1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fraps 2.8.0 Released

Discussion in 'Games' started by 1Strive, Oct 23, 2006.

  1. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    So no more capture at HALF the resolution! Yeah! Makes a differencs when playing games at 1920x1440.

    Enjoy,
    1STRIVE (on vacation)
     
  2. Jimmy 2004

    Jimmy 2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2005
    Messages:
    5,491 (1.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    267
    Location:
    England
    Fraps has started crashing my PC when I use it now, so i'm staying clear from it for a while. Anyone know any other good FPS software?
     
  3. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,258 (2.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    966
    FRAPS is the best. If you are getting issues, use an older version until 2.8.0 is debugged.

    Some games (e.g. quake engine and others) have inbuilt FPS indicator. Turn it on. e.g. cg_drawfps 1
     
  4. dvvv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No doubt fraps rulzzz... but.. i have 19" lcd monitor, so the prefered resolution is 1280*1024, but i have no dual core processor, so movies i record in 1280*1024 are half-sized, and only thing i can do to get full-sized movies - is to switch game resolution to 1024*768, but the quality will suffer as i use lcd monitor.
    Is there any way i can record 1280*1024 movies with no dual core processor(i understand that performance will slowdown, but anyway)?
    Such situation a bit offends me =(
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2006
  5. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas
    Easy...

    You don't have to have a dual core proc to run the new version of FRAPS (2.8). It runs on my laptop just fine (Pentium M).

    The new version will allow you to record your movies at 1280x1024.

    The old version just went up to like 1158x864 or whatever.

    Hope this helps,
    1STRIVE
     
  6. dvvv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Thanks for your response 1Strive :respect:
    but i have a new version of fraps (2.8.1) and a new NVIDIA drivers, but anyway when capturing video in a game(resolution 1280*1024) it's being half-sized, reduced to 640*512.

    gameCFG:
    [​IMG]

    systemCFG:
    [​IMG]

    videoFile:
    [​IMG]

    And as I understand from http://www.fraps.com/news.php
    New resolutions are available only for Dual Core systems, otherwise I don't understand why I can't capture 1280*1024 video... :banghead: :cry:

    Best Regards,
    dvvv
     
  7. dvvv New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Update, i've got a response from "beepa support" <help@beepa.com>
    So.. without dual core there is no any posibility =(
     
  8. 1Strive

    1Strive New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2005
    Messages:
    682 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    30
    Location:
    Texas

    Just one more reason to go dual core! (or Quad Core, or Multi Core)

    Sorry about your luck,
    Later,
    1STRIVE
     
  9. Mohbius New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Hello, i was googleing and i found this forum.

    As i can see the posts are old, but let's try.

    I have a question, i have too a simple core procesor, i would like to know if it's possible to play in 1280*1024 and when recording resize it to 1024*768 and not halfsized.

    Thx.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page