1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FX6300 cooler

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by craigo, May 6, 2013.

  1. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    666 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Australia
    I just recieved a shiny new fx6300 to upgrade my amd machine (from an athlonII x3 cpu)
    The included cooler is terrible. So much for bang for buck, The cooler that ships with this cpu is of poor quality, i do not expect it to perform well enough and is also noisy. I have the worst case of buyers remorse right now.. how can AMD package such a poor solution with an FX cpu i thought FX was the flagship product. the inclusion of such poor cooling destroys the better value arguement for this chip as now i have to put up with a noisy woeful cooling solution until i spend money on something aftermarket which puts this total spend well into intel money territory.
    Screw you Sanders...last AMD box ever..
     
  2. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,899 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,307
    Did you get the all aluminum cooler or the one with the heatpipe? AMD really hasn't changed the type of cooler they've sent with their processors since s754 came out.

    Same with Intel, they're coolers are just round instead of rectangular. There should be no reason for buyers remorse. ;)
     
  3. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,476 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    look at Cooler Master or Scythe, Noctua, Swiftech, Thermal Take, xigmatek.


    Intels coolers arent any better, for you to bash AMD based upon that is very stupid.:slap:

     
  4. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    Cooler Master Hyper 212 ($30)or Xigmatek Gaia ($20) are both cheap and more cooling then you need...
     
  5. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,899 (13.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    14,307
    I'm just not sure if he's asking for advice on a different cooler or not? Those two coolers are thee way to go for their price/performance though.
     
  6. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,933 (1.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    475
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
    I'm not sure either....but I can say that the cooler that came with my I5-3570 was a joke as well...It wasn't even good enough for the 3570 under full load.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  7. Zubasa

    Zubasa

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    3,980 (1.34/day)
    Thanks Received:
    457
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    You do know that a one point in time the "Flagship" chips comes with no cooler at all? ;)
    Because they don't expect people to use them.

    On top of that pretty much all stock coolers from CPUs are crap.
    By the way the stock coolers are 4-pin PWM fans meaning you can have fan speed control form just about any motherboard.
     
  8. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Rochester area
    so wait buying a hyper 212 or a hyper 412 puts it into Intel money territory ?
    not sure if lolmad
    or
    talking out his ass
    a 6 core i7 starts at 300 USA pretty sure that the hyper 212 can be had for like ~15 usd
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  9. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    666 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Australia
    AMD have inluded much better coolers since socket 754 era gear.
    The cooler packaged with my FX chip is similar to what is included with current sempron cpu`s.
    I was expecting glorious heatpipes, but alas this is not the case.
    my options at the moment are:

    1. Ghetto mount a scythe ninja which i have no mounting hardware for to a brand new system.

    2. Ghetto mount a zalman cnps9500 which i have only 1366 mounting hardware for to a brand new system.

    3. Hope that a kindly TPU`er who is using supirior intel parts in thier system can spare the AMD mounts from the Ninja or Zalman coolers they are using and hook me up....:respect:
     
  10. okidna

    okidna

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2012
    Messages:
    474 (0.45/day)
    Thanks Received:
    351
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I bet he got the standard alumunium cooler.

    AFAIK, all AMD processors with 100W TDP or under 100W are shipped with alumunium cooler.
    Over 100W then you'll get the one with the heatpipes.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  11. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    3,904 (2.30/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,254
    Location:
    Rochester area
    both coolers are shit either way but if you wanna getto mount the ninja thats easy enough todo the "amd" mount for that cooler is just a set of screws that go right into the back plate no grommets or washers just bolts though grab some long machine screws that will thread into the stock backplate
    *Optional add some washers,nuts and rubber grommets between bothsides of the PCB I did that on mine because I don't like the way it mounts
    optionally you can use a ziptie to help support it as its a top heavy SOB
     
  12. james888

    james888

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2011
    Messages:
    4,667 (3.73/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,879
    My old athlon 2300+ stock cooler had no heatpipes and is slighly bigger than my stock intel coolers. Neither do a good job. I have a $5 zalman just better than stock cooler than is soo much quieter but is basically the same design as stock.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  13. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Heres the cooler that came with my FX 4130

    [​IMG]

    Heres the cooler that came with my FX 6300 which replaced the 4130

    [​IMG]

    I purchased the CM Hyper 212 for $20 putting my FX 6300 at $140 total cost.

    The stock coolers suck and are LOUD lol

    Funny how the cooler for the 4130 had the heat pipes and the 6300 was the tiny one haha
     
  14. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    666 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Australia
    yeah the first pic is what i had in mind when i ordered the parts
    the second pic is kinda what i got but i didnt get a red fan with a cool hologram only a black pwm with no sticker...its loud at any speed
     
  15. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,923 (2.05/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,601
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Honestly, the Intel stock coolers aren't that terrible. They have a larger, quieter fan and Ivy Bridge CPUs don't dissipate as much heat under full load or consume nearly as much energy as their predecessors (although they are hindered by the TIM and smaller die size which people seem to misunderstand as the CPU releasing more heat, and then they are like omg Ivy Bridge sux). I overclocked my second i7-3770K to 4.3GHz/1.18v on the stock cooler for 2 months under 100% load, and the MOSFET heatsinks on my ASRock Z77 Pro4-M were hotter than the stock cooler. I've run a Hyper TX3 ever since and the CPU still runs around the same temperature as my other 3770K under a TT Water 2.0 Performer.

    AMD coolers, even back in the 939 days, have always annoyed the f**k out of me. Typical fan speed when doing anything are like 4000-6000 RPM on the dinky little 70mm fan, and the annoyingness can vary with the board as well. I don't know why they still believe that a 70mm fan works well with a 125w TDP chip, but whatever. The Sempron cooler seems to be one of the quieter ones for me, though.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  16. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    666 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    72
    Location:
    Australia
    i just took some pics but i cannot upload them from my andriod phone with the app or if i go to the site with chrome... first the cooler, now this. first world problems.
     
  17. Melvis

    Melvis

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2008
    Messages:
    3,593 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    529
    Location:
    Australia
    I am surprised that they ship without the heatpipe cooler as the heatpipe cooler is very good and keeps even this 8350 at 60c or below. Id expect it with any of the higher end models.

    I hear your pain I ordered the A10-5800k APU and was expecting the heatpipe cooler for it to but nope came with the crappy little thing that was indeed load and couldn't keep the CPU under 60c, it would peak up at closer to 80c, was insane.

    Maybe email AMD? and have a word with them? they might send you a heatpipe cooler maybe? just a thought.
     
  18. McSteel

    McSteel

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2012
    Messages:
    632 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    305
    One thing I've learned over the years is that the heatpipe box cooler is extremely sensitive and prone to dust buildup. And really, the AVC 2BB fans AMD keeps using have the most annoying noise profile ever. Not that the old Deltas were any better... How about going with Nidec or NMB-MAT, AMD?
     
  19. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,363 (2.90/day)
    Thanks Received:
    906
    I use the Hyper 212 from coolermaster and it's plenty strong. My FX6300 doesn't go over 40*C, even clocked at 4ghz.
     
    eidairaman1 says thanks.
  20. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,476 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760
    High Five:toast:. Stock is Stock is Stock- Meant to get the machine running, not Overclocking :roll:
     
  21. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    How on earth do you keep your temps so low under a load?

    Mine will go up to 50-52C running OCCT or Prime95

    Gaming it will run around 45-50 depending on ambient temp and the game being played.

    It idles from 29-37 depending on the indoor ambient air temp.
     
  22. eidairaman1

    eidairaman1

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2007
    Messages:
    13,476 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,760

    build quality of chip, Volt Regulation levels, cooling, thermal compound and ambient room temperature are all key. The cooler the room the better
     
  23. TRWOV

    TRWOV

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Messages:
    3,651 (3.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,235
    Location:
    Mexico
    Intel stock coolers are pretty quiet, on the other hand AMD fans have a very high pitch (like a hairdryer) and sound annoying. I have an Athlon II X4 620 with the heat-pipe cooler (from my 965BE) and it's loud even at 50%.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU
  24. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Yeah.

    Arctic Silver 5 and it's OC'd at 4.2 at 1.3V max.

    I guess I shouldn't worry as my temps are well below the danger zone.
     
  25. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    20,135 (6.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,195
    It is because AMD's fans on their coolers are smaller than Intel's. Intels fans are ~100mm, AMD's are ~60mm. But even Intel's coolers are still pretty cheesy compared to what they used to be, and they do get loud if you put the chip under load for a while.

    I wish AMD and Intel would go back to selling chips without the stock heatsink for $5-10 cheaper, because both stock solution sucks, so I'm always buying an aftermarket cooler.
     
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page