1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flash/ Edit bios problem with HD 6850 -

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by iam6UN, Dec 11, 2011.

  1. iam6UN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, community.
    I have kind a problem...i recently purchased XFX 6850 and after "confirmed overclock" i want to edit clocks in bios. But with rbe 1.28 it won’t work...if i changing core/ mem clocks and flash the bios, my system goes into BSOD after OS booting. i was trying it with Atiflash 3.89 through Dos and Winflash 2.0.1.14 in Windows...same bsod.
    If i flash it with "unmodified/ unedited in RBE" bios then all are good...normal boot, working fine without issues.
    I was successfully flashing several 4xx, 5xx series, but in that case it's my first one 6xx...

    for bios acquiring i was using atiflash with -s 0 bios.rom command and -p 0 bios.rom for flash.

    what I'm doing wrong here? :banghead:
    plz help me :respect:

    those i was changing ---

    [​IMG]

    ps. strange thing...after bios acquiring, in rbe it shows 0x0000 as VendorID...but XFX is 0x1682...CCC shows XFX as card vendor...I'm missing something here?

    edit:
    all same thing if i'm acquiring it(bios) through GPU-Z 0.5.6 or Winflash...
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2011
  2. iam6UN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i get it...RBE 1.28 doesn't support "clockchange" on 6850 cards...bummer :(
  3. Boomstick777 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    You can just flash your HD 6850 to the HD 6870 bios instead, this way the clocks are raised and voltage providing a decent stable overclock. I found the best bios for my XFX HD 6850 XXX was the stock XFX HD 6870 bios, now my card is 900Mhz core 1050 Mem 24/7 stable. Hope this helps you out :)

    Update : This bios (Link below) is by far the best so far, keeps the card cooler than the stock bios, doesn't go over 75c even during Furmark. 930Mhz Core clock aswell. I f you have the same card as me, recommend this bios :)

    http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/95595/MSI.HD6870.1024.101230.html
    Last edited: Dec 20, 2011
  4. Boomstick777 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    You can also edit the brand to XFX and from HD 6870 to HD 6850 etc...
  5. iam6UN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    funny is...i was trying to flash(winflash, "6850" to "6870") my first card i purchased...it was MSI. and after flashing to same vendor "6870" it didn't want to start...I exchanged it for XFX insteed :)
    so...for now, i'm afraid to try with another one :)

    neah...i'm just wait here for RBE with full support of 6800 series ;)
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  6. Markpollock New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2011
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    found the best bios for my XFX HD 6850 XXX was the stock XFX HD 6870 bios.:banghead::rockout:
  7. iam6UN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i get it right - you flash your XFX 6850 with stock bios from XFX 6870 and after that it runs and work without issues? what flash program do you use? winflash or atiflash from dos?

    edit:
    gEEzAZ! - i am ruined my second AMD video card! :toast:
    ok...fine, God...next thing tomorrow i will buy NVIDIA instead! 550Ti OC will suffice?!
    ok, FINE!..thank u, God! :respect:
    :ohwell:
    Last edited: Dec 21, 2011
  8. iam6UN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    so...i've give back my f@ckdup (second1already) AMD 6850 to my hardware store and...and buy MSI 550Ti OC Cyclone 2 instead. Next thing tomorrow i will get thz baby extremely overclocked and flash it after with hardset it clocks!! :rockout:
    ...wish me best luck :cool:

    ps. funny is...in SKYRIM, with 1280x960 res. + 4xTrSSAA + default clocks + "290.53 beta", it has almost (+/- 2-4) same FPS as 6850 overclocked to 850/4800Mhz o_0
    ...and before that, i was sure about unconditional advantage of 6850 in SKYRIM compare to 550ti?! WTF? i was saw benchtests (6850 to 550ti, etc.) with my own eyes!..
    Last edited: Dec 22, 2011
  9. Boomstick777 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    66 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Don't really get your comment? Lol.

    Anyways what I was saying if you flash your HD 6850 with the HD 6870 bios your stock clocks will match the HD 6870, you won't gain extra shaders but you will gain far better stock speed and further unlocked CCC values..

    It's easily done, grab the XFX bios from tech power up bios section. Download ATI Flash, HP USB format utility and Dos boot files, create dos bootable USB stick, put your current bios (In case needed) as well as the new bios on stick..

    Boot into USB,

    Type atiflash -p -f 0 new.bin (Or whatever you named your new bios)

    Jobs a gooden much faster card!!!!!!!!!!!
  10. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,644 (3.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,763
    Location:
    Chicago
    What are the "unlocked" CCC values one would get with a 6870 bios besides raised limits in Overdrive, if any?
  11. iam6UN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    ...you will laugh guys...but i've gave back (again) my 550Ti (i've got some sata controller problems with it) and...and once again purchased 6850 :D PowerColor thz time.
  12. iam6UN New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2011
    Messages:
    7 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    none.
    but for some it has nicely numbers of ur model video card after flashing ;)

    not for me though. i am only want to hardset my clocks and voltage on my 6850.
    well...will wait for new RBE rls with full support of 6850 bios editing :ohwell:

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page