1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Format HDD without floppy disk?

Discussion in 'Storage' started by TechnicalFreak, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. Quick question (since I´m old and forgot it), how do I do a format on my HDD without inserting a floppy? Any commands I can type when inserting the WinXP cd/dvd?
     
  2. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    Doesn't XP itself give you the option to format when you insert the disk?
    I'm not 100% sure...

    When I upgraded to Vista I'm sure it gave me that option, and I chose it.
    I think it's the same with XP, and you can choose it.
     
  3. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,690 (12.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15,543
    Right click "My Computer", Manage, Disk Management, format the HDD of your choice.:)
     
  4. Black Panther

    Black Panther Senior Moderator™ Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2007
    Messages:
    8,657 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,993
    But that won't work if you have the OS installed on the HDD you want to format.

    Wait, the OP didn't specify whether the OS is installed on the HDD he wants to format.... :ohwell:
    But I imagined so since in his system specs he's got only one HDD...
     
  5. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,272 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,806
    +1 to both answers. if the PC has no OS, boot the disc and let windows format do its thing. As erocker said tho, you can boot it to a working PC and do exactly as he says too!
     
  6. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    I remember back in the day, when you turn on your system, before you get into the OS, you go to CMD, and you could just type in "format c:" and its done.

    I think you can still do it, but I forgot how to get to CMD before your system tries to find an OS
     
  7. Thanks everyone, %&%¤&/(¤%/!!! Forgot to mention, I need to format the disk containing the OS.
    Problem is I have not taken care of the HDD (rather new). So ofcourse it got corrupted. I need to do a new install, and format the disk. Not sure (cant remember in other words) if the XP disc could/can do this for me... But I need a complete, slow format of the entire HDD.

    Thanks again for the quick replies.
     
  8. Press F8?
     
  9. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    If you boot and format using the Windows CD, you have a choice to do a Quick or Full format and creating a partition of the HDD.
     
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    21,458 (6.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,399
    The Windows XP disc can do this for you. When you boot from the disc, when it get to where it asks you what drive you want to install Windows on, it should detect your old drive.

    Tell it to delete the current partition. Then tell it to install on the now empty drive. It will then ask you if you want to format it as NTFS or NTFS(Quick). Select NTFS to do a full format of the drive.
     
    Jakl says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  11. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Very nice instructional details :cool: Exactly what he said. But when you try to install the OS, you would of seen it.
     
  12. A last question, will it still format the drive even if it´s "corrupted" (error in /windows/system32 reported when not starting in failsafe)?
     
  13. Jakl

    Jakl New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2008
    Messages:
    515 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Location:
    Home
    Formatting a HDD does not require any files or anything on the HDD to format, thats why the formatation file is on the CD and not on the HDD because you cant run a file on the HDD if you are trying to format it. if you are formatting the HDD, its going to completely delete EVERYTHING on the HDD giving you a fresh new start.
     
  14. All I wanted to know. See ya all when I get my system back on its feet then.


    Thanks everyone!
     
  15. Ok, so far so good.. I didnt choose "Quick Format", and it has stopped at 41% (well I cant actually say it has stopped, went to watch TV came back later and voila..).

    Should I restart system and try again? How many minutes should I wait before restarting system?
     
  16. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    22,272 (6.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,806
    for some reason I always run into quick format errors midway, I always do a full NTFS format now because of what you are experiencing.
     
  17. I have already formated the disk. Installed windows aswell, just the drivers left now (oh, and games ofcourse!).

    This time.. Ill take better care of my HDD, later on today Ill go buy me a good HDD cooler.



    Thanks again everyone, for all the help. Dont know what I would do without you guys/girls..
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page