1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

G.Skill 2GBNQ mem timings with P5N-E SLI 650 help!

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by allstar21369, Feb 9, 2008.

  1. allstar21369 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2008
    Messages:
    1 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I puchased new PC parts from newegg a few months ago and I have been having some serious problems setting my BIOS settings for my memory and proc.

    MoBo is ASUS - P5N-E SLI 650 SLI Nvidia Nforce - FSB: 1333/1066 MHz - Memory: Slots: 4 x 240 pin, DDR2 800

    RAM is G.Skill F2-6400CL5D-2GBNQ - Cas Latency 5 - Timings: 5-5-5-15 - Voltage: 1.8-2.0v

    Processor is Conroe Core 2 Duo - BX80557E6750 - 2.66GHz - FSB: 1333MHz - L2 Cache: 4M Shared - Voltage: .85V - 1.5V

    I've read that many people with my mobo have to set the memory timings manually for this particular ram/mobo combo but I am not familiar with FSB, timings, etc. to do it all myself. I've searched forums and such but I can't seem to find the right settings.

    Below is a list of the settings in my BIOS at their current state but I am not sure which ones are right and which ones aren't. I've searched forums and such to get most of them. I am especially unsure of what to set the FSB, Frequencies, Voltages, and mem timings to but I was hoping that someone with more knowledge of this sort of thing can assist me.

    Jumper Free Configuration
    AI Tuning: Manual
    NB PCI Freq: 100
    VControl:
    VCore Volt: Auto
    Mem Volt: 1.920v (I raised this slightly)
    NB Core Volt: 1.393v (I raised this as well)
    Vcore Offset Volt: Auto​
    FSB & Memory Config:
    FSB - Memory Clock Mode: Linked
    FSB - Memroy Ratio: Auto
    FSB (QDR) MHz: 1333 (I didn't change this)
    -Actual FSB (QDR) MHz: 1333.3
    Mem (DDR) MHz: Linked
    -Actual Mem (DDR) MHz: 800.0
    CPU Configuration
    CPU Type: Intel Core 2 Duo CPU
    CPU Speed: 2.66 GHz
    Cache RAM: 4096k
    CPU Multiplier: 8 (I think this is safe where it is)

    Chipset
    Memory Timing Setting
    tCL (Cas Latency): 4
    tRCD: 4
    tRP: 4
    tRAS: 12
    Command Per Clock (CMD): 2T
    (Advanced Memory Settings)
    tRRD: 2
    tRC: 3
    tWR: 5
    tWTR: 7
    tREF: 1
    tRD: 5
    tRFC: 42
    ASync Latency: 2​

    I know that's a lot of information but I'm not sure what to change and what to leave alone. As far as FSB goes I'm not sure how any of that works but I hate the idea i'm bottlenecking my processor. The timings for my memory usually say 5-5-5-15 but there are the advanced settings which I rarely see mentioned. Also, I currently have the timings set to 4-4-4-12 as I've noticed many people have done but have no idea if I need to raise a FSB setting or a voltage setting somewhere with it (and how safe it even is). Thanks for any help.

    Also, I have Vista Ultimate 64 bit, a geforce 7950gt 512mb, audigy sb soundcard, and a 750watt thermaltake power supply.
  2. Garylben New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    Did you ever figure out what the settings should be? I have a nearly identical setup, which was working fine until the MoBo went out. After repair by ASUS the ROM was reset to default settings and I've been having problems. My original vendor (CyberpowerPC) had helped me with some settings originally, which I managed to forget. The settings I got today don't seem to do the job. I periodically black out, go to POST and reboot. I believe it's a memory issue, and that is the setting Cyberpower had me adjust. What luck have you had?
  3. sneekypeet

    sneekypeet Unpaid Babysitter Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    21,457 (7.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,968
    tCL (Cas Latency): 4
    tRCD: 4
    tRP: 4
    tRAS: 12

    Change those timings to 5-5-5-15 in the same order. that will put the ram in spec.

    Voltage depends, some take 1.8 to do so, some take a bit more, I'd leave the 1.92V and try it out. The ram divider is good for the speed of the ram.

    You can run them 4-4-4-12 but be sure they are stable by running memtest 86+. Bad ram timings will lead to all sorts of issues down the line if the ram isnt stable.
    Garylben says thanks.
  4. Ketxxx

    Ketxxx Heedless Psychic

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2006
    Messages:
    11,510 (3.77/day)
    Thanks Received:
    570
    Location:
    Kingdom of gods
    Change values in your BIOS to the things I've highlighted in bold. You may need to change advanced timings, but we will worry about that if you still get stability problems.
    Garylben says thanks.
  5. Garylben New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2009
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    0
    I'll make the changes on my next reboot, and see how things go. Thanks very much!

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page