1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

formatting w/o OS

Discussion in 'Storage' started by Nailezs, Aug 25, 2009.

  1. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    hey guys
    i have come up with OS corruption, due to, i think, a bad file system

    what i need to do is fully format(not quick format) my SATA HDD to NTFS, using either a floppy or USB Thumb drive.

    any1 know of any utilites that i can do this with?

    i guess i would need something that is of course bootable, with a dos prompt, that has a dos executable program that can format sata hdd's for ntfs.




    or if im totally ff the mark on what i need, just smack me and point me in the right direction
  2. freaksavior

    freaksavior To infinity ... and beyond!

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,053 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    894
    Crunching for Team TPU
  3. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
    Can't use connect the hdd to another PC and just format that way? Would be the easiest way...
  4. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    i dont have another machine to format it with - all my work computers are IDE with no sata connectors.

    i was gonna get one of my IT guys to do it but one is on vacation and another had to go home because his basement flooded
  5. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    Cant you boot into command prompt and just format it that way. Just type in Format C: or what ever drive index letter it is.
    You should still be able to F8 it at start up and select command prompt W/O networking.
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  6. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    gotta have a command promtp that can format ntfs first

    can a regular bootable usb drive, made with the hp usb storage format tool, format to ntfs?

    i thought u had to have another tool for that
  7. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,200 (2.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    There is a CD image that you can burn that will nuke the drive (totally wipe it clean) i dunno if its ntfs or not, but it doesnt matter, since it will erase everything anywyas.

    http://www.dban.org/
    Nailezs says thanks.
  8. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    i can use dban to wipe the data, but i still need to format the drive back to ntfs for the OS
    is the dban cd bootable?
  9. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Got a windows XP Pro disc laying about? Could do it through that. Start up a clean install and just force power off your rig before it copies any of the "necessary files".
    Nailezs says thanks.
  10. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    All you have to do is wipe the drive clean. When you install windows again, then you can format to NTFS.

    OR

    If you load the windows cd in it now you should get a response that says "press any key to boot from CD". Do this and you can reinstall windows and fully format that disk to NTFS at the same time. This would be the easiest option.
    Nailezs says thanks.
  11. suraswami

    suraswami

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2005
    Messages:
    6,070 (1.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    794
    Location:
    Republic of Asia (a.k.a Irvine), CA
    +1.
    Nailezs says thanks.
  12. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,067 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    im vote like 3 for dban it will wipe the drive though it wont format back to ntfs but it doesnt matter when you go to install the os will do that anyway.
    Nailezs says thanks.
  13. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    unfortunetly, i dont :(


    oh, i can do that lol. i thought that windows would only do a quick format, because i tried to reformat and re-install like 3 weeks ago(before the bad ram was found, see my other thread) and it would only let me do a quick format...im guessing because the drive was already using NTFS?
    so just to be clear, i can make a DBAN cd, boot from that, wipe the drive clean, then put in my windows dvd and format to ntfs from that, even though the drive is blank.

    right?
  14. Woody112

    Woody112 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    562 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    74
    Location:
    Florida
    correct:toast:
    Nailezs says thanks.
  15. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    yay, points to you guys

    consider me smacked and in the right direction, lol
  16. Morrison5891

    Morrison5891 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2009
    Messages:
    806 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    91
    Location:
    Bannock County
  17. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
  18. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,454 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    You dont format a windows install within windows.

    Either use a third party program like Dban or aquire a Windows XP cd and do what Jr said.
  19. CrAsHnBuRnXp

    CrAsHnBuRnXp

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2007
    Messages:
    5,454 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    635
    That is not necessary. Just use Dban, then pop in your Windows CD/DVD and format the drive for NTFS.

    Sorry about the double post.
  20. Nailezs

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2009
    Messages:
    863 (0.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    70
    Location:
    Baltimore, MD
    yeah, like i said, lol
    thx for your help guys

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page