1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Forgot computer password

Discussion in 'General Nonsense' started by lilkiduno, Dec 18, 2008.

  1. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    Hey guys, well i have a little problem, i have a older computer that I personally havn't used in a about a year, i passed it down to my little sister, and now i can't remember the password, and she swars she didn't change it. it there anyway to crack a windows log in password?

    I really don't want to repration the hard drive because there is old picture that can't be replaced. and people don't put the important stuff in the sharded documants.

    please if there is anyway let me know
  2. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    see if you can access it in safe mode and as administrator or something... :confused:
  3. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    i am the admin, how would you access it in safe mode, i believe it requires a password as well
  4. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    try using everything you can. it doesn't lock you out :p ... If not google it, or call MS, I'm sure they have a backdoor fix all password or some sort of "hop on one leg, rub your stomach, pinch your left nipple all while screaming out BILL! BILL! BILL!" tricks. :roll:
  5. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    wow, thats some funny shit right there!
    Gilletter says thanks.
  6. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    comes naturally... but it never fails, there is ALWAYS some crazy ass way of getting into things... call MS up, I'm sure they can walk you through it
  7. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    i might just have to do that... tomorrow...
  8. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
  9. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
  10. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    thank you, i am currently reading the first one! thank you for your quick responces
  11. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    no problem, let me know how things work out
  12. Castiel

    Castiel

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Messages:
    3,318 (1.46/day)
    Thanks Received:
    310
    ctrl+alt+del, twice at the welcome screen and see what happens.
  13. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    well from what i read, i can use the XP disk and use the repair fuction, and hit shift+F10 when it says Installing Devices. so i will give that a try tomorrow, but i will post if it works or not
  14. Gilletter

    Gilletter

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2007
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Elyria, Ohio
    so did it work?
  15. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    13,328 (6.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,354
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Is this XP Home or XP Pro? On XP Home, there is a hidden super admin account. As long as no one set a password, you can get to it by using the following credentials:
    User: Administrator
    Password: <blank>

    This is the account used in safe-mode and only safe-mode. You can change the passwords once you're in via Control Panel -> Users
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. lilkiduno New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2008
    Messages:
    477 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Kansas City, Ks
    well the ctrl=alt-delete twice didn't work and now i have to relocate my instaill disk

    and i believe it was XP pro,but im not quite sure

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page