1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FX-8320 Socket vs Core Temp

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by Yellow&Nerdy?, Jan 2, 2014.

  1. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Happy New Year guys.

    So I built a new rig for this Holiday season, and I'm trying of course to OC my FX-8320. I'm running it on the ASUS M5A97 Evo R2.0 and it's cooled with the Cooler Master 212 Evo. Now from what I've figured out by searching online is that the max safe temperature for this CPU is 62 degrees Celsius. The problem is, I seem to find conflicting info on if that 62 max temp. is for "socket temp" or "core temp" (I'm using the latest version of HWMonitor). Hoping you guys can help me out on this one. If the 62 max temp is for "core temp", what would you guys say is a max safe socket temp?
     
  2. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,286 (1.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    346
    Location:
    CZ
    The 62C refers to socket temp because AMD CPUs don't have proper thermal probes in them. The other thing is that AMD chips do not like running at high temperatures so you will get a Blue screen before the chips is anywhere close to getting damaged by heat.
     
  3. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Ok thanks. I'm getting 63-64C @4.0GHz after an hour+ on Prime95 small FFTs, but that's probably because my case airflow isn't great, and I'm also planning on re-mounting the cooler. I think I OD'd on the thermal paste. Also considering on buying an extra fan for push/pull. That should help the temps.
     
  4. fullinfusion

    fullinfusion 1.21 Gigawatts

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2008
    Messages:
    8,350 (3.36/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,142
    62c is cpu temp max.. been like that for years!
     
  5. gdallsk

    gdallsk

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2012
    Messages:
    299 (0.33/day)
    Thanks Received:
    122
    Location:
    Northamptonshire
    Having the same cpu and motherboard as you, I should say that it does not run as hot as yours especially at those clocks and voltages, so check your paste, repaste if necessary, also check if your cpu fan spins up under load.
     
  6. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Yeah I know it's probably the paste, even if my case airflow isn't stellar, with under stock voltage and not that much OC, it should not go above 62C. My CPU fan does spin up, in fact it spins full RPM all the time, even though I plugged it in a PWM connector...
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2014
  7. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    This isn't true unfortunately.

    The core temp is the temperature sensor on the CPU itself, and this one is "limited" to 62 Degrees. The socket temp doesn't really have a hard limit, but this can go quite high if your VRM cooling isn't too good while still having a good CPU cooler.
    The reason the core temp might give some weird results is because it only produces correct temperatures from 45C and up. This isn't really a problem however, as any CPU core temperature below that is "uninteresting" from a cooling standpoint anyway.


    Also, the 62C core limit isn't really a hard one: If you want better stability with lower voltage, or less poweruse with the same voltage you should aim for a lower maximum core temperature, because FX CPU stability gets progressively worse the higher the temperature gets, needing more voltage to correct it which in turn results in even more heat. Keeping this in mind, you sometimes can even improve your clocks a bit when up against a heat wall by lowering your voltages a small bit, resulting in a lower temperature and improved stability.
    You can also go with the opposite if your motherboard, cooling and power costs are up for it: tweak your system for a higher core max than 62. This can potentially result in higher clocks if your chip likes high voltages and isnt really impacted by heat at those voltages.
    This has the downside of going against the advised the max core temp which potentially results in a slightly shorter lifespan of your CPU. However, tbh, I dont know of anyone, nor have I read about, people who had their CPU die on them because of running higher than the advised temp(its usually too much voltage that kills a chip). Furthermore, if you look at the 8350 with stock cooler you'll see that it will already regularly pass the 62C mark on the core, and this is how AMD specced it, so it can't be that bad surely?

    Anyhoo, long story short. 62C is the (un)official max core temp. Going higher than that *may* result in a shorter CPU lifespan, but will probably cause instabilities. The max socket temp is dependent on what your mobo can take, and how low your core temp stays. Most important thing by far for the health of your CPU is the core temp.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2014
    Yellow&Nerdy? says thanks.
  8. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Yeah, I always though this explanation made more sense... But now I have two people saying the opposite again :laugh: My core temp usually doesn't go past 45-46C when stress testing. I'm not quite sure what VRM-components are rated for temp wise, but keeping the socket temp under 70C should be sufficient right?
     
  9. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,096 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    300
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Definitely:)

    Edit: Most VRM's are actually specced for use up to something like 105C. Other components might not like such high temperatures though.
     
  10. HD64G

    HD64G

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    151 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Because all of you have the same CPU as a friend of mine who made a PC built a week ago, which voltage level you think is enough if interested in undervoltaging the FX-8320 to be stable enough for video editing programs?
     
  11. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    Well I'm running @4.0GHz (17.5 x 229) at 1.2125V, with the stock volts being 1.25V. Though you should keep in mind that it's not tested thoroughly yet, running some blend Prime95 right now. So keeping it at stock, I could imagine as little as 1.2V being stable, maybe a little more or a little less, depending on the silicon lottery, and maybe the motherboard your friend has.

    EDIT: Not stable, had an error 50 minutes into blend. Back to the drawing board.
     
    Last edited: Jan 3, 2014
    HD64G says thanks.
  12. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    I would imagine that only the immediate vicinity of the socket is at the measured socket temp, with stuff like RAM or NB being a bit cooler than that. But yeah, 105C sounds very extreme, one should back off way before that sort of temps are reached.
     
  13. HD64G

    HD64G

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    151 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    I got the idea. 1.2V is the sweet spot for stock clocks. And my friend has the same mobo. Thank you!
     
  14. Yellow&Nerdy?

    Yellow&Nerdy?

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2009
    Messages:
    387 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    But remember to tell him to test the stability very thoroughly before actually using the settings for daily use! My CPU ran small FFT's on Prime95 for hours @4.0GHz with 1.2V, but on blend I haven't gotten it stable yet. Currently at 1.225V. I've read on another forum where a guy got his FX 8320 stable at stock with 1.18V, it's all about the silicon lottery.
     
    HD64G says thanks.
  15. HD64G

    HD64G

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2011
    Messages:
    151 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    31
    Of course it will be tested. Thank you for the info.
     
  16. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
  17. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    iv had phenom IIs north of 65C OC'd and well over 70 stock you don't need to worrie about killing anything untill 80c the IMC dies at about 85c Iv tested it lol
     
    AphexDreamer says thanks.
  18. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    if its pushing 70c at stock you probably need better cooling
    I said I Have had them over 70c I didn't say it was a good idea
     
  19. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\

    Yeah but AMD OD is showing my thermal margin as being pretty safe AKA not in the danger zone. It will hit the DZ for like a sec then go back to 2+.

    But I'm not sure which source to trust.
     
  20. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    375 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    Trust AMD, the 3rd party programs don't know what to do with TCTL.

    [​IMG]
     
  21. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    TCLT is basicly a speed independent version of intels TJmax rating its essentially meaningless
    the higher the core speed the lower the temp threshhold
     
  22. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    So again still not sure what to go off of? My idle temps are at 40C on boot it was 32C. That sounding about normal? Playing Watch Dogs it goes to 52C max. OCCT did bring it to 77C though.
     
  23. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,657 (2.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,105
    Location:
    Rochester area
    idle and boot temps are meaningless stress test load != real load if you are worried about buy a better cooler if not let it be simple ...
     
  24. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,136 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    I don't think they are meaningless. I'm trying to see if I have it seated well to begin with which is what I'm worried about. And I'm trying to find out which source of Temp monitoring to trust because I've got three options to look at and can't come down to a definitive conclusion.
     
  25. damric

    damric

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2010
    Messages:
    375 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    96
    There are only 2 temperatures for AMD CPU/APU: socket temp and TCTL. Socket temp is a fair way to judge idle temperature, but is way off under heavy load. Only AOD interprets TCTL correctly by calling it thermal margin, and it is very accurate at load. You can test it yourself. If you get close to zero thermal margin, you will throttle. It works exactly as in the diagram. When people throw these 60'C-70'C temperatures around, you know they are measuring wrong because if you got that high on socket temp you would have already tripped the TCTL cutback due to hitting the thermal margin. If you think I, or AMD engineers are lying, test it yourself. I did.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page