1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flash locking GPU and mem clocks

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mathragh, Sep 20, 2010.

  1. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Hi

    For quite some time i'm aware of when i'm using flash 10.1 to view like a video, the clocks of my graphics card get locked to 450 MHz for the GPU and 600MHz for the memory.
    This wouldnt be a problem if it would just nicely clock up once i start a 3D application(to 600 and 800 for GPU and mem), and switch back after i'm done watching flash content.
    It doesnt however, and no matter what i try(apart from manually setting clocks with AMDGPUClockTool), the clocks wont change to the 3d clocks, or change back to their lower power state.
    Also, changing the Power plan from 'balanced' to 'high performance', and disabling ATI Powerplay in catalyst does not make a difference.


    I hoped this problem would be solved with the coming of new drivers, but sadly this isnt the case.

    It also seems to be the same while using HTML5 to view WebM-transcodes videos.

    Does anyone else have the same problem, and perhaps a solution for this?:)


    Screenie of GPU-Z , flash, and WoW running as 3-D application:
    [​IMG]

    Also first real post here, hope i did ok with posting a new thread:)
     
    Last edited: Sep 20, 2010
  2. mudkip

    mudkip

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,226 (0.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    148
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    The GPU is in your laptop right? I think you need to switch your energy profile to high performance (Windows button + x) also GPU-z sometimes doesn't show the clocks correctly. I had that problem with my 4670 too.
     
    Mathragh says thanks.
  3. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    tried it, its sadly not changing a thing, thanks anyway for the reply:)
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,904 (11.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10,193
    hmm, does look like a bug indeed. i guess AMD never thought you'd watch youtube while gaming.
     
    Mathragh says thanks.
  5. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,149 (0.58/day)
    Thanks Received:
    327
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    ohnoes, guess that just leaves me with mailing AMD about the problem, :ohwell:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page