1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Fritz Chess Benchmark - AMD vs. Intel vs. VIA

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by lemonadesoda, Mar 31, 2009.

  1. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    chuck216| Athlon 64 X2 5600+ Brisbane| 2.9 GHz | 6.49 |2.2379| Stock speeds
     

    Attached Files:

  2. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Here's the e1200@ 2.66Ghz (C1E/EIST enabled)
    [​IMG]

    JrRacinFan | e1200 | 2.66 Ghz | 7.12 | 2.67 | Dual Channel DDR2 @ 800mhz CL5
     

    Attached Files:

  3. thebeephaha

    thebeephaha

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2007
    Messages:
    1,182 (0.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    104
    Location:
    Bellevue, WA
    [​IMG]

    I get raped by an i7...

    thebeephaha| Q6600 | 3.60 Ghz | 18.09 | 5.025 | Dual channel DDR2
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2009
  4. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,571 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    [​IMG]

    HammerON | E8500 | 4.33 | 12.76 | 2.947 | Dual Channel DDR 2
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,594 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    531
    Location:
    Australia
    Melvis | FX-57 | 2.8GHz | 3.39 | 1.210 | Eat that P4's lol
     

    Attached Files:

  6. HammerON

    HammerON The Watchful Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    6,571 (3.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,682
    Didn't like the high core voltage on last clock so here is a run at 4.0 GHz:


    [​IMG]

    HammerON | E8500 | 4.0 | 11.77 | 2.942 | Dual Channel DDR2
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  7. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,125 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    Not sure if I did the math right on that score/clockspeed especially considering the number of cores involved...


    FordGT90Concept - BY-2005 | Core i7 920 | 2.776 GHz (2.666 GHz w/ Turbo ON) | 19.21 | 6.92 | 4 physical, 4 virtual cores (HT ON) - Windows XP Professional x64 Edition - 3 x 2 GiB @ DDR3-1066 spec (tri-channel)

    http://img.techpowerup.org/090401/by-2005.png


    FordGT90Concept - SERVER | 2 x Xeon 5310 | 1.6 GHz | 16.54 | 10.3375 | 8 physical cores - Windows Server Standard x64 Edition - 8 x 1 GiB @ DDR2-667 spec (quad-channel)

    http://img.techpowerup.org/090401/server.png
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. hoss331

    hoss331 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2008
    Messages:
    119 (0.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Florida
    [​IMG]

    hoss331 | Q9650 | 4.34 Ghz | 25.51 | 5.880 | DDR2

    This is my 24/7 setup but ill do a ~4.8 run tomorrow.
     
  9. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,339 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Might want to put that chart in order. Just seems like random numbers, I assume pre Ghz Calc would be showing how much your getting per Ghz, don't know if you would want to order it like that, or by the score. Will be more understandable then.
     
  10. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,974 (10.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,760
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    btarunr | X4 9750 | 2.40 GHz | 11.64 | 4.85

    [​IMG]
     
  11. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,275 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Phenominal performance on those Xeons ;)

    The crunch per Ghz is very high. Could you say a little more about this system? Are you sure it is a 1.60Ghz, or is that the speedstep speed on idle? How many FBDIMM slots have you filled, and is the RAM x4, x8, single or dual rank? Thanks. :pimp:

    Could you kindly Geekbench so I can look at the components of your Dual Xeon performance more closely. THANKS.
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2009
  12. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,275 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    I would love to sort it on score or score per Ghz, but the sort algorithm is buggy. It sort alphanumerically, but doesnt sort numbers very well. Try clicking the column headings to sort... and see what a good (or bad) job it does.

    I wont sort manually. It takes too long, in fact, needs to be done for every new post. That really doubles up the work of keeping the table up to date. Just use the sort feature and "fix" it in your own minds eye.
     
    1Kurgan1 says thanks.
  13. CyberDruid

    CyberDruid New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    2,888 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,100
    Location:
    On top of a mountain
    User | CPU | Clockspeed | Score (Relative) | Score per clock Ghz | Any Comment

    CyberDruid|920|1729.5 Corespeed X13 multi|20.94|7.8426966292134831460674157303371|Assumed 2.67 (stock) CPU speed. New to i7 lol.
    HT enabled


    Not sure if I did that score per ghz correctly or not.

    EDIT Ah crap apparently the 920 is running at 1.7ghz :( now I gotta figure that out...
     

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Apr 1, 2009
  14. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (6.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Here's the e5200@3.33Ghz
    [​IMG]

    JrRacinFan | E5200 | 3.33 Ghz | 9.53 | 2.86 | Dual Channel DDR2 @ 800mhz CL4
     
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,299
    Newtekie1 | Athlon X2 4400+ | 2.8GHz | 6.46 | 2.30 | Vista x64 Socket 939 Dual-Channel DDR1
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,125 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    1.6 GHz is stock on Xeon 5310.


    It has 8 FB-DIMM slots, all of them (8 sticks total) have 1 GiB Kingston DDR-667 sticks in them. There is an OCZ memory cooler sitting on top of the memory providing direct airflow across the modules. It has two Delta 60x60x20 fans in it (the original fans died about a month or two ago, followed by the power supply :(). They should be running in a pair of quad-channel configurations.


    http://browse.geekbench.ca/geekbench2/view/123984

    Heh, everything multithreaded is through the roof. Exactly what it was built to do.


    There's only two ways to fix it:
    1) Zero-pad the values (e.g. values 10000 and 900 would require 900 be changed to 00900 because 0 comes before 1).
    2) Explicitly declare the column as an integer or floating point value which sorts by value instead of by alpha/numeric order. I doubt that feature is supported though because it complicates things as much as it simplifies them. XD
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2009
    Crunching for Team TPU
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,263 (6.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,299
    Newtekie1 | Celeron 325 | 2.53GHz | 1.47 | 0.58 | Server 2003
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  18. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,275 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Fact is, you are getting better performance per Ghz than my E5420's with a bigger cache. So, there must be something in your FBDIMM setup that is giving you milage. Could you kindly give more information. Are they x4 or x8. Are they single or dual RANK?


    I found no such option (unfortunately) in the table add-in for vB. If you know of a way to do this; great! Tell.
     
  19. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,339 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    Ah sorry about that, I didn't realize that the chart had the ability to auto sort, very nice! :rockout:
     
  20. FordGT90Concept

    FordGT90Concept "I go fast!1!11!1!"

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2008
    Messages:
    14,125 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,939
    Location:
    IA, USA
    I have no idea.

    It has four of these kits in this motherboard.


    You got your processors overclocked 500 MHz. Work/clock is a measure of efficiency. The farther they are overclocked, the less efficient they become. If you return the clocks to stock, it may match or exceed mine. The harder the processor is worked, the more often it has to clear the pipes and try again (lost efficiency).
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. chuck216

    chuck216

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Messages:
    632 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    99
    Location:
    Tampa FL
    you missed mine :(
     
  22. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,275 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    It's a conspiracy chuck! :roll:

    Added.
     
  23. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,275 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Your StreamScore is very high. (Geekbench). Much higher than mine even though memory is at the same speed and my CPUs are nearly twice the speed. It is therefore a memory bottlenecked bechmark.

    The only logical reason for your superior performance is the RANKING of your FBDIMM. Your sticks are dual rank, which are known to be faster than single rank (mine). So with 8 sticks you are running 16 ranks vs. my 4 ranks. That means you can handle more simultaneous reads and writes.

    We all know that single access read or write on FBDIMM is slow. But it is interesting to see that for multi-threaded independent read and simultaneous write there IS some scaling with the FBDIMM memory architecture. But to get the most out of it you need more RANK.

    So, if I want an extra bit of performance, I need to swap my single rank FBDIMMs for dual rank.
     
  24. 1Kurgan1

    1Kurgan1 The Knife in your Back

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,339 (4.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,376
    Location:
    Duluth, Minnesota
    What? :roll: Just kidding, got you for the most part, but I think I'm going to write this down and say it to random people and see what kind of judgment they pass on me :p
     
  25. lemonadesoda

    lemonadesoda

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2006
    Messages:
    6,275 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    968
    Yeah, LOL. FBDIMM is a PITA to understand and manage. This whole channel and rank business is a real pest. ESPECIALLY since many people use passive RAM heatsinks that mean you can only use alternate RAM slots. If you dont use big passive sinks you HAVE to use a fan cooler on the memory.

    With FBDIMM there are the following issues to "manage"

    1./ Number of channels (you can do single, dual and quad channel not just dual channel like regular DDR). On some pimp server boards I believe octo channel was also possible.

    2./ Number of ranks. You can have one, two, or four ranks per channel, however, many board limit you to a maximum of 16 ranks in total, so you cant over rank you memory channels. (Still with me? LOL)

    3./ There are x4 and x8 arrangement of the memory. The x4 is a higher density RAM, has the benefit of a newer feature set, BUT, usually has lower rank, ie. single rank. So while it is newer and better, you need more sticks to get the best performance.

    4./ 1.5v and 1.8v. FBDIMM gets horribly horribly hot (talking 80°C easy unless there is active cooling) and draws a hell of a lot of power. This is due to the on-stick memory controller. Everyone wants the 1.5v sticks fpr obvious reasons but they are not compatible with older chipsets that require 1.8v sticks. But the 1.5v are rare and expensive and in fact have stopped being manufactured for supply/demand/bankruptcy reasons.

    5./ FBDIMM reads and writes at the same time using different "pins" in the socket. That is GREAT for simultaneous reads and writes, but BAD for "only" reading or "writing" due to lower bandwidth on just read or just write. In practice, FBDIMM has a higher bandwidth on "copy" and simultaneous read and write than regular DDR2 at the same clock. ie ideal for servers. BUT, FBDIMM doesnt have the ultra-high single function bandwidth of overclocked DDR2 or DDR3, and is therefore terrible at many single thread memory benchmarks.

    >> The technology of FBDIMM is very similar to PCIe. ie it is serial data across multiple lines, rather than, parallel data on one bus. (are you still with me?)

    OK - so now you've got an idea of the headache of FBDIMM. So knowing how best to use the memory architecture can be real hit or miss.
    And now you know why people using FBDIMM are always asking DIMM questions. LOL :pimp:
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page