1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fleets of New AMD Processors Closing in

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, May 8, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,749 (11.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,680
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    After launching its 45 nm desktop CPU with its high-end CPUs such as Phenom II X4 940 and 955 Black Edition, AMD is preparing two distinct lines of mainstream and value processors: the energy-efficient line denoted by an "e" next to the model number, and the standard variant. Close to a decade into using the "Athlon" CPU brand name, the company finally chose to place a "II" next to it to denote a generation bump. The Athlon II keeps up with the Phenom II line, to make it slightly easier for consumers to discern which generation the processors belong to. The lower-end variants of the K10.5 "stars" core, that lacks L3 cache will be using this brand-name.

    Taking advantage of the 45 nm core, Phenom II 900e series processors will operate in clock-speeds between 2.50 and 2.40 GHz, with complete 6 MB L3 cache. The rated TDP for the chips is 65 W. The triple-core Phenom II X3 700e series processors models 700e and 705e will operate in the same clock-speeds, with the same rated TDP. The Athlon II X4 600e and Athlon II X3 400e series processors in the making, 605e, 600e, 405e, and 400e, operate at speeds between 2.20 and 2.30 GHz. With no L3 cache to address and lower clock-speeds by the notch, the rated TDP is even lower, at 45 W.

    Coming to the standard variants, AMD is prepping up its lines of dual-core processors under the Phenom II X2 and Athlon II X2 series. Again, the two are differentiated by the presence of L3 cache on the Phenom II line. Phenom II X2 550 and 545 are clocked at 3.10 GHz and 3.00 GHz respectively. The two come with 512 KB L2 cache per core, plus the full-chunk of L3 cache at 6 MB. These will be the dual-core processors with the highest amount of on-die cache, crossing the Intel Wolfdale-6M (Core 2 Duo E8000 series) chips that carry 6 MB of shared L2 cache. The rated TDP for these chips is 80 W. The Athlon II X2 200 series however, will lack the L3 cache, leaving it with 512 KB L2 cache per core. Models 250, 245, and 240 will be clocked at 3.00 GHz, 2.90 GHz, and 2.80 GHz, respectively. Since it doesn't address an L3 cache, its TDP is significantly lower, at 65 W. Finally, there's the Phenom II X4 925, the 2.80 GHz AM3-socket quad-core chip. Compared to its AM2+ cousin (Phenom II X4 920, TDP 125 W), this chip comes with a lower TDP at 95 W.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: TechConnect Magazine 1, 2
     
  2. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Nice, I'd like to see the prices on those 500s!
     
  3. tzitzibp

    tzitzibp New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2007
    Messages:
    2,225 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Larisa, Greece
    there are some interesting prospects arising from this... this might be a good time to consider an AMD build!

    Thanks for the info!
     
  4. wiak

    wiak

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,747 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    200
    Location:
    Norway
    those 45W chips will be instant hits for htpc builders!
     
  5. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,075 (4.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,652
    they are trying to move ahead and put the 65nm in the past by phasing them out.
     
  6. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    668 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    I'd like one of those Phenom II X2s. :)
     
  7. icon1

    icon1 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2008
    Messages:
    113 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    17
    Location:
    Northside Q.C.
    this time i'll go AMD when i build my HTPC.. those 45W chips from AMD is very tempting :)
     
  8. Paintface

    Paintface New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 2008
    Messages:
    389 (0.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    also looking at those new 45w chips for a HTPC, but i would prefer a higher clocked dual core compared to the 2.2ghz tripple core....

    anyone know if there will be athlon II 45w ? with about 2.6ghz?
     
  9. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    yeah, check the images posted, but they're quad cores, the DUAL core ones run at 65w :wtf:
     
  10. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,588 (1.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    528
    Location:
    Australia
    X2 545 or 550 is what ill be looking closer at ;)
     
  11. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    :rockout: that makes 3 of us so far. i recon those procs will deliver amazing gaming performance.
     
  12. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Gotta admit, a 2.5GHz X4 running at 65W would be pretty nice, if the price is right.
     
  13. DrunkenMafia

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2007
    Messages:
    2,277 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    232
    Location:
    Cairns QLD, Aussie
    45watt quads..... one of those is going straight into my htpc.......

    Oh wait it can't because there are no AM3 matx board out yet :banghead:
     
  14. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,177 (2.17/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    many cpu's , i see some of them not necessary and it got low sells , but i expect new names
     
  15. mamisano New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2007
    Messages:
    43 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    I thought you could use an AM3 chip in an AM2+ motherboard? AM3 is supposed to be backwards compatible and fully support DDR2 in addition to DDR3.

    I would love to swap in one of the new 45w X3 or X4 CPUs to replace the 4850e in my HTPC.
     
  16. PCpraiser100 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2008
    Messages:
    1,062 (0.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    68
    I don't blame you on a new name, Phenom is starting to become a questionable name for AMD's quads compared to Intel. If the have trouble renaming, just call it Phenom E-series thats good enough.
     
  17. Studabaker

    Studabaker New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,116 (0.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    73
    Location:
    Somewhere in the underground
    Not all AM2+ boards are AM3 capable.
     
  18. AlCabone New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2007
    Messages:
    78 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Europe
    The funny thing is all of these chips are essentially the same with different FID limits, and some cores, some parts of the cache disabled.
     
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I bet one of those Athlon 2XX chips would be mad crazy paired with a 780G for an HTPC setup. Huge thanks for posting this BTA!
     
  20. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,064 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    Very nice, I'm interested to see what removing the L3 does to performance.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    i'm getting a 550 on release date and it better be a black edition
     
  22. Breathless New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    370 (0.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    meh.... :shadedshu

    WHERE IS THE INTEL KILLER!

    This is where I think AMD needs to focus some efforts. Make a chip that crushes any current chip that Intel has out. Come on AMD, time for a revival. Quit making so many "meh" mid range chips and put out a monster that would make intel scramble. :nutkick:
     
  23. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,235 (1.78/day)
    Thanks Received:
    832
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    Its coming just be patient:D.

    Ok somebody please clear this for me,

    Are these new chips AM2+ compatible? Do they have DDR2 mem controller or stictly DDR3 controller?

    thanks bta for posting.

    :toast:
     
  24. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Big Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    21,151 (7.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,679
    [​IMG]
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,064 (6.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,123
    Thats a good question, I always thought that all AM3 processors would be AM2+ compatible, but AM2+ processors would not be AM3 compatible.

    I believe AMD made sure of this by removing a pin on the AM3 socket/Processors, so that you could still put an AM3 processor in an AM2+ socket, but you couldn't put an AM2+ processor in an AM3 socket(due to the extra pin).

    I've been really temped to photoshop that picture and change it to:

    AMD: We actually expect you to believe not having better techology is a good thing.

    That comment by AMD really was laughable, it made me crack up actually. It's like the idiots at the drag strip that claim real men don't use power adders, then get left at the starting line every pass...:laugh:
     
    Last edited: May 8, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page