1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FSB and Hyper Transports

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Munki, Jul 1, 2009.

  1. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    Im looking at these AM3 setups and this just isnt justifing in my mind.

    CPU: AMD Phenom II x4
    - Hyper Transport of 4000MHz


    While:


    Motherboard: ASUS Crosshair III

    - FSB of 2400MHz



    Will this hold back my CPU? This has been bothering me since i've noticed it. I mean you can't fully access the full 4000MHz if the pathway (FSB) is only 2400Mhz


    can someone explain to me, what exact is allowing my CPU to preform at the full 4000MHz or are these two things totally irrelevant?


    Thanks,
    Chris
  2. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    No one?
  3. sam0t New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2007
    Messages:
    99 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4
    Hello,

    I have zero experience with Phenoms, but back in the day of Athlon64 the hypertransport speeds was merely a gimmick. I say gimmick as the the bus was plenty fast back then even with the slower settings for northbridge-cpu-mem communication. Especially when OC it was advices deliberately to slow down the FSB/HTT speeds to gain stability without next to no performance hit.

    If you check the wikipedia and reviews you will notice that Phenom II processors have the specs for HTT/FSB 2000MHz and the MB manufacturer just seems to promise some OC headroom with 2400MHz. Dunno where you got the 4000MHz HTT speed for Phenom CPU but it seems to me just like a mistake/error from somebody part.

    Do correct me as there are faults in the post :)
    Munki says thanks.
  4. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    well, if it is a mistake it will make me feel less like a fool. I will edit this post with my source of this question in case this is a misake by Newegg.
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,610 (13.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,001
    I haven't seen any performance improvements by raising the HTT. The Crosshair III should have an option to raise the NB frequency directly, that's where more performance comes from. Plus, with an unlocked processor, raising the FSB is basically worthless.
    Munki says thanks.
  6. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
  7. Darknova

    Darknova

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2006
    Messages:
    5,037 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    535
    Location:
    Manchester, United Kingdom
    No. FSB doesn't exist on AMD platforms.

    It now uses a single clock called the HT reference which the RAM speeds, CPU speeds, and HyperTranport speeds are worked off.

    Plus both those motherboards support HyperTransport 3.0 which means it supports a HT speed far faster than any Phenom and Phenom II CPU available at this point :)
    dustyshiv and Munki say thanks.
  8. Munki

    Munki New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2008
    Messages:
    1,227 (0.56/day)
    Thanks Received:
    182
    Location:
    Metro Atlanta
    BLAH, so they put FSB on the specs more less to make it look cooler? :lol:

    I have me led now, I should be able to get this straightened out in my head after work.


    Thanks guys. :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page