1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flash player capping Memory and Core clocks

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Lost Hatter, Jun 6, 2012.

  1. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Im trying to figure out why flash caps my memory at 900mhz and core clock at 400mhz while listening to music videos on YouTube. I like to listen to tunes while playing games. But i cant because of the core and memory cap. Is there a way around this?

    I use MSI afterburner and cant manually set the clocks. They stay capped no matter what i do.

    Ive tried different drivers, a fresh format, and a few other things. Nothin' changes the core/mem speeds

    Any suggestions ?
     

    Attached Files:

  2. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    U sure about this ???
     
  3. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    very
     
  4. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,170 (4.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,414
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Those are "UVD" clocks, and hence why you cannot change them..we only havethe option to set 3D clocks.


    Some tools offer the ability to remove 2D Clocks, doing so might help, but your card wil lrun 3D Speeds all teh time.
     
  5. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    pwnd

    When i run games (as seen in pic) I get shit frame rates. Clocks dont change. The second i kill YouTube the clock bang up to 850-1200 (stock) and my frame rates go up to max performance.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Yep, classic AMD/ATI "feature" that I have experienced as well. My dad streams the news on his PC at work and it made my 5770 run at 450MHz core most of the time, making it useless to run F@H on it as he always left the "video" open.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Gzero New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2005
    Messages:
    718 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    Location:
    Scotland
    Amd at it's finest.

    Doesn't happen on my HD7850, so can assume it's a driver problem which AMD are not likely to fix for older cards. Used to affect me when I had a 4870/4890. :p
     
  8. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    "sadface"
     
  9. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Even my 6950 does it too, except it goes to 725MHz from 800 lol. Even though a 3D app is in the backround or active, one Flash player object takes precendence for UVD clocks which is stupid.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  10. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Yes its quite annoying. i guess ill just have to bust out the boom box. or buy a new video card. I love my 5770 its a sleeper. Over clocked i get some nasty frame rates. she runs at 1000/1300 all day
     
  11. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    @ Jstn7477

    Just had a brain fart..... Instant fix. Right click on flash window. Disable video accelrated playback. WIN. God why didnt i think of that b4
     
    Last edited: Jun 6, 2012
  12. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,948 (1.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,616
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Nice, glad you didn't have to resort to BIOS editing or stuff like that. My 5770 and 6670 have gone to new owners this week, however, but I still have my 6950 so I'll give that a shot. :)
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  13. Lost Hatter

    Lost Hatter

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    157 (0.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    make sure to enable again when you are watching videos through a flash player. or else it looks like shit.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page