1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

FX6300 cooler

Discussion in 'Overclocking & Cooling' started by craigo, May 6, 2013.

  1. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    they can't really do that as the OEM's need a solution
    or would you rather go back to the days when every Off the shelf Walmart machine had some barely adequate pos
  2. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    OEMs don't get coolers from AMD or Intel. They by tray processors and supply their own coolers.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  3. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    No idea. I have the hyper 212 with Tuniq TX2 thermal paste. Just observed 41*C while playing starcraft. Running 1.3v and 4ghz.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    That isn't what we mean when we say load. Load is 100% load for an extended period of time, generally using something like Prime95 or OCCT.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  5. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    pretty sure the "stock cooler in the box" is the one thats on 90% of all dells and Hp's I have seen they may not get the coolers directly from amd or intel but there they same model
  6. jmcslob

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,887 (1.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    452
    Location:
    Internet Heaven
  7. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
  8. Hood

    Hood

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2012
    Messages:
    800 (1.20/day)
    Thanks Received:
    243
    Intel i5-2500K & 3570K coolers have a heavy disk of copper over the heat spreader that looks & feels substantial, but the fan is a joke. It rarely gets noisy because of it's low RPM, and CFM feels like about 20 at top speed. I was going to use the fan for something else until I saw how useless it was - now I have a matching pair of paperweights...
    jmcslob says thanks.
  9. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I am fully aware that full load is Prime 95, I have kinda been around for a while, not exactly a noob.

    Fact remains that I never said "Under Load" because I don't use Prime 95 when I am using the turbo clocks of the chip. Now if I were pushing over 4.5ghz, yeah, I might be using it and your argument would be valid. In my use, which is web browsing and gaming, I hover right around 40*C.
    Last edited: May 7, 2013
  10. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    i just ordered the Hyper 212 EVO. it should be good
  11. RCoon

    RCoon Forum Gypsy

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2012
    Messages:
    6,469 (7.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,849
    Location:
    Gypsyland, UK
    My server is on a Hyper 212 Evo with 1 fan idling at 31 degrees. Second fan should be arriving soon.
  12. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Nope, in fact the ones Dell uses are a little better than the Intel model. Dell's uses bolt thru mounting instead of the push pins. They usually look very similar but they don't get them from Intel or AMD, and even if they did the coolers would be bought separate from the processors, because OEMs don't buy boxed processors. So there's no issue with selling just the processor at a lower rate.

    You never said under load, but you implied it. When you say your processor never goes over 40°C, it implies under load, otherwise that is a completely pointless statement. Anyone that has "been around for a while" would know that. Which is exactly why the follow up question of how my manage to keep your processor that cool under load with Prime95/OCCT was asked, because when someone makes a statement like you did it is assumed to be under load.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  13. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,791 (2.12/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,490
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    Beware that your fan's sleeve bearing will probably start wobbling within a year. I own a couple Hyper 212 EVOs and they all have replacement fans now. :shadedshu
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  14. OneMoar

    OneMoar

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2010
    Messages:
    2,877 (1.84/day)
    Thanks Received:
    614
    Location:
    Rochester area
    this is why my all the fans in my case get oil every 3 months
  15. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Yep, I do the same. I oil all my fans every time I dust out the computer. Though sometimes I stretch it out to 6-months.

    And the first time I oil the fan I pop that little retainer off so that the blades pull of easily from the front of the fan so I don't have to keep pulling the back sticker off.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  16. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    I don't know what your problem is, but I am trying to be civil since this is TPU and not GN. You are acting like the ideas in your head are absolute truth and anyone else is just wrong. Basically, you're acting like an arrogant dick. I don't imply anything, if it wasn't clear, don't assume anything, just ask me if it was under a 100% load.
  17. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,698 (6.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,861
    Some one did ask you, they specifically said how do you do it under load, and your response was you have no idea and then went on to say the temps you reported were in a game.

    That is specifically why I said what is expected when people say "load".

    You responded to a question about load temps with temps that aren't load temps, that is why I corrected you, get over it.
    Crunching for Team TPU 50 Million points folded for TPU
  18. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947
    yes, i did hear that problem. but it performs great, and i can allways get some deepcool iceblades to replace :D
  19. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,501 (5.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,947

    be careful when using the fan as an intake. that keeps the blades at the same level with the frame. pop it out and the blades will scrap with the chassis once you mount the fan.
  20. JC316

    JC316 Knows what makes you tick

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Messages:
    9,362 (3.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    903
    Again, an assumption, he stated that he hits 50*C while gaming and I noted that I hit 41*C in Starcraft.
    Last edited by a moderator: May 8, 2013
  21. Lazermonkey

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2013
    Messages:
    318 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    Location:
    Central Illinois
    Come on guys.. no need to drop the F-bomb over a simple discussion like this.

    JC316, I was under the impression "under load" meant stressing the CPU 100%

    Either way, those are good temps.

    Can we all get along now? :)
    blibba says thanks.
  22. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    This is some kind of stupid joke correct? AMD and Intel sell CPU's with a basic cooling system in the box. Something designed to handle the OEM TDP of the CPU. It does that and it does that just fine. You also did not purchase a flagship CPU you purchased a midrange unit thats why there is an entire series above the one you have. Just because it says FX on it doesn't make it the best AMD sells that name replaced Phenom. Do some research before complaining about something that was well known.
  23. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    651 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    No, I Purchased a flagship unlocked multi Zambezi cpu with FX branding
    after much research, what i expected was the sweet spot for performance and overclocking headroom. the cpu delivers.
    Unfortunatley, in error i also came to expect a capable well crafted heatpipe cooler.
    It was the emission of the quality cooler in favour of a poorly executed aluminium unit that was packaged with my new CPU resulted in my disappointment.
  24. cdawall where the hell are my stars

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    20,648 (7.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2,971
    Location:
    some AF base
    No you purchased a midrange FX chip. Notice how you lack two whole cores? Notice how its only a 95w CPU? Notice how it ships with a terrible little aluminum sink that came with the tri core Rana based chips? Notice how it comes in a plain jane white box instead of the aluminum tin the high end ones come in?

    Buy a high end 125w chip get a high end heatpipe cooler. Same recipe AMD has had since phenom's came out.
    RCoon and okidna say thanks.
  25. craigo

    craigo

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2006
    Messages:
    651 (0.22/day)
    Thanks Received:
    61
    Location:
    Australia
    The FX6300 came with the same heatsink suplied with sempron 140 cpu`s

    AM3 FX > AthlonII > Sempron

    The flagship Architecture cpu that ships with the same cooler as the base model, I feel is reason enough to be dis-satisfied.

    This is my OPINION and personal perception of value. your milage may vary:)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)

Share This Page