1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

From Phenom II 720 to Phenom II 960T

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by WojtasRed, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Is it a good idea to change Phenom II 720 to Phenom II 960T?
    Or may be Phenom II 970 is better choice?

    I`ve a mobo with AM2+ socket (GIGABYTE GA-MA790X-UD3P AM2+ Bios 7b).
    Last edited: Aug 31, 2012
  2. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,039 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    either will be a great choice but the 960T has the potential to unlock to a six core
  3. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Phenom II X6 would be greater performance boost. Your mobo supports any Phenom II X6.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Any suggestions?
  5. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Depends on what you use your rig for. Gaming, not so much performance boost. Multicore apps, you are better off not gambling your luck and get the x6 instead (although you will need motherboard and ram upgrade as well).
  6. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2012
    Messages:
    2,039 (3.14/day)
    Thanks Received:
    433
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    do you live near a microcenter
  7. Daimus

    Daimus

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2011
    Messages:
    527 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    474
    Location:
    somewhere in Eastern Europe
    Depends on the budget. Even 1045T can be OC'd up to 3,3 - 3,4 GHz.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    So, may be a better way is to wait and change processor for about 2 yrs?
  9. Fourstaff

    Fourstaff Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2009
    Messages:
    9,099 (5.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,943
    Location:
    Home
    Depends on whether you are willing to move to the blue camp, the two bridges are good upgrades. Alternatively, you can sit out and wait for a good construction vehicle to pop up.
  10. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Could someone provide a link with 720 and 965 games tests?
  11. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,958 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    No point changing. Either get a Phenom II X6 or don't bother.
  12. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Isn`t 965 better than 1090T?

    Code:
    http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/146?vs=102
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    965 Black is NO way better than a 1090t. Regarding your question in the OP, it is worth the upgrade.
  14. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Tests (for games) shows, that 965 is a bit better (or equal) than 1090T...
  15. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    At the same clock speed I presume? Link(s) please to what you're seeing.
  16. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,247 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Look up a bit in the thread and you see the link.

    Limited amount of games I think. I think you should look up reviews. I'll see if I can fuind anything.

    EDIT: Had a quick look around (TPU, Neoseeker) and yeah they appear to be very close in games. They were posted almost 2.5 years ago though, I don't know how games like BF3 and so on behave on them.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
  17. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Waiting ;)
  18. Frick

    Frick Fishfaced Nincompoop

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10,247 (3.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,018
    Does you 720 unlock btw? That would save you money as it'll essentially become an x4 920. If you're into games only I'd go for whatever is cheapest.
  19. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I understand that. Thank you for the links, just wanted to make sure all on the same page. Now from an overclockability standpoint. My post wasn't talking strictly from a gaming standpoint.


    What's going to hurt the performance of the chip is going to be the ddr2 base from there IMO if having to do a board switch, I'd go with an i3 2100 + p67/z68.
  20. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    This is comparison (720 and 965) (games):

    Code:
    http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/phenom-x4-965,2389-8.html
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
  21. Aleksander

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2009
    Messages:
    3,252 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    304
    You have to find your max fsb of your motherboard.
    I wouldn't recommend to switch if your mobo doesnt support >1000 mhz.
  22. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,958 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843


    More cores doesn't always scale well for older games which is why the 965 appears faster or equal. Essentially, they are the same architecture so they are the same performance in non multi threaded games. At best in a 1-4 threaded game the 965 will only get a few frame rates more because the L3 cache is being shared across fewer cores. The performance increase will be negligible which is what that review shows.


    But newer and upcoming games are supporting 6 cores, the 1090T would be in a different league. Games like BF3 which would have a 4 core at 100% CPU would be balanced across 2 additional cores thus freeing resources to manage background applications.

    An example would be when the Phenom II X2 550 BE was released it was outperforming the Phenom II X4's in games. The primary reason was because the games were old and single threaded. 3 years later The Phenom II X2 would struggle in BF3 and other multi threaded titles but the Phenom II X4 would be fine. It's the same concept with the X6. We are moving towards multi threaded environments.

    Gaming aside. The 1090T, being 6 cores would be generally snappier, and would be much more productive in graphic design, CAD, encoding and pretty much all other areas. It's the all round better processor.

    Ignore that. Those games are old, most are single threaded. The 965 would be even faster in today's multi-threaded games. Likewise the 1090T would be faster than the 965 in upcoming titles.
    Last edited: Sep 1, 2012
    WojtasRed says thanks.
  23. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,720 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,434
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    A 960T or any 6 core CPU is better than any of the old Deneb Phenom IIs. However, DDR2 RAM holds them back significantly, and you would need a new motherboard and RAM for that which kind of defeats the purpose of upgrading an old platform.

    Priced out an LGA 1155 system? One of those would be tremendously faster.
    WojtasRed says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  24. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    407 (0.19/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    So, there`s a better idea, to save some money and for 1-2yrs buy new MoBo, RAM and CPU, right?
    There`s no sense to swap 720 on 965?
  25. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    2,958 (2.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    843
    No that isnt a good idea. If it's going to take you 1-2 years to save for a new motherboard, ram and CPU then I would avoid taking that route.

    Considering this is going to be one of your last upgrades on AM2+ you may as well get the fastest processor on offer which is the X6 range. DDR2 might be limiting factor but it is supported under bios F7B.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page