1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fractal Designs Define XL Build Log

Discussion in 'Project Logs' started by crazyeyesreaper, Jul 29, 2011.

  1. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    well seems the build just isnt going as intended,

    PSU is officially completely dead

    motherboard wont post

    honestly at $1500 in replacment parts soon to be $2000+ im about ready to throw in the towel, only thing holding this together is the chance the HX 1000 thats on its way will boot the rig, heres hoping. altho im a glass half empty type these days.
  2. Chanc3 New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2011
    Messages:
    6 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    Fingers crossed over here in the UK for you!
    crazyeyesreaper says thanks.
  3. jasper1605

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,274 (0.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    228
    Location:
    Ohio
    Dang man, I just read through this entire post to follow along what you were doing. It seems awesome what you've got in your head for it. Best of luck on getting a working PSU! Just out of curiosity, why so many harddrives for ya?
  4. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    3d rendering

    I do character design for games which means

    3d models, multiple texture files, source images etc

    my source image libraries are in the 100's of gigs range,

    single high res texture files are 30-50mb and i might need 7-15 of said texture files for each character it adds up quick add in 500-600gb in steam library, and then another 200gb in other games, along with OS files, multiple backups in case of HDD failures etc i essentially have 3 TB of data 1TB Program drive and 1.5TB of file backups not included the Adata 120gb SSD.

    so theres really only 5 HDDs 1 SSD 2x Optical so its not that much really now when you look at my previous rig which had 10 sata ports lol and they were completely full on more then 1 ocasion.

    think of it this way RAGE is 1TB by itself uncompressed, now imagin 5-6 years of work crammed onto HDDs with multiple save files, at set intervals lol well im sure you get the idea it EATS hdd space like no tomorrow.
  5. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,767 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,609
    That, feller, is a royal bummer, a supreme load of shit. Looks like it may be time to take up needle point, or armed robbery, which ever is less painful.
  6. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    well since corsair failed me seems Thermaltake is stepping up and bringing there A game

    Thermaltake Toughpower Grand 1050w 80+ Gold powersupply is on its way, also going to swap to a different mobo soon so stay tuned, to the crazy channel and cross your fingers people that i dont blow up more parts. :roll:

    Chief Broken Rig - over an out
  7. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,767 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,609
    A sponsorship PSU, or did you have to shell out cash?
    crazyeyesreaper says thanks.
  8. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    sponsorship so expect a TT logo in post 1 when it arrives along with lots of sexy photos of the new PSU.
  9. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    nice one! Glad to see Thermaltake lending a hand.
    crazyeyesreaper says thanks.
  10. MT Alex

    MT Alex

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,767 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,609
    That is totally bitchin'. It's about time you got a swing in the right direction.
    crazyeyesreaper says thanks.
  11. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    UPDATE: Big thanks goes to thermaltake, the new PSU arrived safe and sound and expertly packaged, it feels like tank and looks sexy as hell dont believe me? take a look

    also i hate this camera, with flash on the ISO is 600 if you turn flash off it maxes the ISO at 300, which means any tiny shake ruins the picture, oh well unimportant enjoy the awesomeness.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
    cadaveca and Ahhzz say thanks.
  12. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244

    Proof that begging for free shit over the internet still works :roll::roll:

    (Im kidding of course!! special thanks to thermaltake for providing the PSU!)
    crazyeyesreaper says thanks.
  13. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    well i have to buy the mobo to match it all aka Asrock Z68 Fatal1ty Professional to bring everything together thats $255 price tag, then i need to grab a UPS 910w minimum gonna run me another $150 easy so still got $400 in purchases to go to the point i sold my PS3 to afford it lol
  14. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Lets be serious here for a moment....

    You didnt need that console anyway!! its not good enough for you!
    Ahhzz says thanks.
  15. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    uh yes yes it was good enough.

    Metal Gear Solid 4 man... loved that game

    beat it on Big Boss Extreme in 8 hours. needed to do it in 5hrs to get the Big Boss Emblem but i failed, still was never detected never died and never used a ration, it was a complete and utter hell but i managed, gonna miss playing that game.....
  16. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    no it wasnt!! Be a man! wait for an emulator then run it on the pc like a boss!
  17. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    lol show me where theres been any development of a PS3 emulator that shows promise, there are alot of games i enjoy but they just dont exist on PC PS3 had the greatest number of these games, gonna miss it but a stable system for Skyrim / BF3 is more important.


    well got everything hooked up need to install the FRIO but since ill be buying a new mobo soon i havent had the energy to bother yet.
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 4, 2011
    MT Alex and cadaveca say thanks.
  18. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Oh btw. did that PCI fan controller that came bundled with the case fit in the Vertical PCI slot?? I couldnt get mine to fit proper. - I dont used it anyway but i was just curious
  19. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    uh the PCI expansion fan controller fried when i used it,

    my 2x Deltas caused the think to actually start to smoke, and pretty much die within 1-2 mins, the controller is pretty much worthless. stick to real fan controllers. that little controller they give you is ment for there low power low rpm fans.
  20. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    I dont need to use a fan controller. Im just asking if you got it to fit the vertical pci slot.

    I think my case might have a manufacturing defect of sorts as i cant fit anything in that slot aside from the original PCI cover/bracket
  21. crazyeyesreaper

    crazyeyesreaper Chief Broken Rig

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2009
    Messages:
    8,141 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,779
    Location:
    04578
    mine fit but was hard to turn, if thats what you mean. otherwise its more there for things like PCI fan bracket, if i ever get bored enough ive thought of making a custom PCI slot fan bracket to mount some 120s on as a custom setup
  22. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Nope thats not what i meant but you answered the question anyway.

    I was thinking of sticking and akasa 'blower' fan there or something similar as the reference 6970s still dump a little heat inside the case. but i cant seem to get anything to fit in that slot.

    Normal horizontal PCIslots are fine though
  23. ChaoticG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2011
    Messages:
    352 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    149
    Finish this build you jerk!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page