1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fried some chips on my mobo w/ gfx card, will it happen again?

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by ominub, Jun 28, 2013.

  1. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    See the issues here...
    [​IMG]

    System Specs:
    Intel i5-750
    Asus P7P55D-E LX LGA 1156
    OCZ 550W Modular PSU
    16 GB DDR3 (4 x 4GB)
    2 x 250GB Seagate Barracudas in RAID1
    1 x 1TB WD Caviar Black
    Asus DVD burner
    EVGA 512-P3-N841-A3 GeForce 8800GTS

    I had a pretty basic graphics card, that required no additional power, for a couple years with no issues. I bought two EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 512MB from a friend for real cheap when he was upgrading. So I decided to swap my cheap card with the 8800. I followed all proper procedure to working on a PC, anti-static wrist strap and all. I removed the old card and put in one of the new ones. Then I plugged in the 6-pin pci-e power to the card, next the motherboard (btw, I am using the pci-e power cable that my friend gave me with the gfx cards, I couldn't find the one that came with my PSU). I closed up the box, hooked everything back up and pressed the power button. Power LED flashed for a split second and shut right down. I pulled the power and opened the case and smelled a bit of burnt plastic. I pulled the card and looked around but I didn't notice anything wrong so I put the old card back in. PC booted like normal, but no video, even heard the windows log in sound. I tried an old pci gfx card in one of the plain pci slots and it worked fine.

    So afraid that I burnt out the card too I put it in an older PC, and no issues using the SAME power cable. I even added the other card and set up SLI and it is still working great.

    So, I took some pictures so I could blow them up on my other PC and see if I bent a pin or something and I noticed the burnt chips. I found the same mobo on ebay, a new one amazingly, and I ordered it for $90. It was hard finding 1156 motherboards!

    My question is, what do you think went wrong? When I get the new motherboard, do you think the same thing will happen? Is it possible that the pci-e cable wasn't compatible with my PSU? I know the cable works because I used it on another computer.

    Thanks for the help!
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
  2. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,697 (7.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Let me guess, the wire he gave you was a 2 x Molex to 1 x PCI-E 6 pin. Your PSU didnt have a 6pin, because it wasnt designed to take the load of a GPU that requires more than 75watts (which your motherboard provides). You overloaded the PSU, and that in turn blew anything that was unfortunate enough to be connected.
    You obviously need a power supply better than your current, perhaps a 550w or 600w. Get a new PSU with a 6pin connector, dont plug in anything that requires additional 6pin power until you get one.

    EDIT:
    tl;dr - you need a bronze rated PSU that has a 6 pin connector, do not use molex adapters
    Last edited: Jun 28, 2013
    ominub and Arjai say thanks.
  3. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Hey, thanks for getting back to me. No it was a regular 6-pin to 6+2-pin cable. Here is my power supply OCZ Fatal1ty 550W It is actually a 550 watt, sorry about that. I think it should be able to handle this graphics card EVGA 512-P3-N841-A3 GeForce 8800GTS

    What do you think? Is my PSU sufficient to power that card? It was the first time using those pcie slots, do you think they are faulty?
  4. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,697 (7.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Sorry for the confusion then.
    Yes it should be sufficient, 550w is typically perfect for a single gpu and cpu.
    The issue either lies with a faulty motherboard, or that GPU is a revolver loaded with a single bullet.
    Modular cables SHOULD be universal from my knowledge, there is no reason they would turn out different.

    Specifically, you blew the main PCI-E slot.
    ominub says thanks.
  5. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Bad luck. :( If the board is ok I mean if the PCB is not burnt, you can attempt to give it to a motherboard repair center and tell them to replace the chips. Replacing those chips with a hot air gun is a piece of cake. Then you can keep it as spare or just sell it to someone else. If you sell it, do tell him about the repair work to be honest and also tell him that the problem was minor and nothing else was damaged.

    Another option is that Asus probably gives warranty for burnt chips but not burnt PCB. So you can try to claim warranty.
    ominub says thanks.
  6. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,158 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,479
    the problem is that 550W PSU has two 25A 12V rails.

    they arent particularly weak, but what you did using a molex adaptor was forcing all the power usage onto one rail - so you more or less halved the available power, and it blew things up.


    using adaptors on a multi rail PSU is a bad idea, because unlike the PSU designers you dont get a choice which rail the power is drawn from.
  7. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Damn, well thanks for the help. I've plugged it in an out of my other PC about 15 times without any issues and I've had 2 or 3 different pci-e GPUs in my current pc, but none that required additional power. Should I hook up my old pc with my new PSU and see if it works? I'm afraid to burn out another mobo!


    Yeah, maybe it's that Mercury Retrograde my crazy Aunt is always talking about! She seems to blame all electronics issues on the stars and planets...
    I'll see if I can find a repair center near by, how much does that typically cost? Good thinking on the warranty! I forgot ASUS gives 3 year warranties! I bought the parts for this build in November 2010! I'll contact ASUS about it.

    Thanks again for the help guys!
  8. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,697 (7.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    That's what I thought, but he used a modular 6pin cable, apparently.
  9. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks for your response. I just cleared that up with RCoon, I was using a standard PCI-E 6-pin to 6+2-pin cable.
    Mussels says thanks.
  10. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,158 (11.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,479
    he said he got it from a friend, its possible the wiring was incompatible with his PSU, even if it physically fit.


    i've never liked multi rail PSU's (even tho i use them) because of situations like this. its possible this was a random occurence, but still, best to focus on what we know to be a bad idea first.
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,697 (7.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    That is what I wasnt too sure about, at least you shed some light on that, could present a problem.
  12. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    What do you guys suggest I do? Order a new pci-e cable? Should I pick up a multimeter and test the PSU?
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,697 (7.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,019
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Or get a Bronze rated 550w PSU, as your current PSU is not even Bronze rated, it just says 80PLUS.
    Personally I'm just 100% paranoid about anything not bronze rated.
  14. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    It should not cost much. The chips are cheap. They will take some extra money as the service charge. I think it will be repaired within 12-15$.
  15. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Okay thanks, I'll look into a new PSU.

    Really, that cheap? I found a local shop, I'll give them a call. Thanks.
  16. itsakjt

    itsakjt

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2010
    Messages:
    1,173 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    381
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Yes. :) The place where I live, these things are done for as low as 600 Rs(10 $ approx).
  17. shovenose

    shovenose

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2013
    Messages:
    797 (1.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    132
    Yeah I would honestly get a new PSU. Seasonic is the best PSU brand :)
  18. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Ha ha! a co-worker of mine is from Pakistan, he always talks about the difference between Rupees and Dollars and that if he made his current salary in Pakistan, he would live like royalty.

    Called a few shops nearby, only one will do it and its $60 an hour. :banghead: I'll wait and see what Asus says about a warranty replacement...
    itsakjt says thanks.
  19. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    Enermax is pretty damn good as well, So is corsair for that matter but Dave has a minor issue with them and I will be switching brands when the time is right for the same reason.


    ..... I came to this topic with an open mind in good faith, Sadly I am rather disappointed in the lack of fatty shallow fried high in cholesterol goodness being displayed in this thread.

    [​IMG]


    good day to you sir!
  20. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Mind elaborating on that reason?


    Just got off the chat with ASUS, they're going to RMA the motherboard but since it has physical damage (burnt pieces) they may choose not to repair/replace it. Will update.
  21. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    long story short, they sent him a review sample that had different caps to the units they were selling on the shelf. The caps in the retail ones are still good but you cant trust a company that says one thing but then turns around and does something completely different.

    It just makes dave's review pointless because he's not testing the same units that are being sold on the shelf, he's testing a cherry picked one or one thats been made/modified especially for reviewers.

    Dave called them out on it twice I think but I cant remember what their responses were (if any)
    ominub says thanks.
  22. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Wow, that's fishy...

    Would you (or anyone else) mind recommending a new PSU for this build. You guys are waaayyy more knowledgeable about this than I am. It's getting pretty close to upgrade time so I'd like it to be either fairly inexpensive, or good enough to use in my next build.
  23. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    fishy is how dave also put it if i remember correctly :p

    Pick a 600-750w Enermax, Seasonic or Antec PSU. you really cant go wrong with those. Both Enermax & Seasonic can be a little pricey compared to the competition but you really do get what you pay for. They make some of the best quality PSUs and Seasonic being as awesome as they are actually makes PSUs for their competitors or have an agreement allowing them to rebadge and sell their units.

    A good 650W unit will cover any future upgrades big or small.
    ominub says thanks.
  24. ominub New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2013
    Messages:
    20 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Thanks for the recommendation. I like this one but there are a lot of bad reviews SeaSonic x650
  25. FreedomEclipse

    FreedomEclipse ~Technological Technocrat~

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2007
    Messages:
    13,609 (5.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,244
    IMO its within margin of error. you cant promise that ALL of the hardware that rolls off your production line are going to be 100% fault free. Bad PSUs do slip through QC just like any other PC hardware component.

    JonnyGuru gave the PSU 9.5/10 back in 2009 when im guessing the PSU was first released.


    This is only one out of the many series's that Seasonic make. Seasonic are well known for their reliability and build quality.
    ominub says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page