1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

From where can I buy ATI Graphic card parts ??

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Mohammed, Feb 1, 2012.

  1. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    258 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi EEEEE


    I don't know form where I start

    Graphic card has massing some parts :(


    [​IMG]


    So any Idea where I can buy like this thing ?






    Really that is [​IMG]
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,579 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    Is it a 5850?

    It's a capacitor and they have different ratings. Please link us to the exact model of your card.
    Mohammed says thanks.
  3. overclocker

    overclocker

    Joined:
    May 31, 2006
    Messages:
    1,151 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    110
    Is that your 4670 or is it a high end card ?
    Mohammed says thanks.
  4. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    258 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi
    Yes it's HD 5850, Just I want to know Is there any website selling such this thing

    http://www.geeky-gadgets.com/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/Radeon-HD-5800.jpg



    Hi
    no, it's HD 5850
  5. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,801 (6.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,919
    Does the card work without it?
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  6. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    258 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Yes, but I am not sure how long it will works without that thing
  7. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,579 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    Mohammed says thanks.
  8. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    258 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Hi
    Oh bro You are great

    I sent to them a message, now I witting for respond


    Thank you very very much
  9. CJCerny

    CJCerny

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2008
    Messages:
    855 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    248
    Location:
    Akron, OH
    Do you know how to solder a new one on?
  10. Mohammed

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2012
    Messages:
    258 (0.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    15
    Not really, but i try it.
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,457
    find a TV repair shop near you, around here they'd solder parts on for me for pocket change, if i already had the resistors.
    Mohammed says thanks.
  12. 20mmrain

    20mmrain

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2009
    Messages:
    2,769 (1.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    825
    Location:
    Midwest USA
    The thing is though on some cards....(Not sure about the reference HD5950) they almost glue some of these parts on instead of solder. Plus if that is not a problem got to make sure there is a viable trace for both ends to attach to.
    I am not saying it is impossible... For sure it is not. But it is not as easy as most people think to repair these types of things.
    Mohammed says thanks.
  13. m1dg3t

    m1dg3t

    Joined:
    May 22, 2010
    Messages:
    2,246 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    513
    Location:
    Canada
    Mohammed says thanks.
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    42,120 (11.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,457
    sometimes its not even needed. my bro had a DFI mobo that had three resistors knocked off behind the NB, and it worked fine for years. afaik its still working (we sold it years ago).


    just because parts are gone doesnt mean it wont function perfectly, many of them are redundant, or work in parallen with other parts - so losing one doesnt mean a dead card/board.
    Mohammed says thanks.
  15. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,579 (13.40/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,976
    If it indeed looks like this:
    [​IMG]

    ...and the solder pads are there, a good way to do it would be having a friend with a 2nd soldering iron. Heat both pads up until the pads are in a liquid state, poke the capacitor wires through (leave a gap between the cap and the solder), and let cool. Then cut off the excess wire on the backside.

    **Edit. Actually, that won't work, it isn't that type of cap. You need a surface mount capacitor. ** Found it: http://www.newark.com/nichicon/pcv1c331mcl1gs/capacitor-poly-alum-330uf-16v-smd/dp/27T9772

    Big picture here: http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/HIS/HD_5850/images/front_full.jpg
    Last edited: Feb 4, 2012
    Mohammed says thanks.
  16. Goodman

    Goodman

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    1,519 (0.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    324
    Location:
    Canada/Qu├ębec/Montreal
    It may just be another revision of the card & some parts or not needed as they may be reroute the circuit board?

    If it doesn't appear to have been a part solder in there & the card works great i would leave it like that , otherwise you may damage the card buy adding a part that is not needed?

    Test the card few benchmarks/games & a mild overclock & see what happens?
    Mohammed says thanks.
  17. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,561 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,966
    there is nothing missing for the love of god.
    its just on the PCB. they make a common pcb for similar versions.
    Mohammed says thanks.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page