1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flash Galaxy GTX 770 2gb to Galaxy GTX 770 HOF edition

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by y0bailey, Mar 25, 2014.

  1. y0bailey

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hey folks. I think I know the answer to this, but just want confirmation prior to potentially having to play the "unbrick" game.

    I have a Galaxy GTX 770 2gb edition. It overclocks well past the HOF edition levels, however I like the idea of flashing the HOF edition BIOS and not having to overclock or run 3rd party software (aka I would just be happy with having a HOF for $50 cheaper).

    I installed my Arctic Cooling Xtreme III this past weekend and temps never get even remotely hot (max I have seen is 62degreesC) even at these overclocks.

    Anyone see why this wouldn't work? The HOF edition is 2gb, and my clocks are stable at that speed.

    Thoughts?
     
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,124 (7.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,288
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    http://www.galaxytech.com/__EN_GB__/Driver2/BIOS?areas=__EN_GB__

    "IMPORTANT: The BIOS update for GALAXY GeForce GTX 770 HOF is only applicable to base model with 1202MHz base clock, do not apply the update to V2 models (available in certain countries only) with 1150MHz base clock."

    Don't risk it for a biscuit is my advice
     
  3. y0bailey

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    So the question is, if I am feeling ballsy, what do you think the chance of bricking my card is. I have plenty of back-up GPU's to put in, boot into windows, and re-install my current BIOS with.

    Any chance of permi-brick?

    Lastly, I think that is referring to within the HOF line of things. AKA don't flash HOF v2 w/ that BIOS. I don't necessarily know what that means with my non-HOF card. Obviously this is risky, but if you guys think I can un-do any wrongdoings....I will try it!
     
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,124 (7.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,288
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Unless your GPU has a BIOS switch, I will never recommend any user on any forum to flash a BIOS unless it's a voltage locked 780/Titan.

    Contact Galaxy support first.
     
    True Christian says thanks.
  5. puma99dk|

    puma99dk|

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2005
    Messages:
    3,386 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    763
    you need to make sure that the layout of the PCB's are exactly the same otherwise i personally wouldn't risk it.

    I would rather mod the bios and keep the original one backed up if u r too lazy to use MSI afterburner or something to overclock the card with, ino that MSI AB got a setting to apply oc at startup.
     
  6. y0bailey

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I thought the PCB's were the same with the exception of the HOF having a 6pin + 8pin vs the regular just being dual 6pins. However, I looked closely and they are not similar and I am now abandoning ship!


    This thing paired with my Xcellero III is pretty beastly. 1308mhz boost speed reached without voltage mods (just in afterburner). Memory doesn't overclock great, but overall I am pleased.

    Oh well....I tried!

    Thanks for the input folks. I always trust techpowerup forums way more than other forums when it comes to GPU and firmware related things. You guys know your stuff!
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  7. y0bailey

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2004
    Messages:
    10 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Alright folks, just an update.

    I was bored last night, setup my ultimate "if my card bricks I can fix it" setup, and started flashing away...just for fun.

    Flashing the HOF BIOS allowed booting into windows, but constant nvidia driver crashes with some artifacts. FAIL.
    Flashing the MSI lightening BIOS was exactly the same results.

    Likely all due to the non-reference design of the Galaxy card.

    It was a waste of time, but entertaining none the less.

    Now I am trying to figure out how to get above 1.212 volts for some more overclocking headroom. I am not having any luck thus far.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page