1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Force3D Ushers Forth HD 4870 SKU Specifications

Discussion in 'News' started by Navin, Jun 24, 2008.

  1. Navin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Force3D has, today, announced the specifications of its first SKU powered by AMD's HD 4870 GPU. A core speed of 750 MHz, paired together with 512 MB of GDDR5 memory running at a frequency of 3.6 GB/s are the order of the day, whilst technicalities such as the presence of 800 stream processors and a 256-bit memory interface prove commonality with AMD's HD 4850 offering. Using Extreme settings, Force3D's own 3DMark Vantage results claim that their HD 4870 iteration has a speed advantage of 58% over the HD 3870X2.

    [​IMG]

    Source: Force3D
    Last edited: Jun 24, 2008
    Kei, tkpenalty and Nosada say thanks.
  2. pentastar111

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    993 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Location:
    Los Angeles...U.S.A
    Looks sweet... :) 58% faster than X2? If that is indeed correct, this card will become a must have item.
  3. Gambit_ZA New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    12 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Location:
    South Africa
  4. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Welcome to the forums Navin!
  5. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    If you didn't know (I didn't): Force3D is the ATI brand of Inno3D
    Baum and WarEagleAU say thanks.
  6. Navin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thank you very much, I appreciate it.
  7. InnocentCriminal

    InnocentCriminal Resident Grammar Amender

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,476 (1.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    846
    Your welcome!

    Bad pun. ;)
  8. ShinyG

    ShinyG New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2005
    Messages:
    186 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Romania
    Something doesn't sound right about that bandwidth: 3.6GB/s
    I think the 3870 pumps out something like 72GB/s, so if we're to believe this article, the 4870 has a memory bandwidth of a Radeon 9250 with a 64bit memory controller...
  9. newconroer

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2007
    Messages:
    2,786 (1.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    258
    Does that say 512mb? ...WHAT?

    Lame.
  10. Navin New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2008
    Messages:
    8 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    The figure of 3.6 GB/s they mention, is referring to the frequency of the memory, not the bandwidth.

    Force3D, as per the PR linked to the story, are quoting that the bandwidth is 107 GB/s on the 4870 SKU, versus 72.96 GB/s on the 4850 SKU.

    I hope this helps.
  11. laszlo

    laszlo

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2005
    Messages:
    889 (0.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    105
    Location:
    66 feet from the ground

    nice find and a good review i'm impressed about the new 4800 line but i don't like those temp. almost 100C; these cards can be used in Siberia to heat-up a small room:laugh:
  12. rodneyhchef

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2007
    Messages:
    369 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    60
    Location:
    Manchester, UK
    That review was well worth the read! Beats the 260 in most things, especially when the eye candy is cranked up! :D
  13. Error 404

    Error 404 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,777 (0.81/day)
    Thanks Received:
    169
    Location:
    South Australia
    Not really: hardly any games use more than that: PC User magazine did some tests and got a negligble increase of 512 MB to 1 GB on an nVidia card (can't remember which).
    Other than that: I'm exited!
  14. substance90

    substance90 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2007
    Messages:
    71 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Not interested! 512Mb/256-bit.. that`s old! How come the 8800GTX, that`s 2 years old, beat almost all of the new cards... Come on, it`s time for something NEW.
  15. v-zero Guest

    What's the point in going more RAM and a wider bus when it isn't advantageous to speed but costs more money?

    EDIT: wow, average of 10% behind GTX 280, that's fantastic!
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 24, 2008
  16. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    You do realize even the lowly 4850 destroys the 8800GTX, heh, this thing is as fast as 3 3870s :eek:
  17. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    What is ATI thinking? Only 512MB and only 256bit? Come on, they would have a killerproduct if it was 1024MB and 512bit. It's 2008, 512MB can last another 6-12 months tops.
  18. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,544 (4.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,216
    you people crying about 256-bit only obviously have no idea what you are talking about. please calculate bandwidth gddr3 1000 mhz @ 512 bit and then gddr5 1000 mhz @ 256 bit.

    if the 4870 was $649 with 512-bit and 1 GB you'd all cry that its so expensive
  19. Basard

    Basard

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2006
    Messages:
    575 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    38
    Location:
    Oshkosh
    ^yeah.... im sure there's a reason for the 256bit bus.... there has to be, people that make computer chips are pretty darn smart :D

    107gb/second it says--wasnt the 2900 with 512 bit slightly less than that?
  20. Jelle Mees

    Jelle Mees New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2008
    Messages:
    718 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    126
    Location:
    Belgium ⇒ Limburg
    Ok, I know that the GDDR5 compensates GDDR3 at 512bit, but 512MB extra would really put it over the top. I am pretty sure that it wont take long untill we see the 4870 1024MB for the GTX260 price.

    The 4870 upgrade will be my last upgrade up to 2010. I can already play my favourite games on 2048x1536, but I want to play them with high AA and AF settings and that will require more then 512MB ( correct me if I am rong ).
  21. v-zero Guest

    Yep, the reason is price. It is very costly to implement a 512-bit bus as ATi found, you have to have many more layers on the PCB and it's all a bit messy to design. On the other hand, prices for fast RAM that will keep the bandwidth high are always dropping and a 256-bit bus requires much less work and fewer layers to implement.
  22. Megasty New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,263 (0.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    The Kingdom of Au
    It over compensates it by a fair margin. The 512mb 4870 doesn't need 512-bit mem. A 1gb version might due to the insane bandwidth of GDDR5 but then how much would the thing cost. ATi might be holding back a little but they have that same right as NV. There's no doubt in my mind that they will push these cards to the limit. ATi has never launched its flagship first. The only thing about a 1gb 4870 is that it should be priced around $350-400. If a 4850x2 comes about it will be a bit faster than that 4870 so it will occupy the $400-450. This is the kind of stuff that happens when you cap your cards at $500 :eek:
  23. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.96/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Checked any reviews lately? The 8800 GTX is bested in almost every benchmark by just the 4850 -- who knows how much higher the 4870 will be.
  24. X-TeNDeR

    X-TeNDeR New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2007
    Messages:
    110 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12
    Location:
    Sharpening The Underdog's Teeth
    I don't think we need a 1GB GDDR5 card. this will make it too expensive to compete well with nvidia. and yeah, beside future proofing, the gain with 1GB is small.
    I think AMD-ATi will actually use 1GB GDDR4 setup for the 4870.. maybe even GDDR3. more ram with less bandwidth, and a small or no price bump.

    All in all, a great round for AMD-ATi, at last! :D :toast:

    AMD-ATi FTW!
  25. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    RV770, theoretically will make good use of that memory (wtf 3.6Ghz mem clock? Quad pumped? o_O), and I think this wont be like the HD3870 and HD3850 where the HD3850 could be OC'ed up to HD3870 performance.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page