1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

From Phenom II 720 to Phenom II 960T

Discussion in 'System Builder's Advice' started by WojtasRed, Aug 31, 2012.

  1. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Is Phenom II x6 1045T a good choice?
     
  2. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    to clear things up, a 960T is actually a 1090T or 1100T even, with 2 of its six cores shut down... mine does Overclock exceptionally good, 4.2 ghz and 3200 mhz NB ran flawlessly on the 4 cores... with 1.5v on the CPU-NB i even was able to unlock the fifth core, and overclocking still is a charm, especially for a "broken" core.

    The 960T will definetly be an upgrade to your 720, i exchanged my aging 955 from one of the birst batches ever produced, and still got a noticeable increase in performance and especially temperatures, with the right clocks... 3000mhz+ on the NB will increase Memory Write speed, and all L3 cache speeds from read to copy, by a significant amount...or alternatively use a fifth core, to get a nice increase in multithreaded things;)
     
  3. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,531 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,620
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not worth it to be honest. you would get much more of a benefit going to a Intel Sandy Bridge or Ivy Bridge setup.

    A 2500k and a Asrock Z77 Extreme4 for $134 on newegg right now and a good 8GB 1866 memory kit would be much more beneficial.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  4. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    true, but with the right source you can get one of these 960Ts for dead cheap,opposed to Intel stuff;)
     
  5. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,531 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,620
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    Not really, If you live near Microcenter 2500k's are pretty cheap. even ncix now price matches with microcenter deals. So Either way 2500k can be had for pretty cheap.

    Contact NCIX to price match this if you do not live near microcenter

    http://microcenter.com/product/354589/Core_i5_2500K_LGA_1155_Boxed_Processor
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2012
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    Can be, if you are an american and live near a microcenter (not that there would be a lot), then thats true. Otherwise, the Situation is different on the whole Globus, especially in Europe, where they like to ask double the Price than what is the price in the US (something tells me that our OP is not an American, could be wrong there tho)

    You know, you dont own the whole world yet, eh? ;)
     
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    40,265 (12.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,850
    I think with your particular setup, it won't make much of a difference. The 960T is clocked higher and has a stronger IMC, however since you are running 800mhz DDR2 the IMC won't make much of a difference. If you were to upgrade, I would just save up and get yourself something that would really make a difference such as a Z68/Z77 platform.:toast:
     
    WojtasRed and MxPhenom 216 say thanks.
  8. MxPhenom 216

    MxPhenom 216 Corsair Fanboy

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    10,531 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,620
    Location:
    Seattle, WA
    ^this.

    /thread
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Thanks, guys!
     
  10. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    Meh AMD sukz should probably just go outs and buy yous one of themz new InTlE platforms AMD juts dosNt compatre.


    Now back in real life the Phenom 960T's are Thuban based chips with 2 of the 6 cores deactivated. You own a board that fully supports CPU unlocking. For the $60-90 worth of price a 960T is it is well worth it for an upgrade. Even if it will not unlock the two extra cores it is a more powerful chip and a quick easy upgrade for your DDR2 platform. Thuban overclocks better and has a very good unlock rate when compared to Deneb chips. I honestly do not think the Intel route is worth it since you will need new memory/mobo/CPU. Way more expensive than a drop in upgrade. Not to mention you can still get $40 for those 720BE chips on ebay/forums etc.
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  11. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    LOL, that was nearly exactly what was i was thinking about him! :laugh:

    Thanks for some arguments from one of our professionals, even tho you repeated a few things which i already stated;)
     
  12. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    Your post seemed lost in the Intel brainwashing figured I would repeat some needed facts.
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,419 (6.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Guys just stop. If the OP can afford a new motherboard & ddr3 along with cost of a cpu, I would suggest going the i3 2120 route. Obviously can't(no offense Wojtas), so a 960T does seem like a worthwhile option sans a 1055t.
     
  14. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    What about Phenom II x6 1045T?
     
  15. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,888 (9.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,375
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Just what you can afford. TBH it doesn't matter with AMD cause most of those chips perform close to each other.
     
    Velvet Wafer says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  16. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    it would fare better in extensive multithreaded applications, whereas a higher clocked 960t would be better for limited multithreading (most games, for example)
     
  17. Dent1

    Joined:
    May 18, 2010
    Messages:
    3,323 (1.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,009
    Yes.

    But you are only saying that because you could unlock yours.

    Not all 960Ts unlock. Some unlock with dead cores. In which case the OP could be throwing away money on a gamble.

    My advice is to get a real X6 so you are not disappointed and then overclock it.

    As for everyone else talking about Intel.The OP already said he has very little money. He can only afford to upgrade his CPU ATM.
     
    Velvet Wafer, JrRacinFan and WojtasRed say thanks.
  18. Velvet Wafer

    Velvet Wafer New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2009
    Messages:
    5,123 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    990
    Location:
    North of Germany
    actually, i wasnt talking about that... the chance to unlock cores, and even more than one of them, is not that common... i was talking about the overclocking of an x4 locked 960t, which is about as good as if you would OC a 1090t-1100t (960t are just the locked down x4 variant of this silicone, i say it the third time.)

    My advice is,Wojtas, dont listen no name people here, that cant even read properly. ;)

    Dent, you should have read the whole topic opposed to just the last few posts... LOL :D
    Nice try, but FAIL.
     
    Dent1 says thanks.
  19. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    May be, it`s better to change MoBo (to AM3+ socket) and RAM (to DDR3-1600) and after New Year buy a new CPU (for example; FX-6200 or FX-8120 ), huh? Please, suggest me a good and cheap MoBo (with DDR3-1600 and Phenom FX support).
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2012
  20. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,888 (9.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,375
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    That would be a horrible move. Bulldozer was no better than thuban (sometime worse) If you do a big change like that then a Intel SB/IB would be more realistic
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  21. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    You could easily wait for piledriver at that point and skip the pos bulldozer.
     
  22. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    Would ASROCK 970 Extreme3 AMD 970 support Piledriver?
     
  23. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,888 (9.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,375
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    At this point in time, I doubt there is going to be a motherboard manufacturer that would guarantee piledriver support for the existing motherboards.
     
    WojtasRed says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. WojtasRed

    WojtasRed

    Joined:
    May 22, 2008
    Messages:
    410 (0.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    10
    So, it`s better to wait for Piledriver CPUs?
     
  25. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,690 (6.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,987
    Location:
    some AF base
    Yes worst case scenario you will be able to buy that same board for less when the next batch of chipsets drops out.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page