1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

[FT] DFI mobo modded to SLI and a 3600+ brisbane

Discussion in 'Buy/Sell/Trade/Giveaway Forum' started by Solaris17, Feb 20, 2008.

  1. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    Hey guys this is my personal rig....DFI Infinity UltraII M2 that i modded to SLI and my 3600+ Brisbane that can hit 3ghz. I was wondering if someone would trade me a low end skt 775 core 2 duo (dual core) and maybe a cheap over clocking mobo that supports DDR2 i know it may not be a good trade but im looking for atleast low end components it can be a conroe core w/e as long as its skt 775 dual core...and non netburst and a cheap mobo that allows fsb adjustment....im willing to nagotiate but thats all i really want.....i cant reach 3ghz anymore because my mobo has a hard time with my 2x2GB i can run 1 stick or my old 1GB sticks and get 3ghz but it has trouble handeling that much data...tested upto 305FSB heard it can go higher...ask for more info its a rockin mobo

    thnx

    Solaris.
  2. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    ne one? ill give you a laptop

    Celeron gen 1 skt 370 700mhz 128mb sdram 10gig harddrive..its a dell c500...needs a new batt and tope face platye(touch pad is dead and touch pad is connected to that)

    i know id be taking a step up and whoever adopted my rig would be taking a step down...but she's a sturdy rig and has only presented me with happyness along with problems all to common with an OCr FE: clock to high it gets mad and beeps at you.
  3. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,396 (2.70/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,480
    Dunno what ur budget could be, but you could snag an Abit IP35-E for around $90 that'll take DDR2 and Conroes up to around 500FSB...that's 3.5ghz on my e6300. I'd say make a budget that you can comp with at least mostly for after selling your current MB/CPU combo, and start doing some research. I'd have to say a good P965/P33/P35 board would treat you nicely with a budget. There are always used C2D's going for sale all over...dunno why, I ain't letting my C2D go till she fries or I get a quad core! :D

    Bump for the one and only Solaris17 (A Kickass Mod(der)! :D ) Hope someone can come through in the trade for ya!
  4. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    Last edited: Feb 21, 2008
  5. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    The E2160 would be better then the E2140 but ok... The mobo i would recommend http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813128084

    It is a P35 so i would think it would overclock good also it is a Gigabyte.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  6. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    Money is the major issue here...do you think i could sell my stuff for enough $$$ to buy that?....my ID got stolen found out its a big reason why i havent gotten hired....so im in a jam....thats why i went 2140..cheaper...ill OC to get the performance my money cant buy.
  7. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Yo sol! How interested are you in crossfire? If yes, up to what proc will that board support? pc6400 support?
  8. p_o_s_pc

    p_o_s_pc F@H&WCG addict

    Joined:
    May 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,007 (5.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,183
    Location:
    Newark ohio
    Im not sure... If your that tight on money then get a dual core CELERON!
    Crunching for Team TPU
  9. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    not to intrested in crossfire....but i guess it depends....this board only supports 667 officially...but iv had 800mhz sticks in it OC'd and it didnt have a problem.....but i also booted the board with 667 ram in it also at the time...i guess i could pull the sticks i have drop the 800mhz stick in and see what happens...also if i remember correctly the board supports a ram divider in the thousands like so

    533
    667
    800
    1000

    or something i can boot to tell for sure if youd like. :)

    as for proc...any AM2 dual core its flashed with the latest bios however..it will NOT support phenom their is no support bios update for it and its not an am2+ mobo
  10. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Mmk, sorry to say I think i will pass then. Was thinking of going phenom.
  11. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    understandable i wanted to :(
  12. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    lol if you can wait a week ill offer upfront 50 for that board, best i can swing, or give you 35 tomorrow lol
  13. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Also, just letting you know. an e2140 + MSI P31 Neo 2 would work well for you.
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    itll prob still be here so ill wait but sounds good. let me check my sched tomarrow and well we have a week to figure it out.
  15. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    o how so?
  16. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    Both good clockers and low budget inexpensive. Also, I looked at your 3dmark06 results. @3Ghz I score around 2500 marks on cpu. So just letting you know go e2140 or above.
  17. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    16,897 (5.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,419
    Location:
    Florida
    ya i may do that..as for the proc

    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819116064

    i may have to go the mad cheap rout...just to maybe have a rig....but you see my brisbane is 2x512kb l2 and i think that is 2x256...thats a tad bit of a step down...but im trying to save....


    wait thats the proc u have can u tell me anything bout it?
  18. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    the allan dale is 2x1mb actully
  19. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
  20. JrRacinFan

    JrRacinFan Served 5k and counting ...

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2007
    Messages:
    19,414 (7.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    4,483
    Location:
    Youngstown, OH
    If you get that proc make sure you can get a board that will do at least 333-395 fsb. I noticed they perform best when mixed with loose timings and high memory frequency, usually a 4:5 divider.

    Oh and FYI, 35C acrossed both cores @ 1.44vcore is the sweet spot for 3.1Ghz on stock cooling with stock thermal paste switched out.

    EDIT: No no no, to benefit using the E1200's and e2xxx's you would need a board that does at least 333fsb. I don't think the ECS can handle it, can it?
  21. candle_86 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2006
    Messages:
    3,916 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    233
    its down to the chipset really, ECS produces decent boards, they really do.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page