1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[FS] Custom PC Building

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Ben Clarke, Oct 28, 2006.

  1. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK, I havnt been around in a while, but I've been working on other stuff. Anyway, I have the first prebuilt computer I can give you guys. Expect more soon, but not too soon. It doesnt come with scren, mouse keyboard etc. but if I can find ones cheap enough I'll add them to it.

    Attached Files:

  2. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    wich is the psu?
    ram type
    hdd

    give more details ;)
  3. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK, heres the updated version.

    Attached Files:

  4. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    what is the mobo, and ram brand,i doubt that psu has enough juice to power a that system
  5. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Mobo is EVGA,
    RAM is GeIL.
    Any other info you'd like?
  6. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    Amperage on the 12v rail of the psu and know if it has more than one :)
  7. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    ...... not sure about the amperage, but it has dual 12V rails for safer optimal power distribution.
  8. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    if it has 2x12v rails with anything lower than 20 on each of them = VERY BAD, i would suggest somethng with 600w or more from a know brand ;)
  9. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Well, I was going for price on this model of the gaming line I'm doing, because not everyone has 2.5k to spend. But in the 2000 version, I'll probably install a 1000W PSU. But that'll cost a lot.
  10. pt

    pt not a suicide-bomber

    Joined:
    Mar 11, 2006
    Messages:
    8,982 (2.94/day)
    Thanks Received:
    208
    Location:
    Portugal
    the one you post is a hell of a gaming rig, probabily the max money i would spent on a utter without monitor, ut a better psu on this one, and use it as your gamming system for sale, and do a cheaper one, if you don't the guy who gets the putter will have some rma to do soon :(
  11. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK, well, let me finish working on the gaming 2000 one, then I'll get to work on a cut-down one with a better PSU, then I'll start work on my "Celestial" products. Also, bear in mind that these come without an Operating System, or maybe a Linux distribution. If you want Windows, you must let me know in your order. I'll post the additional price that each version of Windows will incur on this post in a minute.

    WINDOWS COST:
    XP Professional: £120
    XP Media Center 2005: £90
    XP Home: £70
    Vista Ultimate 64-Bit: £150
    Vista Ultimate 32-Bit: £145
    Vista Home Premium 64-Bit: £90
    Vista Home Premium 32-Bit: £85
    Vista Home Basic 64-Bit: £80
    Vista Home Basic 32-Bit: £75
    Vista Business 64-Bit: £120
    Vista Business 32-Bit: £115

    OPTIONAL SERVICES:
    Pre-Overclocking (Supported Models only): £50
    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  12. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    OK, here is the first system in the Celestial line. It's quite basic, but you can play games on it.

    Oh, and if any of you have a good idea for a system, PM me. If I produce it, you may just get a reward. ;)

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 16, 2007
  13. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Whoa, only just saw that, sorry. Anyway, the answer is £20. The rest is for delivery.
  14. mullered07

    mullered07 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,648 (0.97/day)
    Thanks Received:
    204
    Location:
    UK
    ok for a start i think trying to sell systems of that spec on here is useless simply because anyone with a spec like that on here would build it themselves, the best thing you could poss do is build low budget rigs for £200ish and sell them on ebay for around £230-250, thats what im doing heres one of my rigs if you'd like to have a look (as long as this is ok mods, this my own property and does not contravene any copyright laws)

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ws/eBayISAPI....MESO:IT&viewitem=&item=140086544974&rd=1&rd=1

    i think your asking too much i havent added up that one you have for 1300 for example but i can see me building that for a lot less tbh, and vista home premium is readily available for £60 sorry im not puting you down im trying to help you and in this business its not about making huge profits off £1300-£2000 systems (if you can do that, all the best but you have to lower them profit margins) i make £20-£40 on one of my systems and most of the time its at the lower scale of that, so what do i do ? i sell 4-6 a day and thats how i will build up a: my feedback b: my reputation and c: my bank balance.
  15. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Well, I gotta try muller. nd I've taken into account what you said about price. So, I took my aim - profit - off this one, and did it so price matters. And, I searched around for this kind of system, only thing close is the AlienWare systems, and they come in at £3000+ for a similar spec. But this is superiorish. And, believe it or not, I included an optical drive with this one.

    This is the next in the Gamer Millenium series.

    And because you guys are my friends, I'll reveal now that my next system will be the most overclockable peice of hardware youll ever lay eyes on. (Note: Minus the liquid nitrogen).

    Anyway, heres the system.

    Attached Files:

  16. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    Dude, awsome you're building computers. I want to but....no money....and i don't think my parents would go for that:( ok anyways, i think you should build a computer based on what the customer's going to use it for. I mean right now on this site everyone knows what they want, but if you put an ad out in the paper, some people might be confused by what dual core is :eek: my point is: if someone says they're going to be using the computer for like word, powerpoint, im, internet, etc. you can't exactly expect them to know what a nvidia i680 board is. well this is my opinion on how you could get alot more people to buy systems. i look at the dell site, i know excatly what i want, some people *cough cough parents* don't know why i wanted the 2 ghz merom chip :shadedshu If you want any help figuring out a system, id help for free. I look at computers i want to build in a certain range when im bored, it's kind of sad, but i figured it might help later on in life. Good luck oh and below is a sub $1000 semi-gaming machine, not going to break records, but enough for some casual gaming, and you can just pop in another 7900 if you want.

    Attached Files:

    Last edited: Feb 18, 2007
  17. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Thanks kwchang, yeah, I realsie not everyone wants a gaming machine, but because this is the only place I'm sellng I figured I should make some of them suitable for gaming. And thanks for the build.
  18. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    oh ok, i thought you were going to advertise somewhere else.
  19. ghost101

    ghost101 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2006
    Messages:
    1,332 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    165
    Location:
    London
    The real question is if you can undercut these guys http://www.pcoption.co.uk/ . Ive been to their place and its a very good operation IMO.

    They basically offer fully customisable custom builds at very competitive prices and offer a decent warranty. But even then if you look at their top end system
    http://www.pcoption.co.uk/pcbaseunits/index5d_8800slip4con.htm
    there is room to undercut.

    Basically, i think you wont be able to do this on your own. Also, without a proper business you could come into serious problems especially because you have unlimited liability. You should think very carefully about how you will do this. Remember that computer enthusiaists/gamers are amongst the most unforgiving people if something should go wrong.
  20. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Well, a new month, a new update. While my computer has been broken, I've been looking... and searching... and sweating my ass off next to this damn computer with dodgy cooling. But, it paid off, as I can now build you guys systems cheaper! While I wait for my system to come back from the repair guys, I give you....

    A NEW POLL!!!

    Which kind of system would you like to see?

    1. Gaming
    2. Business / Work
    3. Media Centre
    4. TV Viewer
    5. Storage
    6. MiniServ (like a server, but it's a desktop)
    7. An all rounder, that eats other systems for breakfast, then uses the RAM to pick it's teeth after)

    Make your decision, it'll influence the next pre-built I come up with... also, I've found... with this new system, I'm slightly cheaper than AlienWare!!!

    ALL SYSTEMS COME PRE-CHECKED, AND WITH A LIMITED WARRANTY.
  21. Alcpone

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    2,339 (0.82/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Location:
    Tyne & Wear, UK
    Fair play you are offering a service to the absolute novices but...

    I wouldnt buy from you, if you had to send your own rig away to be fixed, fair enough if it was bought from elsewhere and you rma'd it, but if you built it yourself, it isnt going to fill people with confidence about your abilities to build from scratch and offer a fast rma service, I am also not sure about your buying power in general and the fact that we dont really know you from adam, abit iffy if you ask me! Just my opinion but im sure others have the same one
  22. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    I want to see the best computer you can come up with :D and of course the price
  23. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Well, give me a few minutes. And just to let you know, the limit on my RAM is 2GB if you want any warranty. I can do more than that in some systems if you are willing to void warranty.
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2007
  24. Ben Clarke

    Ben Clarke

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2006
    Messages:
    4,403 (1.52/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    England
    Well, here you are:


    Ultima 9000 (I'll probably think of a new name in 5 minutes :))


    AMD Athlon 64 5200+ X2 Dual Core Socket AM2
    2x ASUS EN8800GTX/HTDP 768MB DDR3 (Dual DVI, SLI, HDCP compliant) in SLI
    2x Samsung 500GB Serial ATA II 16MB cache
    Logitech Cordless Desktop LX710 Laser Mouse and Keyboard
    Kingston 2GB (2x 1GB) DDR2 667 PC2-5300 240-pin
    ASUS MW221U - 22" Widescreen TFT Monitor with speakers
    Microsoft Windows Vista Ultimate32 OEM (32-bit)
    Sound Blaster X-Fi Elite Pro
    Logitech S-500 5.1 Surround set Speakers
    ASUS MyCinema-P7131 Hybrid (Digital and Analog) TV PCI Card
    600W Power Supply
    Samsung SH-S182 18x DVDRW MultiFormat LightScribe Black with Nero Express


    £2429.55 exc. VAT and shipping.

    Quite cheap for this kind of power IMO, I'll work on an Intel solution tomorrow.
    Last edited: Mar 11, 2007
  25. kwchang007

    kwchang007 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    3,979 (1.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    185
    Location:
    Severn, MD, USA.
    pretty nice, just one thing i see wrong, 600 watt psu for 2 8800 gtx's??? i think by themself they need enough power to blow the psu

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page