1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Forceware not a happy camper with windows, plz help!

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Jeno, Aug 7, 2008.

  1. Jeno Guest

    ok so i wanted to try the new physX drivers, but seeing as i have 174.74 forceware i thought ill update to 177.79 first.
    it installed fine however when i rebooted my rig; it restarts its self before it gets past the "loading windows" screen, when it boots for the second time it says
    "error loading window...." "boot with last knowen configeration OR start windows normally...." ect.

    so if i choose to start windows noramally the same problem occurs.
    if i choose to start with last known config it boots fine but rivatuner and GPU-Z say i still have 174.74 forceware

    i tryed installing the 177.66 forceware but same problem :banghead:

    PLZZZ HELP !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  2. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Have you got your Graphics card OC'd? It might be worth booting into safe mode, and disabling any 3rd party apps that could be affecting the drivers.

    nhancer, rivatuner, etc.
     
  3. Jeno Guest

    ok so i stopped rivatuner running at startup with no result.
    then i went through add or remove programs in control pannel, but still the same problem.
    so then i hit msconfig with vengeance and still failed to boot with the new drivers.
    when i thought all hope was lost i found a program called nTune so i uninstalled it... and thats when the shit hit the fan!
    now my computer fails to even get to the loading windows screen instead it just flashes some kind of blue screed which i have only have time to read on word of: DRIVERS!!
    so i booted in safe mode and restored the system it's original state, but still no forceware!!!!
    any one else got any suggestions ????
     
  4. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,380 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    plug the drive in another machine, copy all data off.

    format/reinstall OS, and watch more cowboy bebop while you wait.
     
  5. Jeno Guest

    is it rly worth reinstalling windows for new forceware ?

    on a closer look at add-or-remove programs i found that i could ininstall the existing 174.74 forceware... but should i????
     
  6. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD
    You sound like Dell tech support :slap:
    Well... except for the cowboy bebop part :p

    Jeno, give this thread a read... it just might be what you need to get the new drivers working right.

    http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=52502

    Good luck, hope it works out.
     
  7. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,380 (11.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,683
    imo its just that when things go wrong with drivers it tends to take a lot of work to clean it up. if his system isnt even booting properly after using safe mode, its best to backup all data and start fresh than try and get a dodgy, unreliable OS to work
     
  8. francis511

    francis511

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,547 (0.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    271
    Location:
    N.Ireland
    Those drivers worked fine for me. They don`t like your system for some reason.
     
  9. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,550 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    did you remove your old drivers before installing the new ones?
     
  10. ntdouglas

    ntdouglas New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2007
    Messages:
    1,026 (0.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    44
    Location:
    Chicago

    Reading through this thread, thats exactly what I was gonna ask.:p
     
  11. Jeno Guest

    thanks ill give it a read when i have a little more time.
     
  12. Jeno Guest

    no... should i ????
     
  13. ShiBDiB

    ShiBDiB

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2008
    Messages:
    4,089 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    767
    Location:
    Clifton Park, NY
    isnt 177.79 vista drivers? or am i completely wrong
     
  14. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    yes they are the latest for xp is 175 . 179 is vista
     
  15. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,550 (2.48/day)
    Thanks Received:
    857
    yes when installing drivers make sure that all your old ones have been removed. If you didn't then im pretty sure this is the route of your problems.
     
  16. EnergyFX

    EnergyFX New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2007
    Messages:
    1,554 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Annapolis, MD

    That's what the link I posted is about... how to completely remove old video drivers.
     
  17. Jeno Guest

    WTF so the latest forceware is only avalible on vista!!!! >:#
    does this mean i should finally give vista a try...... lol jk :D


    *downloading* 175.19
    uninstalling old forceware soon.
    thanks for all your help guys :toast:
     
  18. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    yep well they are the newest for xp vista ones have direct x 10 support
     
  19. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Actually, 177.79 whql candidate is available for all oses and is now the recommended download for xp and vista if you check nvidia's site out!
    Oh and always use add/remove programs and uninstall the old drivers first, reboot and install the new driver.
     
  20. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    i just did the search on the site for xp and they said 175 for xp so
     
  21. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
  22. DR.Death

    DR.Death New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,757 (0.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    64
    Location:
    Canada
    i see
     
  23. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Oops, sorry, just noticed it was a 9600gt, guess you do have to use the older driver.... was thinking about my own card...

    Edit: no I was kind of right, the 177.79s do work with 9600gt, just not recommended yet. You need to use the beta search.
     
    Last edited: Aug 9, 2008
  24. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    9600Gt is in the supported products list.
     
  25. johnspack

    johnspack

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2007
    Messages:
    4,380 (1.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    864
    Location:
    Nelson B.C. Canada
    Yeah I saw, just forgot to use beta search..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page