1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

First Upgrade in Years

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by MikeTyson, Dec 9, 2009.

  1. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Heya =]

    Basically I'm looking to go from a Pentium D 920 to an E6600

    And I've gone from an X850XT Crossfire Edition to a Winfast 7950GT TDH

    Also I changed from 4x512MB generic 533MHz to 2x1GB OCZ 800MHz

    I can't really see a difference in games, maybe it's cos of the processor being so crap?

    any thoughts?
     
  2. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,167 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,720
    That 7950 isnt too special either.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Hmm but it should show a lot better results than my X850XT did right?
     
  4. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    All those are truly good upgrades, did you reinstall Windows after the upgrade? You should have a pretty big speed increase!
     
  5. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Well I've only installed the memory and the graphics card so far, the processor is coming later

    So what should I see in terms of performance increases just by the memory and card alone? Cos I get the same fps (then again my processor kinda sucks a lot, I think it's broken cos my games always jump a lot when they first start and the fps goes up and down so much until it settles, this lasts about 1 minute into the actual gameplay)

    And nope I didn't re install windows, it's too much hassle!

    I like my stuff where it is :(
     
  6. theonedub

    theonedub habe fidem

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2009
    Messages:
    7,167 (3.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,720
    Why don't you get back to us when you have the new CPU then :laugh:
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    The processor is probably holding you back substantially. On the other hand, did you use a driver cleaner to remove all the old ati drivers?
     
  8. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Noooo I didn't, but surely that makes little to no difference?
     
  9. Kenshai

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    1,646 (0.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    218
    Location:
    Raleigh, North Carolina
    It can make a big difference, it's what I'd recommend doing.
     
  10. ToTTenTranz

    ToTTenTranz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2009
    Messages:
    865 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    167
    Location:
    Porto
    The Geforce 7000 family has a really bad performance in recent games, even though it's the GPU architecture used for PS3 games. They lack too much in pixel shader performance, wich is extensively used nowadays.

    You'd be better off buying a new HD4650. They're dirt cheap right now.
     
  11. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Uhm, so I installed the E6600 but I don't think it's gone well

    It was one of those stupid snap pin thingies to install the stockintel heatsink, but obviously because it's used they were a bit bent out of shape

    Long story short, I ended up breaking two of them

    So... it's being held on by 2 corners only lol

    The top 2, so I guess you could say it was hanging

    But it's pressed pretty firmly against the motherboard

    Core Temp keeps jumping between minus (-) 42 degrees C and and positive (+) 85 degrees C

    So obviously the sensor or something isn't working...

    What could be wrong? :/
     
  12. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,348
    Update the bios.
     
  13. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    And my in game FPS has gone from about 125 to 30...

    Is that to do with BIOS too? :/
     
  14. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,792 (3.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,348
    Don't know. Update the bios anyway. I assume the motherboard is pretty old (as the rest of the hardware was).. What motherboard is it?
     
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,162 (4.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,805
    Location:
    04578
    1 the cpu heatsink isnt attached right and you changed the processor gpu and ram and didnt do a reinstall which is usually recommended for such large changes the 7900 is a step up from the x850 but not a large improvement at least for modern games id do as torrent recommended get a modern gpu id suggest a 5650 or 5670 for dx11 support and far far better performance

    at this point get a cheap $20 heatsink and fan clean off the old paste add new thermal paste put on the new cooler then check your ram timings and do a reinstall of windows
    that would basically eliminate any and all issues if its not a hardware issue


    what the guy below me said :toast: lol
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2009
  16. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,807 (13.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,190
    Your processor is overheating. You are hitting the temperature limits and it's shutting down on you. You need a new heatsink that isn't broken. You could be damaging your CPU the way it is. If you have problems with using the push-pins, I would suggest a cooler that uses a motherboard backplate and a screw-in type method.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2009
    MikeTyson and crazyeyesreaper say thanks.
  17. MikeTyson New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2009
    Messages:
    645 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    20
    Location:
    South East, United Kingdom
    Thank you, that was it! :D

    I installed my old cooler, Akasa Blue AK something or other, it's terrible but at least it works, cos it fits to the motherboard securely

    Shame about the intel reference one tho, woulda liked to use that instead

    Erm, I guess now comes the obvious

    Overclocking! :D

    I've got OCZ 800MHz something or other ram, so I dnno how good it is

    It's got like silver heatsinks on it and it says "Dual CH EPP 4-4-3-15" on the label

    Looking at my specs, how far is it possible to go just doing beginner overclocking cos I don't do it like, ever?
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page