1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Flashing different BIOS

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by spencer22l, Apr 19, 2009.

  1. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I have heard that some people flash their BIOS that is not their own.

    For example, my board is Asus p5k and instead of flashing it with newer asus p5k bios,

    the person got um... a better Asus board's bios and flashed it and got it to work.

    And he has more options for say.. Overclocking.

    Is this really possible?? :confused:

    If so, why do people even bother to buy a good expensive board with many settings?

    Or is it just really risky
  2. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    It has better options for overclocking, afaik. Wanted to flash my Maximus Formula to Rampage BIOS. Didn't work so far tho:rolleyes:

    But it doesn't work with all the boards. So no 50$ board will magically turn into a 300$ one.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,457 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    yes it is possible with cretain motherboards, but all the ducks need to be in a row for this to happen, same or similar chipset ie ASUS X38 flashes to X48 in a specific case. Even back when you could flash a DFI SLI-DR to many of the counterparts. Hell the Expert would even flash to the Venus, and even then it was like a $75-100 difference in new pricing.

    My advice is to do a ton of homework if you plan to try this, or hit up Ketxxx via PM and see what he may have to offer you.
    spencer22l says thanks.
  4. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I see that it is possible!

    I should start googling now :)

    But I have no idea what to google ... lol

    I guess it will be like asus p5k bios + something...

    But what should it be? bios upgrade? different bios?

    Thanks !
  5. MRCL

    MRCL

    Joined:
    May 31, 2008
    Messages:
    5,790 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    860
    Location:
    Switzerland, Heart of Europe
    I googled "Asus Maximus formula to Rampage BIOS". SO you should know which BIOS you want to "upgrade" to.
  6. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,457 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    Does the P5K fall under Ketxxx mod bios?
  7. spencer22l New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2009
    Messages:
    262 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Ohh I see, but first I have to find which one I can upgrade to and I don't even know that.

    I'm kind of lost, dunno where to start ... any suggestion for p5k?

    And another question, if I upgrade my bios to a different mobo's bios,

    Do I have to reinstall all my drivers ?? like chipset, audio etc?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page