1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FOXCONN X58 Renaissance Motherboard for Nehalem - Spy Shots

Discussion in 'News' started by W1zzard, Aug 24, 2008.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    14,632 (3.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11,363
    Intel's upcoming Core i7 processors (codenamed Nehalem) will use the new X58 chipset and the ICH10-R Soutbhridge. DRR3 memory can be installed in six slots running DDR3-800, 1066 and 1333.

    The board we took photos of is a protoype that's why you can see manual soldering and cabling on it.

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
  2. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    thats a nice looking board, i just hope they remove those loose wires and underside caps on the final product
  3. [I.R.A]_FBi

    [I.R.A]_FBi New Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2007
    Messages:
    7,664 (2.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    540
    Location:
    c:\programs\kitteh.exe

    reading and comprehension prevents us from making such statments
  4. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Wonder why the motherboard standoffs are on the top of the board and not the bottom?

    X58 boards are showing up thick and fast now,pity the price of board/chip/ram will be crippling at first.
  5. Nick89

    Nick89

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    1,742 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    176
    Location:
    The Nevada Wasteland
    Thats neat, huge processor is huge.
  6. WOutZoR

    WOutZoR

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2005
    Messages:
    39 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5
    Location:
    Netherlands
    Take a look at this picture ;)
    http://www.techpowerup.com/img/08-08-24/3.jpg
  7. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    They have a backplate on the socket now?
    Shame they couldnt extend this to provide a better clamping mechanism for cooling.
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I wonder if these will have USB3.0?
  9. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,177 (3.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,397
    Yeah,but look at first pic,they are on the top.Unless they have just used two of them on each mobo hole to hold the board up on a flat surface,like this
    [​IMG]
  10. timta2

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    809 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    111
    Location:
    Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
    I guess they are ready to do away with PCI slots now, not that I have a huge problem with that, but I'm sure there are people out there that need more than one.
  11. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    yea i need 2 actully, TV tuner and wifi card grrr.
  12. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,919 (7.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I only need one for my sound card :)
  13. J-Man

    J-Man New Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2007
    Messages:
    2,248 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    81
    Location:
    Oakham, UK
    :laugh: I know mate.
  14. Morgoth

    Morgoth

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2007
    Messages:
    3,795 (1.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    250
    Location:
    Netherlands
    nope
  15. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    i'd use the PCI slot for a soundcard, nothing more. The joys of USB wifi.... :D
  16. WhiteLotus

    WhiteLotus

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2007
    Messages:
    6,530 (2.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    847
    Board looks very nice indeed, love the black.
  17. tkpenalty New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,958 (2.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    345
    Location:
    Australia, Sydney
    USB Wifi = fail. :shadedshu
  18. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,942 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    my USB wireless works fine on my download system, i run gigabit ethernet on the gaming rigs.

    whats so wrong with USB wifi? (Except the transfer speeds, that all wireless suffers from)
  19. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Looks a bit fried :D Maybe those wires and extra caps are a fix for that.
    [​IMG]

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page