1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flashing 6850 bios gone wrong, really wrong

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by uberberben, Aug 21, 2011.

  1. uberberben New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hi,

    i've tried to flash bios on my VTX3D Radeon 6850. I got my bios from here: http://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/index.php?page=1&architecture=ATI&manufacturer=VTX3D&model=HD+6850&interface=&memSize=0.

    I backed up my bios from win atiflash and then flashed one of these. Bios was designed for my model, same clocks, amount of ram etc. Win atiflash said that flashing is done, everything is ok and i need to reboot pc to take effect. When i rebooted PC, MB speaker pinged once like normal, and that was all what happened. Nothing on the screen and pc didn't even started to boot system, monitor don't see signal. Now i can do nothing. I tried to plug monitor into my integrated GPU but nothing's changed. I cant even see bios POST. Nothing at all. I think that adding PCI card won't change anything. My card is kinda new and it has warranty, but i don't know what service might say if i return it to them.

    Is there anything else i can try?
     
  2. puccki

    puccki New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    20 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    guiyang china
    looking for another pc (integrated video card ) then flash bios agian
     
  3. theoneandonlymrk

    theoneandonlymrk

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2010
    Messages:
    3,399 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    568
    Location:
    Manchester uk
    boot with a working card and the broke one in another slot then reflash it taking care to pick the right card to flash
     
  4. uberberben New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks,

    ill try to boot it on another computer, but have to find some1 with different MB. Maybe my MB is somehow weird and cant boot with that card after flash. Ill report later.
     
  5. uberberben New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2011
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Ok, i managed to flash my old backed up bios. Problem was very simple, my MB tried to start from external GPU and hunged up during bios post. I took out my 6850 from pc, changed priority to boot from integrated GPU. Then plugged in 6850 and flashed bios via dos.

    I'm very very happy.

    Thanks.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page