hardware. OP has GTX560 though...so water should do some good. Cost of a good block almost = H100 cost, or close to what the thermaltake that sneeky mentioned costs, and either is fine, IMHO.


    It's not like erocker's CPU is worse than mine, really...because it isn't. In fact, i'm pretty sure when he told me power consumption, it was within a few watts of my own.


    IVB is just an odd duck when it comes to cooling.
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,652 (7.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,972
    Location:
    some AF base
    I am still trying to figure out the issue with my setup...The swifty block/pump performs well and there is plenty of radiator surface area to cool down that setup...
  11. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,468 (10.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,009
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Honestly yea AIO coolers like the H100 or water2.0 extreme are becoming more and more efficient at cooling today's chips to the point that a custom loop is not needed unless you plan to do a GPU block.
    Binge says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  12. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Thanks i had a look over and i think im just going to stick to a kit for now and upgrade over time (such as 1 or 2 240mm rads and better pump and res if needed) due to limts with money and i think the gpu block u recommend doesnt work with gigabyte gtx 560 (but i know of one that does) and i plan on using clear tubing beacuse i want to use uv based premix with uv cold cathode lights .

    i have no interest in getting a pre-built kit i want to do my own so everyday i look at my pc i can think i did that not somebody else.

    Yay my second gtx 560 just showed and so i found with physx im best to use one card as dedicated to physx
  13. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    And i need a gpu block due to 90c+ (with msi kombuster with light overclocking) and 70-80c under game load and i forgot to say but with my coolermaster v8 i get 60c max at 4.2ghz with 1.15v but im getting a 3570k and i want very good cooling so i can overclock to the max with it
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  14. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    ^those temps are normal for the gpu, also gotta consider that the card comes overclocked as it is.
  15. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    yeah i know just never liked 80+ and i get maxs around 75c with its stock of gpu:830 memory:4008 voltage:1025mv and my overclock not really light gpu:950 memory:4600 voltage:1076mv with afterburner extreme
  16. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    WOW, youre lucky, i have NO ac in my house and it was 92 degrees outside today. i got used to it, but at night when i have my fans running, the lowest ive seen was around 75c at load when playing bf3 for an hour straight. fml i need an AC.
    newlife says thanks.
  17. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    i dont have an AC but its the start spring here about 20c max in day. i have the bigger haf 932 and your using a 580 so u should expect about 10c higher
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  18. 2wicked

    2wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Directly above the center of the Earth
    newlife says thanks.
  19. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    you really think so? if so you sir have encouraged me to the a bigger case.
  20. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  21. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    When i went from some cheap shaw case to my 932 i got up to 20c differnce with 2 hd 7750s but ur case is already better then most a bigger case can make cabling a pain, such as how i need a eps(8pin) extension cable. when i said 10c i ment just 560 vs 580 in the same setup
    xxdozer322 says thanks.
  22. xxdozer322

    xxdozer322

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    437 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    133
    Location:
    Santa Ana, Ca.
    I too came from an Asus 560ti which never hit 70c, but when i upgraded to an evga 580 people on here were telling me its normal for the card to hit 98c at stock clocks, but this gigabyte 580 SOC hasnt hit 98c, got up to 96c at mid day, on a 90degree day. Thanks for your input sir. ill look into a bigger case, i get paid next friday, and im still tryin to get rid of my old 560ti, so money wont be a problem. Sorry for the threadjack.
  23. 2wicked

    2wicked

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    94
    Location:
    Directly above the center of the Earth
    Sorry forgot to include the link to the raystorm club http://www.overclock.net/t/1132180/official-xspc-raystorm-club#post15165829 The rasa club will have more info about the 750 res/pump combo since the rasa kit is the same as the non-D5 pump raystorm kits.
    newlife says thanks.
  24. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    Yet again thanks found it hard to find anything about raystorm im shocked i didnt find anything on overclock.net and from what someone else posted it should be fine with a 320mm and 2x 240mm rads if i get better pump/res
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  25. newlife

    newlife New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2012
    Messages:
    112 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Adelaide, Australia
    And i have been in contact with coolermaster and there going to supply me with 20x r4 fans (not sickleflow) at a cheap price to help

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page