1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

G.Skill Starts Offering 8GB and 16GB DDR2-800 Memory Kits

Discussion in 'News' started by malware, Mar 20, 2008.

  1. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    That's a very good point ewart. I just did a quick search on the intel website, and the 975, p35 and x38 chipsets only support 8gb's, and the nvidia 680i/780i are the same.

    EDIT: even intel's skulltrail (x48 chipset) only supports 8GB's :wtf:
  2. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Any high end gaming board should support 16, I would imagine.
  3. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    ^ See my post above
  4. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    Well, I wasn't talking about crap intel boards. Their shitty mem controllers really dictates that :laugh: I guess I should've specified AM2 boards :cool:
  5. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Do yourself a favor and use the edit button. Don't start a fanboy flamewar.
  6. TheGuruStud

    TheGuruStud

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,592 (0.66/day)
    Thanks Received:
    160
    Location:
    Police/Nanny State of America
    They suck in comparison regardless of who makes them. Blame nvidia or intel or everyone for all I care. It's a poorer design due to intel's choices on CPU arch. Don't get made at me.
    And for some reason they always seem to have bugs and what not. Especially those low end ones that go into OEM crap.
  7. Polaris573

    Polaris573 Senior Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2005
    Messages:
    4,279 (1.28/day)
    Thanks Received:
    709
    Location:
    Little Rock, USA
    Everyone please stay calm and on topic.
  8. infrared New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2005
    Messages:
    3,307 (1.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    183
    Location:
    Southampton, UK
    Ahh, yes. Had a quick look on Gigabyte's site quick and yeah... looks like all AM2 boards support 16GB's.
  9. WarEagleAU

    WarEagleAU Bird of Prey

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,796 (3.80/day)
    Thanks Received:
    545
    Location:
    Gurley, AL
    yeah my new Gigabyte MA 790X board supports it (came in today!!!!). However, I doubt Ill be getting 16gbs soon. I reckon the price on these will go for about 350 to 400??
  10. ewart New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2008
    Messages:
    2 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    limited by cpu options

    Unfortunately I will be limited to buying the fastest CPU's available, which at present restricts me to an Intel platform, although a list with both Intel and AMD supported boards would be worth having. I wonder if there are any Intel boards available yet? .. or when the 4gb DDR 2 modules will actually be available?

    cheers
  11. phanbuey

    phanbuey

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2007
    Messages:
    5,198 (2.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    973
    Location:
    Miami
    ahahahahaha :toast: (most useless post ever, but i had to.)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page