1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Futuremark Launches Peacekeeper Web Browser Benchmark

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 12, 2009.

  1. PVTCaboose1337

    PVTCaboose1337 Graphical Hacker

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2006
    Messages:
    9,512 (2.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,143
    Location:
    San Antonio, Texas
    WARNING!

    Don't run F@H while doing this! It makes you fail!

    [​IMG]
     
  2. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Run it without it and see how much it went up.
     
  3. BOSE

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    271 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13
    Location:
    Wash DC
    Firefox 3.0.7 - 517

    Safari 4 Beta - 1543

    You can actually see the difference between the two.
     
  4. OnBoard

    OnBoard New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2006
    Messages:
    3,044 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    379
    Location:
    Finland
    Now how do I OC FireFox? (558 points)

    Those rendering test ran like poo :D Now that there is a benchmark, hope someone codes firefox faaaast, only beating IE is kinda lame. Come on fox, you can run faster :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 12, 2009
  5. Binge

    Binge Overclocking Surrealism

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2008
    Messages:
    6,982 (3.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,752
    Location:
    PA, USA
    779 with 5 tabs open on Firefox 3.0.7
     
  6. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    1666 - safari 4
     
  7. Valdez

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    294 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    25
    Location:
    Szekszárd, Hungary
    minefield 3.2a1 64bit = 432p
    ff 3.0.7 = crashed

    There is processorlimit anyway, and uses only 1 core :(
     
  8. ShadowFold

    ShadowFold New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2007
    Messages:
    16,921 (6.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,644
    Location:
    Omaha, NE
    I get 602 in Firefox. I tried Safari but it's not faster than Firefox and the UI is stupid. I also have a mutual dislike of anything apple.
     
  9. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    Agreed, but the Ipod is not that bad.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2009
  10. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    Multi-threaded browsers are kind of pointless anyway :laugh:
     
  11. Apocolypse007

    Apocolypse007 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    615 (0.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    76
    Location:
    New Sewickley, PA
    My results:

    1362 On chrome with Core 2 6420 @ 3200mhz
     

    Attached Files:

  12. PEPE3D

    PEPE3D New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2009
    Messages:
    44 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ, USA
    Here is my score

    :toast:I never though safarai was that fast. I usually use firefox, like it a lot.:slap:
     

    Attached Files:

  13. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,810 (13.18/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,192
    Not too bad for Internet Explorer 8(I guess)

    [​IMG]
     
  14. wolf

    wolf Performance Enthusiast

    Joined:
    May 7, 2007
    Messages:
    5,543 (2.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    842
    why so serious indeed.

    does anyone really have a speed (fps :p) issue when browsing the net, that's not a internet speed limitation?
     
  15. 3xploit New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2007
    Messages:
    276 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    24
    Location:
    Canada
    chrome is doing pretty good too

    [​IMG]
     
  16. freakshow

    freakshow

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2007
    Messages:
    959 (0.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    108
    safari is pretty cool

    [​IMG]
     

    Attached Files:

  17. AddSub

    AddSub

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,001 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Chrome 2.0 dev channel release, score: 2268

    System: i7-920 CPU, 6GB of RAM, EVGA X58 motherboard.

    [​IMG]

    I don't think the Futuremark folks are updating their database. Notice how in the bottom left corner it shows someone's "Fastest system" as Safari 4.0 with score of 2264.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2009
  18. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,713 (11.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,670
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Yet another Futuremark gimmick: "this is the fastest processor and graphics card, GET IT". Like having GeForce GTX 280 has anything to do with browser performance.
     
  19. Cheeseball

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    668 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    84
    It'll be weird if someone was able to get a web browser to handle page rendering through the use of GPGPUs. At least once your connection has downloaded the content, it'll display really quick. LOL.
     
  20. Bl4ck

    Bl4ck New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2008
    Messages:
    75 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9
    Location:
    Mental Hospital called Poland
    hmm ? :confused: i've got 580ish with 3.0.7 :F
    Opera 10 Alpha scores above 1000 around 1060 ,

    based on 6gb of ram, Vista x64 , and Wolfdale @ stock 3167Mhz (E8500) , i guess its all about the "http pipelining " enabled within Firefox , and the java engine within the browser. :cool:

    hmm i won't agree , check the stats for Chrome (best use of multi core cpu's) and then Safari , and check again Opera 9 series on multi core cpus, you will see that Opera for example scores lower with multi core cpus then with 1 core ;F :nutkick:
    People tend to forget that Web browser today runs applications based on Java,Flash, ect. Check the Quake Live for example.

    sry for post after post ;/
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2009
  21. SeanG New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2008
    Messages:
    184 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    11
    Boy its really pissing me off that some people can load a web page a few milliseconds faster than me.:laugh:
     
  22. DaveK

    DaveK

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2008
    Messages:
    1,889 (0.85/day)
    Thanks Received:
    145
    I have a fairly low-end system and was running a defrag lol. Might do it again, probably not a good idea to run stuff like that during a benchmark :p I also have a measly 2GB RAM lol
     
  23. z1tu

    z1tu

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2008
    Messages:
    443 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    123
    Location:
    Romania
    AMD 7750BE, 2GB RAM, Gigabyte GA-MA770-UD3 :) i scored 608 with 2 tabs and then ran it again with 3 and scored 609 :))
     

    Attached Files:

  24. DrPepper

    DrPepper The Doctor is in the house

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2008
    Messages:
    7,483 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    813
    Location:
    Scotland (It rains alot)
    I still can't see why a browser would need more than one core. Its supposed to be lightweight and efficient.
     
    CDdude55 says thanks.
  25. CDdude55

    CDdude55 Crazy 4 TPU!!!

    Joined:
    Jul 12, 2007
    Messages:
    8,179 (3.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,277
    Location:
    Virginia
    For people doing heavy multiple things on each browser maybe. Plus it takes stress off the one core to to allow the browser to run at a fast pace.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page