1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FITS: 2010 MegaRig

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by Fitseries3, Jan 7, 2010.

  1. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    like i said.. .still waiting on new psu then i'll clean up that wiring nightmare

    [​IMG][/img]
  2. zehpavora New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    30 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Location:
    ParanĂ¡, Brasil
    Amazing temps! But how cool the ambient is? Since I don't use ACs or heaters here, my temps float like crazy.
  3. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    its around 67F
  4. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    i hope you will get some red LED fans...
  5. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    im not a fan of LEDs sorry.
    digibucc says thanks.
  6. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,474 (5.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,936
    Boo...
    atleast some red fans???
  7. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,681 (1.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    734
    Location:
    Portugal
    I thought you were going to watercool those 480s.
    Even with the cable mess, it looks impressive. :toast:
  8. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    blocks are on the way
  9. Reventon

    Reventon New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    2,106 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Location:
    Sarasota, FL
    Are you still going to watercool the GPUs?
  10. copenhagen69

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2010
    Messages:
    3,917 (2.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,243
    Location:
    USA
    Hmmmmm ....






    :slap:
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  11. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,489 (13.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,899
    I dunno how you are going to get the PCI-E cables cleaned up, but I have a suggestion. Perhaps try running a PVC pipe (painted black, of course) vertically in line with the PCI-E plugs on the cards and run the cables through that? Just an idea. :)
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  12. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    I'm still in the thought process on that but I know I'm going to resleeve the pay with mdpc-x but not each wire this time. The evga pay I have coming is set up a bit differently so it should be easier to tame the wiring mess.

    Some decorative conduit may serve good purpose here. Just have to find a way to make it not look like a boring old pipe.
  13. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    Good that your not going to do it single.. That looked like a total mess.. Plus, you have to look in the factor of air flow.. one single sleeve is going to only block the air flow to move it around, but when you get bunches together.. It may look pretty, but not all ways the best case in air flow IMPO
  14. overclocking101

    overclocking101

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2009
    Messages:
    2,886 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    405
    Location:
    vermont
    what about under the board and up to the gpus?? if you have to run it behind the board, cut a hole in the bottom and run it through that to the gpu's. or make some custom cable connectors in the bottom of the case you route the cables behind the board connect to the connectors which run through the underneath, then use extendors from the front to the gpu's?? that would clean it a considerable amount and you wouldnt have to sleeve the psu at all just the connectors.
  15. Cold Storm

    Cold Storm Battosai

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2007
    Messages:
    15,014 (6.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,999
    Location:
    In a library somewhere on this earth
    What would be the kick ass if you wanted to.. well it would void Warr.. Solder the board to connect to the back of the tray for everything then do the pipe that rockz was talking about for gpu... Idea from Mk's build he did last year for Intel Contest
  16. miahallen

    miahallen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    133 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  17. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    running them at 12v but using PWM control.

    PWM signal is controlled by 500K volume potentiometer from ground to PWM lead.

    i actually have them running REALLY slow compared to normal 24v speed.

    RPM is around 900 unless im doing something crazy then i crank them up to around 1600-2200prm
  18. miahallen

    miahallen New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    133 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    97
    Ah, very nice....also nice to know they run OK at 12V :cool:
    Fitseries3 says thanks.
  19. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
  20. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,738 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,166
    I love Dirt 2, but the constant crashing drives me so nuts I can't play the game. Did you have any troubles with it, and if so, how did you fix it?
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    the game crashing or the car? its hard to drive the car at first. its alot easier with xbox360 controller.
  22. t_ski

    t_ski Former Staff

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2006
    Messages:
    10,738 (3.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,166
    No, the game. I can drive it like a bandit ;)
    Crunching for Team TPU
  23. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    havent had any problems. maybe its your setup? :p
  24. Fitseries3

    Fitseries3 Eleet Hardware Junkie

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    15,509 (6.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,106
    Location:
    Republic of Texas
    thanks to alex at ASI...

    [​IMG]

    perfect setup for sr2

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2010
    Chicken Patty says thanks.
  25. Chicken Patty

    Chicken Patty WCG Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    28,341 (11.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,225
    Location:
    Miami, Florida
    Awesome PSU, I was looking at it the other day and there's definitely no better match! :rockout:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page