1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Front side bus (800 Mhz or 667 Mhz?)

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Hkcuong, Jun 27, 2009.

  1. Hkcuong New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Will the front side bus be changed when I upgrade from Core Duo to Core 2 Duo? My CPU is Core Duo 1.73 Ghz 800 Mhz. I have read many documents and they show that there are many but only Core 2 Duo CPUs which have the front side bus at 667 Mhz (but not 800 Mhz) that can be used to upgrade my current CPU. Is this right? Thanks all.
    PS: My system chipset is 945gm
     
  2. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Just depends on what your motherboard supports. Most 945's should support up to 1066 fsb I believe, so your fine w/ any chip that has 1066 or 800. Some support 1333 too though, which is what any of the 6xxx conroes or 8xxx wolfdales will have. Check the support page for your specific motherboard to make sure the chip you want is supported.
     
  3. Hkcuong New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Oh, I forgot to tell you that I'm gonna upgrade the CPU for my LAPTOP and the only thing I know is it is using the 945 GM chipset (and perhaps the circuit board of the laptop cannot support the front side bus at 1066 Mhz or 1333 Mhz)
     
  4. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,418 (6.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,495
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    I don't think you can upgrade from a Core Duo to a Core 2 Duo. Pretty sure (although not 100%) that they use a different socket.

    EDIT:

    Yes Core Duo uses socket 479.
     
  5. farlex85

    farlex85 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2007
    Messages:
    4,829 (1.57/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Ah sorry misunderstood, I just totally ignored the M part. :laugh:
     
  6. Hkcuong New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    This is a piece of consultancy I got from a member at notebookforums.com:
    http://www.notebookforums.com/thread228607.html
    He said that I can use T7200,T7400 and T7600 to upgrade my current CPU and I can see these CPUs use 479mPGA socket (what he called socket M)
     
  7. Hkcuong New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    It is 479mPGA (shown by CPU-Z) and mPGA-479M (by PC Wizard), not only 479 and the ability to upgrade CPU can be seen here
    http://www.cpu-world.com/Sockets/Socket%20479%20(mPGA479M).html
    The current CPU which I am using is Core Duo T2250 and it is used for socket M. Will the Core 2 Duo for socket M be able to use for upgrading my current CPU?
     
    Last edited: Jul 15, 2009
  8. tigger

    tigger I'm the only one

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2006
    Messages:
    10,187 (2.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,402
    It looks like it may fit,it just depends if it is supported by the chipset.
     
  9. Hkcuong New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2009
    Messages:
    16 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Some said yes some said no (maybe they only looked at the chipset overview but they did not look at the valid core 2 duo combination with that chipset) then they concluded that it does not support Core 2 Duo CPUs.
     
    Last edited: Jul 17, 2009

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page