1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FX 8350 Brick wall

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by RCoon, Nov 8, 2012.

  1. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    i have most of that crap disabled anyway, what about other voltages, multipliers etc?
     
  2. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    Ha! atleast you got over 4,6GHz. I got my 8320 yesterday, and with the same motherboard, I could not get the chip stable at 4,6GHz, even with a core voltage of 1,53V, the 7&8th core would produce errors almost instantly when running prime.

    I'm planning on returning it.
     
  3. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I heard they dont clock as high as 8350's in any case, though the funny thing with this 8350 is it requires less vcore for 4.7Ghz (1.45v) than my 6200 at 4.7GHZ (which wasnt 24/7 stable for p95, at 1.475v) guess this new gen is slightly better on the power consumption. I just kinda expected to be able to push it to 4.8Ghz and beyond without even breaking a sweat.
     
  4. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,712
    Early Adoption
     
  5. jihadjoe

    jihadjoe

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    392 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    100
    ^ I'd say good binning on AMD's part. 8320 silicone is identical to 8350, with clocks being the only differentiator. The best chips than can go past 4.2GHz are probably in the 8350 bin.

    Also Anand only got 4.8 out of his 8350, and I'd like to think he's fairly competent at this overclocking thing. 5GHz may well be the exception rather than the norm.
     
    qubit says thanks.
  6. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,683 (6.79/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,984
    Location:
    some AF base
    Probably just immature bios. Give it time clocks will climb.
     
  7. VulkanBros

    VulkanBros

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2005
    Messages:
    1,371 (0.38/day)
    Thanks Received:
    297
    Location:
    The Pico Mundo Grill
    Hmmm....I can run my 8150 stable at 4.7 GHz - at 1.46 v....(prime95)

    Diff. is my Sabertooth is a R2.0 ..... (and a Antec 920 cooler - see spec.)

    I should get my 8350 monday......will be fun to see if there is much diff. to the 8150.....
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Mathragh

    Mathragh

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2009
    Messages:
    1,103 (0.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    Location:
    The Netherlands
    3 times hurray for the 1k posts marker you just crossed!

    and yeah, its just the luck of draw i guess. My current 8120 is doing OK, but the 8320 i got was probably not made for overclockers/better as a 6 core.
     
  9. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,870 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    I think you should cut your losses and go Intel, as AMD is really crap nowadays - there's a reason that 8350 was cheap. As overclocking is quite important to you, I think you should get a 2600K or 2700K: my 2700K overclocks like a banshee and it's only getting started at 5GHz. I run it at 4.7GHz though, because I don't have watercooling and the CPU has to last a long time before I upgrade it. If you go Ivy Bridge, prepare to be limited by excess heat due to that silly thermal paste Intel used on them.

    I think this says it all, especially the highlighted bit:

     
  10. Aquinus

    Aquinus Resident Wat-man

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2012
    Messages:
    6,665 (6.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,323
    Location:
    Concord, NH
    Pretty sure that 1.3v for the IMC is way too much voltage for the 8350. I trust Cadaveca's answer considering he tests and reviews this stuff on a regular basis.
     
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Well considering i can run everything at 60fps or higher on the cpu at this stage along with my two 570's i see no point in spend £150 extra for frames my monitor wont show (it's a 60hz one), I'm merely trying to reach the full potential of the chip. I also happen to do heavy video encoding on Premiere CS6, so Piledriver is where it's at. Not to mention it can match the same performance in a select few tasks anyway.
    I tend to consider these things before buying a processor, and i certainly wouldnt buy an intel when theres an architecture upgrade coming from them very shortly, making the cpu and mobo purchase from intel a very short bridged upgrade.
     
  12. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,870 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    Ok, if it gives you enough performance for your daily tasks and you're reasonably happy with it, then stick with it. Your OP and further posts wer just talking about how unhappy you were with the overclock, so I was responding in that context.

    Intel trounces AMD in pretty much everything. So, Premiere CS6 is actually better on AMD? I'm surprised and a bit skeptical to be honest and would like to see a benchmark comparison, if you have one. A fair comparison would be with a 3770.

    Haswell is indeed coming out next year and you're right, it will be much better than IB. However, Intel haven't given any precise indications when it will be released, so I don't think you can consider it as "shortly", hence any Intel purchase now would be hedging your bets. Regardless, our hobby is an expensive one and it doesn't take much to make one want to upgrade! :D
     
  13. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    A fair comparison would be anything that is within the identical price range of the processor, i.e. bang for buck.
    Also all you have to do is check any tech review site to see the multithreaded performance of a piledriver in comparison to all others in software the utilises it. Sadly yes, the software is not there, very few program for multithreaded performance, but it is the future, regardless as to how far off. Even XMedia recode runs like shit off a shovel.

    EDIT: Just thought to clarify, i am comparing this CS6 Premiere performance with chips of the same price range, not the 3770k as it is almost twice the price, therefore they are not in the same price league.

    Before the 8350 came out, i was about to switch to a 3570k, then discovered i can meet my requirements for cheaper without changing the board!

    In a vaccuum and a perfect scenario, yes the 3770k is total baller champ at gaming etc, but sadly with my 24inch 60hz monitor the performance is almost pointless for the price :D
     
  14. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    You problem is heat related imo. Get those looped water coolers. FXs don't like heat. And wat ever you do don't go over 1.225v for the CPU-NB voltage or she will fry.
     
  15. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    check my specs, specifically the cooling section :D
     
  16. 3870x2

    3870x2

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,875 (1.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    689
    Location:
    Joplin, Mo
    He has an H80.

    My 945 is 23/35c load on 3.6. The H80 is more than sufficient, and is a leader in single component watercooling.

    If temps were the only issue here, he could go close to 7.0. I wish it were that easy. Cooling is never the problem when trying to get clocks immediately unless there is an issue with your system. Cooling is more the long term solution.
     
  17. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    I am curious. With my current setup, is the 850w power supply sufficient for all of this clocking? all the hardware i have in, both gpus are at 1.0v, though i always assumed 850w was reasonable for a processor and 2 gpu overclocks, with the added internal extras, cooling, hdds etc.
     
  18. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,712
    depends on the make of PSU actually.
     
  19. qubit

    qubit Overclocked quantum bit

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2007
    Messages:
    9,870 (3.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,498
    Location:
    Quantum well (UK)
    You raise a good point there: performance at the price. Really, this question can be looked at two ways and they're both valid. Intel's equivalent design to the 8350 is the 3770, so it's fair to compare them and we know that Intel wins and it all gets a bit depressing for AMD. However, the AMD CPU is priced much lower, competing with Intel chips much lower down the range (I don't know which model off the top of my head) so that's a fair comparison too.

    I'd say you made a sound choice, considering all the variables eg cost, mobo change etc. So, my advice? Don't push that chip too hard and go for longevity to get your money's worth. Then, when Haswell comes out, you can upgrade at your leisure.
     
    RCoon says thanks.
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,377 (4.95/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,712
    ya Major corps go with the cheaper priced chips most of time
     
  21. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    That was pretty much what i was hoping for :D fully intending to switch to intel once this chip has seen its better days, 1 year maybe 2 years down the line, then make the graphics switch over from nvidia to ati (their drivers and card value seems to be doing really well recently). Then again it's always switching game, will just have to see how IVB-E and ati 8XXX series turns out, i know nvidia 7XX is just a refresh from the tech releases.

    I dont even know what IVB processors you can get for £150/$190, not sure i'd want to know :D And yeah, I think I'll roll with my 4.7Ghz for now. Much appreciated debate! :toast:
     
    qubit says thanks.
  22. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
  23. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    388 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I have a similar experience. I was able to boot with 4.8GHZ but it bluw screened and was not stable. I dropped down to 4.4 GHZ. I haveFX-8350, GSkill DDR 3 2133 running at 1866 and an H100 cooler. MY cpu voltasge 1.40 v , north bridge-cpu at 1.275 v.
     
  24. RCoon

    RCoon Gaming Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7,730 (8.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,844
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    Did you not even reach 4.6Ghz? Mine is still at 4.7 stable, i would think with a voltage increase you will more than easily be able to hit 4.6 stable.
     
  25. os2wiz

    os2wiz

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    388 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    83
    Location:
    Brooklyn, New York
    I find that very unlikely. Raja from Asus ROG tech support who is the absolute guru on Crosshair motherboards said 1.30 volts is the limit for cpu-nb. Of course this guy has a Sabertooth but it is the same chipset and mosty likely the same settings limits as Crosshairs. I have never set my CPU-NB clock that low and I have never fried my chip.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page