1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

folding issue with smp client

Discussion in 'Folding@Home' started by Medros, Apr 16, 2009.

  1. Medros New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    just set up f@h yesterday, and not sure what's going on, computer is showing 100% usage on both cores, but after leaving it on overnight i'm still showing 0/500000 steps.

    any ideas on what i'm doing wrong?
     
  2. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    What hardware are you folding on?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  3. Medros New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    intel e5200
    gigabyte G31M-Es2l
    4gigs ocz Fatal1ty pc2 6200
    antec 500w earthwatts power supply
     
  4. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    You should be getting decent PPD out of that set-up. Can you post a screenshot of the client GUI?
     
    More than 25k PPD
  5. Medros New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    [​IMG]
    just restarted and dropped my overclock a bit in case that was an issue
     
  6. bogmali

    bogmali Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2008
    Messages:
    6,754 (2.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,194
    Location:
    Pacific NorthWest
    Buck-same thing going on with my SMP that I ditched (twice) for the vmware version.
     
  7. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    WU 2653 is a 1760pt unit. These are some of the fastest folding SMP units. On an AMD x2 4850 I get 1% complete every 35 mins on that WU. You should easily get double that(or complete in half the time). Also, check the affinity/priority in task manager. Let me know what version of the client you are running(6.23 R1)?
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2009
    More than 25k PPD
  8. Medros New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    using version 6.23 beta r1
    when i open up task manager i'm seeing 4 instances of FahCore_a1.exe*32, is that supposed to happen?
    priority is set at below normal
     
  9. BUCK NASTY

    BUCK NASTY F@H Mod & 4P Enthusiust Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2007
    Messages:
    4,828 (1.71/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,392
    Location:
    Tallahassee, FL. U.S.A.
    Yep, SMP runs 4 instances. Everything looks fine. Any client progress yet?
     
    Medros says thanks.
    More than 25k PPD
  10. Medros New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    getting a message now at least, run has entered a state from which no further progress can be made, says to check stability of my computer, so i guess i'll drop the speed down to stock and see if i continue to have problems
     
  11. Medros New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    dropped down to stock speed and still not getting any result, not sure what else could be causing the problem... vista 64 wouldnt be an issue would it?
     
  12. El Fiendo

    El Fiendo

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2008
    Messages:
    2,304 (0.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,165
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    No, I'm folding on Vista x64. Did you follow the guide for setting up a Vista installation? Have a look at the second post in the stickied SMP setup thread.
     
    Medros says thanks.
  13. Medros New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2009
    Messages:
    22 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    yeah, followed th sticky step by step since i hadnt used the multicore client before
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page