1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

flashed modded GTO² with an XT PE Bios and back, but Fan is dead

Discussion in 'Graphics Cards' started by Flauschi, Apr 15, 2006.

  1. Flauschi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello,

    first i flashed my GTO² with that modded 16PP Bios (http://www.techpowerup.com/articles/overclocking/vidcard/127).
    Everything worked fine, the card still took 16PP and XT PE frequenzy.

    After that, i tried an Original Sapphire X850XT PE Bios. Freqenzy and PP was like other XT PE, but the fan didn`t work any more! So i flashed it back to the modefied 16PP Bios, but the fan didn`t work. I tried several other bios, like original ATI XT PE. No Chance, the problem stayed.

    flashproggie is modded flashrom.

    I read the posts in "articles" forum and i saw no answer or my english is too bad? Sry for that, but i hope for help. :(
     
  2. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    try plugging your GPU fan directly into the motherboard to see if it actually still works. If it does, then you blew a fuse on your X800GTO2. If it doesn't, you need a new VGA cooler :laugh:
     
  3. Flauschi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hm, his physics and technic is ok
     
  4. shyet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Do you use ATITool? Try overriding your fan speeds to a fixed percentage and see if that works.

    I have a similar problem as yours, I flashed my GTO2 with a Sapphire X850XT BIOS and the fan didn't spin after (although mines goes back to normal if I flash with the original BIOS). Anyway ATM I'm using the X850XT BIOS using the dynamic setting in ATITool. IMO works even better than the default.
     
  5. Flauschi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    hi,

    how do u flash back? With atiflash or flashrom? Which Version? With parameters: -f -p 0
    or -f -p 0 -newbios?
    No fan reaction with atitool (0.25b14)
     
  6. P5y New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    my problem is same. I have a X850pro flashed to 16pipe X850XT. My fan doesnt work on boot up. I have to do manual override on ATI Tool inorder to get it to work.
     
  7. shyet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    I used ATIFlash 3.09

    atiflash -p 0 GTO2.BIN -f

    Edit: My GTO2 shipped with 16 pipes, using the X800XL BIOS. If you flash with the BIOS I sent, ATITool will recognize it as R430 with 16 pipes.
     
  8. Flauschi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    no success. I think something went to hell.
     
  9. P5y New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Have you tried ATI Tool , and set fan on 100% manually. My fan is dead on anything other then 100%.

    Also what are peoples opinion on using no fan on a gpu IF you are just in ms dos and w/o fan temperatures are about 40-50 degrees
     
  10. Flauschi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    yes i tried. No effect.
    Also tried: dynamic based and "do not change PWM" in this menue. hmmmm
    I got an idea -> i`m going to edit the bios with rabit and change Fan Speed to 100%. Hopefully that will work.
     
  11. shyet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hmm, there has been reports of the stock cooler dying and just stopped working.

    Have your tried what he suggested?
     
    Last edited: Apr 15, 2006
  12. P5y New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok this is just me being braindead..but is there a wire you can "cut" that connects the fan to card, inorder to make the fan just run continuosly at 100%.

    3 wires red black and white....
     
  13. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    I would try my method first :laugh:
     
  14. shyet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    That just reminded me that the fan on the video card has 3 wires/3 pin connector. For some reason I was thinking it only had 2 :banghead:

    Scratch was I said :laugh:
     
  15. Flauschi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    at this time i have no chance to try the fan with an other video card.
    Directly to motherboard? The connector is different.
     
  16. zekrahminator

    zekrahminator McLovin

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2006
    Messages:
    9,114 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    321
    Location:
    My house.
    yeah, sure. most video card fan power plugs WILL fit into 3-pin motherboard slots. Even 2-pin plugs lol. Just make sure you know which way to do it...use this image as reference for motherboard connector [​IMG]
     
  17. P5y New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    38 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    There is one snag about connecting the Fan to your motherboard.

    The wire is too short !!
     
  18. shyet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    You could remove your card from the slot, plug the fan to the motherboard, and still power on your PC. Your PC obviously won't post, but all fans should still spin.
     
  19. Flauschi New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    i did it! He is dead Jim! ;(
     
  20. shyet New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2006
    Messages:
    44 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    hmm? You plugged the video card fan directly to the motherboard and the fan doesn't work?

    If the fan is the only thing that broke, that's good news, now time to buy a ATI Silencer :D
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page