1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flash ATI 6850 to improve only cooling

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by marcosamerio, Jul 28, 2011.

  1. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi, i want to flash my card to get more cooler, actually its put on 3d a 45% fan speed and 60º, i want to put the fan at least between 60% and 70%, and an iddle now i have 25% and 38º, i want to increase too at least 40%

    I dont care if the cooler is very loud
    what do u think about this configuration

    http://img198.imageshack.us/img198/9994/pantalla3r.jpg

    Bye and i hope u can help me
     
    Last edited: Jul 28, 2011
  2. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    If you want to save the hassle of flashing the card's BIOS, download MSI afterburner and create a fan profile. It's easy, quick and customizable in real time.
     
  3. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi, thanks for reply but i prefer to flash

    Bye
     
  4. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    Hi

    download GPUZ, extract the BIOS, make a duplicate copy for bcakup.
    Download RBE, load the GPU BIOS into RBE, edit the fan profile and save.
    Download either ATiFlash or ATiWinFlash and flash your GPU with the BIOS edited with RBE.

    Bye

    EDIT:-
    It would be useful if you have an image of the original fan profile to compare with the edited fan profile.

    Personally I would start with the fan higher than 0

    I am the same as you I do not like to rely on software to maintain the fan speed I prefer.
    In my case it was necessary though since the original fan Profile would not make the fans on the aftermarket cooler work at all.
     
    Last edited: Jul 29, 2011
  5. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Hi, thanks for reply, but i tried like i post the image at the top but no luck, the fun dont go higher than 42% in 3d and in iddle 25%, i dont know what else i must modify

    Bye
     
  6. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    It all depends on what fan speed you have the profile set to vs the temperature.

    Try setting the fan profile to 40% on the first blue dot instead of 0%

    Bye
     
  7. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I tried this, put it 60% but no luck, i dont know what to do, when i flash my old 4850 old works like i want, but with the new 6850 nothing have effect like is blocked the bios, the program flash (AtiWinFlash) but not work after reboot, mantein the factory values.

    Bye and thanks a lot for the tips
     
  8. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Im not sure about this...but it sound like the fan RPM is controlled by the driver and not the bios itself.

    there are It is a common problem with 68xx series cards. people flash their cards to different clocks and it BSODs on the next reboot because the driver is intrusive and runs 'checks' on you card to make sure the card is running safely at factory defaults.

    Unforunately the only solution to this is to use a program like MSI afterburner to control the fan speed. or to go into AMD overdrive and manually set the fans to 45-60% when gaming.
     
  9. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2

    it's a shame to know that, how works amd overdrive? u set a fan speed in general? example ¿if i set it on desktop at 60% fan speed its runs every time, no matter if i on desktop and gaming at 60%?

    Bye and thanks for the reply
     
  10. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    yep. Just make sure 'ENABLE AMD OVERDRIVE' and 'ENABLE MANUAL FAN CONTROL' is option is ticked. and set the RPM how fast you want it to go in the slider then click the apply button.

    If its your first time enabling overdrive it will give you a warning that overclocking your card may break it but if your not overclocking then that doesnt really matter.

    Once you have set the parameters in overdrive. It will run at that speed constantly, even when you reboot the PC.
     
  11. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Thanks for the help

    Bye
     
  12. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    That really stinks.

    No more fan control through BIOS.
    This means aftermarket coolers need to be run through software to keep the fans running or have the fans connected to a 4-pin molex.

    Not a fan of either no pun intended.

    Oh well time for the OP to flash back to the original BIOS : /
     
  13. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    +1, me too back to orginal bios and try with overdrive

    Bye and thanks a lot for the tips and help, and thanks all for the replies
     
  14. arnoo1

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2009
    Messages:
    746 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    124
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Easy way to improve core temp, put a 1000rpm 120/140mm fan in front of the card and will see temp drop, also on lower fan speed, my gtx275 runs 65c with 55% fan game load, real quiet
     
  15. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,843 (5.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,337
    Ive done a similar thing with my 6970s, before they used to sound like a hair dryer. but i gaffa taped a 1200RPM 120mm fan to the side of them and they are significantly less obtrusive when it comes to gaming. of course they are still loud but a lot lot less noticable and more well behaved when the fans start ramping up.
     
  16. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Well, testing amd overdrive i can put maximum 47% fan speed because more % dont boot any game at all and put black screen and return to desktop, now my temps down from 39° to 36° on iddle, on 3d from 61° to 57°, little improvment but always welcome.

    Bye
     
  17. KieranD

    KieranD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2007
    Messages:
    8,038 (3.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    818
    Location:
    Glasgow, Scotland
    ATI Catalyst Drivers have an option to set the fan speed manually and also do a slight overclock.
     
  18. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    ^^ Thats true.
    Often the over clockers here skip CCC for overclocking but CCC still has a good software fan controller.

    But still this does not resolve the question of why the OPs change in fan speed causes black screen.
    Doesn't sound right at all.

    Besides this, your HD6850 is running very cool at the moment.

    A side fan next to the GPU does help with dropping temperatures.
    I have an old Lian Li case with a fan mount which sets a 120mm fan right next to the GPU
    Dropped my GPU down by 5degC from 45deg idle.
     
  19. marcosamerio

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    125 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Now testing more, the black screen bug still present when modified the fan speed, i uninstall drivers and put one modified by TwL and the problem fix, now im enyoing my new videocard

    Bye
     
  20. Widjaja

    Widjaja

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2007
    Messages:
    4,819 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    636
    Location:
    Wangas, New Zealand
    ^^ Strange.
    Oh well at least you have the closest to what you want now.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page