1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Frustrated and Need Help!

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by Ewaybevinn, Dec 6, 2008.

  1. Ewaybevinn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, MA
    Hello, I’m really at my wits end here and could use come help. I have 1 problem and 1 recommendation that I need help with.

    All of my specs will be posted at the bottom.

    1st the problem: No matter how many times I try I cannot get the CCC to work on my computer. It worked when I had XP Prof x64. but after upgrading to Vista Home Premium x64 I cannot get it to work. When I do the installation there are no warnings or errors. But when I try to run it I get a message saying that CCC cannot run in basic mode and will run in advanced. When I click advanced though the box disappears but the program does not load. I’ve tried running the ATI Tool but when it comes up there is no graph displayed and the 2 slider bars are grayed out.

    2nd: Recommendation. The games that I play are WOW, FS-X and Splinter Cell. But with the current setup I only get max 30FPS and min 5FPS avg 10FPS. Is this to be expected with the hardware I have? Or do I need to do something to bring out my card’s potential? I have upgraded my ram to 4gb, fully cleaned my case and cards of any dust. I do know that I need a new power supply (currently 400w) what would be my best purchase for a new card? I have about $175 to spend on a new card and am looking for the most performance for my money. I only run one monitor. I just want to be able to play the games with no issues. If I can play at high settings then it would be great.

    I have the full DxDiag report if it is needed
    ------------------
    System Information
    ------------------
    Time of this report: 12/6/2008, 10:56:48
    Machine name:
    Operating System: Windows Vista™ Home Premium (6.0, Build 6000) (6000.vista_gdr.080917-1612)
    Language: English (Regional Setting: English)
    System Manufacturer: MSI
    System Model: MS-7250
    BIOS: Default System BIOS
    Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 3800+ (2 CPUs), ~2.0GHz
    Memory: 4094MB RAM
    Page File: 1990MB used, 1948MB available
    Windows Dir: D:\Windows
    DirectX Version: DirectX 10
    DX Setup Parameters: Not found
    DxDiag Version: 6.00.6000.16386 64bit Unicode

    ------------
    DxDiag Notes
    ------------
    Display Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 1: No problems found.
    Sound Tab 2: No problems found.

    --------------------
    DirectX Debug Levels
    --------------------
    Direct3D: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectDraw: 0/4 (retail)
    DirectInput: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectMusic: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectPlay: 0/9 (retail)
    DirectSound: 0/5 (retail)
    DirectShow: 0/6 (retail)

    ---------------
    Display Devices
    ---------------
    Card name: Radeon X1600/X1650 Series
    Manufacturer: ATI Technologies Inc.
    Chip type: ATI Radeon Graphics Processor (0x71C2)
    DAC type: Internal DAC(400MHz)
    Device Key: Enum\PCI\VEN_1002&DEV_71C2&SUBSYS_205C17AF&REV_00
    Display Memory: 2045 MB
    Dedicated Memory: 254 MB
    Shared Memory: 1791 MB
    Current Mode: 1440 x 900 (32 bit) (60Hz)
    Monitor: ACER AL1916W
    Driver Name: atiumdag,atiumdva,atiumd64.dll,atiumd6a.cap,atitmm64.dll
    Driver Version: 7.14.0010.0621 (English)
    DDI Version: 9Ex
    Driver Attributes: Final Retail
    Driver Date/Size: 10/28/2008 21:03:13, 3955712 bytes
    WHQL Logo'd: Yes
    WHQL Date Stamp:
    Device Identifier: {D7B71EE2-3282-11CF-7276-5600A1C2CA35}
    Vendor ID: 0x1002
    Device ID: 0x71C2
    SubSys ID: 0x205C17AF
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Revision ID: 0x0000
    Video Accel: ModeMPEG2_A ModeMPEG2_C
    Deinterlace Caps: {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(YUY2,YUY2) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(UYVY,UYVY) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    {3C5323C1-6FB7-44F5-9081-056BF2EE449D}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {552C0DAD-CCBC-420B-83C8-74943CF9F1A6}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,2) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {6E8329FF-B642-418B-BCF0-BCB6591E255F}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,1) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_PixelAdaptive
    {335AA36E-7884-43A4-9C91-7F87FAF3E37E}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY DeinterlaceTech_BOBVerticalStretch
    {5A54A0C9-C7EC-4BD9-8EDE-F3C75DC4393B}: Format(In/Out)=(NV12,0x3231564e) Frames(Prev/Fwd/Back)=(0,0,0) Caps=VideoProcess_YUV2RGB VideoProcess_StretchX VideoProcess_StretchY
    DDraw Status: Enabled
    D3D Status: Enabled
    AGP Status: Enabled
  2. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,791 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    666
    Location:
    South Carolina
    Try right clicking on the program and run as adminastrator!!
  3. Ewaybevinn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, MA
    yeah i tried that. i even logged in under the admin account. no luck
  4. Asylum

    Asylum

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,791 (1.26/day)
    Thanks Received:
    666
    Location:
    South Carolina
    You need a upgrade....I have a EVGA 8800 GT i will sell you for $100 shipped!! Let me know if you are intristed!! Only a 8 months old...Thinking of getting a gtx 260!!
  5. spearman914

    spearman914 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2008
    Messages:
    3,339 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    502
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York 11223
  6. Ewaybevinn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, MA
    Those are some good deals. I am a little apprehensive about switching to nVidia from ATI. I have heard some horror stories. As you can tell I have limited knowledge about computers. I did build the computer I have but don't know much about the infrastructure behind it. Will switching cause problems?

    Also on a side note I have 2 HD. one with Vista one with XP I do know how to boot either but I tried to wipe the drive with XP (corrupted) but I cannot. I installed another version of vista on the XP drive but it just put the XP OS into a folder that I cannot delete.

    Is my current CPU that underpowered that I need to upgrade?
  7. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    You need to upgrade yes .
    Read this : http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=77968

    And this : http://forums.techpowerup.com/showthread.php?t=76591

    You can get a GTX260 for like $199 on newegg !
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814127361

    Just click the "see price in cart tab" .

    You CPU is ok but a bit old .
    OH and switching will not be a problem at all .
  8. Ewaybevinn New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arlington, MA
    Man I had no idea this was such a huge debate (nvidia/ATI) So i think i will go nvidia this time because I have so many problems getting anything ATI to work.

    Asylum: this seems to be a great deal and I thank you for the offer but I try not to buy anything used so i'm going to have to pass. but thanks anyways.

    Spearman: While that is a great deal on the CPU i have a winsdor socket so that wont work. But i did see a AMD Athlon 64 X2 6000+ Processor ADX6000IAA6CZ - 3.0GHz, 1MB Cache, 1000MHz (2000 MT/s) FSB, Windsor, Dual-Core, OEM, Socket AM2, at Tiger Direct for $120 which seems like a good deal.

    Trickson: After reading I see that you are way bias towards nvidia LOL but i think i am going to go that route. But that is a little pricey for me ( I know you get what you pay for) I need to bring the price down to around $175 So i'm going to keep looking.

    Thanks to everyone for replying so quickly and giving your advice. It is what i'm missing when it comes to my computer. I'll click refresh ever min looking for more :) (not really but close)
  9. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
  10. justinavril

    justinavril New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2008
    Messages:
    13 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    Shanghai, China
    In China, catalyst driver (pure display driver) is separated from CCC. That means you need to install driver firstly, and then you can install .Net framework, and CCC at last. And the driver for Vista 64 is diff from the one for XP 64.

    The current ATI driver is 8.11. Maybe you can download it and install it.

    Good luck!
  11. LittleLizard

    LittleLizard New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    3,775 (1.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    575
    Location:
    Latin America, Uruguay
  12. trickson

    trickson OH, I have such a headache

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2004
    Messages:
    6,494 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    956
    Location:
    Planet Earth.
    I am not sure . What PSU does he have?

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page