1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

free pdf editor

Discussion in 'General Software' started by stinger608, Mar 4, 2013.

  1. stinger608

    stinger608

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2008
    Messages:
    6,713 (3.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,104
    Location:
    Wyoming
    Of course when you google this it shows tons of free pdf editors.

    Does anyone recommend a good one that doesn't install a bunch of malware or other crap on your system?

    thanks in advance.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  2. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Have you tried Google documents? FYI the PDF has to be saved as "editable" to begin with. If all else fails and its a one time thing you can DL the Illustrator 30 day trial and do whatever you need to.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  3. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,726
    Adobe Creative Suite CS2.
    erixx says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  4. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    :laugh: Little over kill to edit a PDF. All he needs if hes gonna buy something is Acrobat Pro.
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,726
    Yeah, but Adobe Creative Suit CS2 is free... They offer Acrobat Pro by itself I guess too, but why bother, just get the whole suite.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  6. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Adobe Creative Suit CS2 is free since when?
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,726
    Since they shut down the activation servers and released an activation free version.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  8. camoxiong

    camoxiong

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2010
    Messages:
    654 (0.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    57
    Foxit Reader
  9. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,247 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
  10. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    You still have to sign in and verify the original serial number.

    http://helpx.adobe.com/x-productkb/policy-pricing/creative-suite-2-activation-end-life.html

    EDIT: Nevermind.....

    I dunno what they are thinking with this.

    Then don't give out the F@#KING SERIAL NUMBERS. :laugh: I read about this a few months back they were gonna do this but you were gonna have to log into Adobe Live and enter your old number for a new one. But from what Frick posted they just said screw it! :laugh:

    FYI guys Photoshop CS2 isn't 64-bit. This is fine for minor editing and such but nothing that you need tons of RAM for. HOWEVER Illustrator is only 64-bit in CS6 so if you wanna a bad ass vector program CS2 is plenty!
    Last edited: Mar 4, 2013
  11. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,726
    Is anything in CS2 64-bit? :laugh:
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  12. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,942 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    So will photoshop cs2 not run on Win7 x64?
  13. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    Nothing at all and in Photoshop its VERY needed. However Illustrator was 32-bit all the way up until CS5! So basically with CS2 you get a very modern vector program with Illustrator.

    It will run fine AFAIK. It just won't support a lot of RAM and you will get major slow downs. Photoshop RAPES RAM.
    BrooksyX says thanks.
  14. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,726
    Well Photoshop wasn't 64-bit until CS4. But unless you are doing professional level of work the 32-bit version of Photoshop shouldn't be an issue. But anyway, we're getting way off topic here.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  15. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244
    I guess that's true. Ive been bringing Photoshop to its knees since 3.0. :laugh: Thinking of going back to 32-bit makes me cringe. However I've done some really nice work in 32-bit.

    Did this 10 years ago.....

    [​IMG]
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,247 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    They are thinking good thoughts. For hobbyists it's damnable excellent imo. Even if it's "only" 32 bit it's miles ahead of anything free.
  17. BrooksyX

    BrooksyX

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2008
    Messages:
    3,942 (1.72/day)
    Thanks Received:
    569
    Well I might have to give this a try. I took a photoshop class my freshman year of college and we used CS3, i still have a copy of CS3 but the student trial ran out years ago lol. Would be nice to have a legit version again. I just do light editing here and there.
  18. TheMailMan78

    TheMailMan78 Banstick Dummy

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2007
    Messages:
    20,635 (8.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,244

    You aint kiddin!
  19. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,622 (3.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    Chicago
    I ended up with Foxit recently which seems pretty decent for free though I am not sure about editing offhand.
  20. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,080 (2.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    386
  21. Guitarrassdeamor

    Guitarrassdeamor

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2008
    Messages:
    860 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    205
    I've started using Foxit recently and I like it. However, I only view documents. Anything is better than Adobe.
  22. OnePostWonder

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    574 (0.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    I'm somewhat confused as to why people are recommending Adobe software, especially Adobe software that is old. While I can appreciate that Photoshop is an industry standard and Flash Player is used quite a bit (more than it should be), I can also appreciate that Adobe software has been exploited a number of times over the years, leading one to believe they don't take security as seriously as they should.

    Anyway, here's how I usually try and find the most favorable freeware (I would have an ad blocker running. In the past I've had issues, but the site is legitimate):

    Softpedia

    From that list, CutePDF and PrimoPDF seem like your most favorable choices. They are ad-supported, but this generally means they ask if you want to install the Ask.com toolbar or something else during installation.
    stinger608 says thanks.
  23. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,484 (6.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,726
    Acrobat is also the industry standard for PDF manipulation, which makes sense considering Adobe developed the PDF format.

    Also, we are recommending it because even though it is 7 years old, it is still better than any of the freeware out there.

    The freeware is OK if you just want to make a document in some other program then output it as a PDF, but the OP asked to actually edit a PDF. There simply isn't decent freeware that allows that. Acrobat 7.0 that comes with the CS2 suite is by far the best freeware for the job.
    digibucc says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU 25 Million points folded for TPU
  24. GoFigureItOut

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2011
    Messages:
    173 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Fox it Reader is limited as how much it can edit a PDF file, I think. They have a PDF editor/creator. I make PDF's from Word 2007. It's efficient enough
  25. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,247 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    But you cannot edit existing PDFs, which is what the op wanted.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page