1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FX Turbo Core Technology Bumps Frequency by 1.00 GHz

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Jun 14, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,708 (11.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,669
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    With Intel's introduction of Turbo Boost technology, a new feature was introduced to the industry, where a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads. AMD quickly followed with its own similar feature, called Turbo Core, with Phenom II X6. With the company's upcoming high-end client FX-series processors, that technology is being given an update. On the FX-series processors, the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom.

    A company slide reveals that FX-series processors can run all cores at nominal speeds (advertised speeds), all cores at a bumped "Turbo" state, or with half the number of cores running at max turbo speeds with up to 1.00 GHz (5.0x BClk multiplier) increase in clock speeds, with the other half the number of cores in C6 state, completely shut off. Turbo Core ensures increased performance in applications that are designed to work with lesser number of cores, most games come in this category.

    [​IMG]

    Source: DonanimHaber
     
    xBruce88x and Damn_Smooth say thanks.
  2. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Where are my chips AMD?
     
  3. AphexDreamer

    AphexDreamer

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2007
    Messages:
    7,134 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    917
    Location:
    C:\Program Files (x86)\Aphexdreamer\
    This seems like something they could have done a while back?

    I suppose now that its automated that's a bit nice.
     
  4. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    What this is is that Turbo core now works exactly like Intel's Turbo Boost.
     
  5. MikeMurphy

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2005
    Messages:
    383 (0.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    52
    I'm hoping these aggressive turbo speeds reflect additional overclocking headroom!

    Please and thanks :)
     
  6. Wyverex

    Wyverex

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    282 (0.15/day)
    Thanks Received:
    80
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    No, not really.
    Intel's Turbo Boost can't OC all the cores at the same time, this can.

    From your mouth to the ears of gods of hardware :D
     
  7. LifeOnMars

    LifeOnMars New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2,566 (1.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    396
    Location:
    Kettering,Northants. UK
    Are you sure about that ;)
     
  8. Crap Daddy

    Crap Daddy

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    2,744 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,046
    Intel's turbo on SB can overclock all cores albeit with only 100MHz.
     
  9. buggalugs

    buggalugs

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2008
    Messages:
    947 (0.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    152
    Location:
    Australia
    I'm guessing these turbo speeds will only be possible with a default CPU speed.

    Thats fine by me. Running your CPU at 100% all the time with high voltage is dead......energy efficiency and dynamic overclocking is the future!!
     
  10. redzo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    @btarunr, this article is misleading and wrong!
    No manufacturer is ever going to sell a product guaranteed to function properly beyond its specifications! That's because reliable operation cannot be accomplished under this scenario.

    You've started with:
    "a processor overclocks itself in short bursts to handle increased CPU loads". That's true. It means overclocking.

    Then you've contradicted yourself with:
    "the technology is designed to bump clock speeds by as much as 1.00 GHz over the processor's advertised clock speed, within the processor's TDP headroom".
    "within the processor's TDP headroom", this IS NOT overclocking.

    The slide is also misleading because it fails to specify the manufacturer's TDP headroom for the "MAX turbo" state, as it doesn't specify that also for the other two states. I believe that's from where you've got the entire article wrong. The slide(proof) is just unprofessional.

    You should edit this article.
     
  11. Fatal

    Fatal

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2009
    Messages:
    732 (0.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    120
    Location:
    Golden, Colorado
    Me too :laugh: they need to hurry the hell up! Thanks for the info btarunr :toast:
     
  12. Nesters New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2010
    Messages:
    121 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    27
    I think it's pretty good if you can get 8-core FX @ 3.2ghz stock and use all 8 cores if you need them or use 4 cores @ 4.2ghz for games and stuff like that without manual OC.
    Should raise the performance bar for 'normal' PC users who don't OC. Intel already does that but it's good to see it from AMD too, and don't forget about extra 4 cores.
     
  13. bucketface

    bucketface New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2010
    Messages:
    142 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    19
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    overclocking is still technically withing tdp, suicide runs on the other hand go beyond.. at least thats how i understand it.
     
  14. KRONOSFX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Crap Daddy: 100Mhz compared to 1Ghz makes for a big difference. I am comparing SB 2600K and BD 4-modul(8 thread), both of them have the same number of threads so while SB2600K gets just a small 100Mhz jump the AMD model will get a boost of 1Ghz while still using the same number of threads, which is 4 in this case.

    P.S. I am not sure if turbo in SB 2600K works if HT is in use? on the other hand AMD still gives +500Mhz boost when using all 8 threads.
     
  15. Imsochobo New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2009
    Messages:
    514 (0.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    35
    Location:
    I live in Norway, in the province Buskerud.
    well its pretty much like this but amd have taken it one step further.
    and C6 turning off cores alltogether is pretty impressive.
     
  16. KRONOSFX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    25 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    ImsochoboI think they did a really great job this time.
     
    Imsochobo says thanks.
  17. _JP_

    _JP_

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2010
    Messages:
    2,684 (1.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    738
    Location:
    Portugal
    Agreed. Stop teasing damn it!
     
  18. b82rez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2010
    Messages:
    134 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Hobart, Australia
    Subbing just to see Btarunr's ownage reply. :laugh:
     
  19. Bo$$

    Bo$$ Lab Extraordinaire

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    5,315 (2.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    867
    Location:
    London, UK
    it is displaying 16 cores hint hint :p
     
  20. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.35/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    Bumping all the cores up 1Ghz will simply exceed the TDP of the chip, and so will 500Mhz.
    With all 8-cores active it can bump up by maybe 1-multi which is 200Mhz at most.

    Remember that this chip must be absolutely stable under AMD's stock cooling, and that is what the TDP is all about.
    Many of these chips are going into factory pre-builds which runs on minimal cooling.
     
    Last edited: Jun 14, 2011
  21. Play3r New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2009
    Messages:
    241 (0.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    18
    Location:
    Perth, Australia
    It is overclocking by the fact that it shuts off half of the cores and boosts the other half so obviously its not going to be over the TDP of the whole processor. the cores by the selves are going over the individual spec of each core but not over the spec over the entire processor

    "all cores at a bumped "Turbo" state, or with half the number of cores running at max turbo speeds with up to 1.00 GHz (5.0x BClk multiplier) increase in clock speeds, with the other half the number of cores in C6 state, completely shut off"
     
  22. redzo New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2009
    Messages:
    5 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    No. The fist half of the article is completely unprofessional and wrong.

    Intel Turbo Boost is not an overclocking feature. AMD Turbo Core is not an overclocking feature. Yet that's what this quote says. As long as you do not exceed the manufacturer's specified TDP, you do not overclock. A CPU does not overclock by itself and there is no feature like this and there will never be one. Is it that hard to understand?
    I'm really not that type of an individual. I do not require a special type of attention. I hope that you've got the point of my first quote. :laugh: ^2
     
  23. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland

    Frequency bump = overclock; regardless of whether it stays within the TDP or not. You don't get to define what an overclock is and isn't.

    Apart from that. Can't wait till these hit the reviewer's desks. :toast:
     
  24. cheesy999

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2010
    Messages:
    3,919 (2.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    581
    Location:
    UK
    an overclock is operating a part outside the manufacturer rated frequency, if the manufacture is making it do these frequency its not an overclock, just an upclock

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Overclocking

    its not running it at a higher clock speed then it was designed or specified for as the manufacture designed and specified these to go up to 1ghz higher on demand

    its less of an overclock, more just 'speed-step' and 'cool and quiet' in reverse (clock speed and voltage increase instead of decrease)

    AS you said GUMPTY, we don't get to define a word, but we don't need to, as its already been done
     
    gumpty says thanks.
  25. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    Yeah, quite right. But surely TDP is irrelevant to the bounds of a theoretical overclock, which I thought was what Redzo was insinuating.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page