1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

G.skill TridentX to RMA or not

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by erixx, Dec 10, 2012.

  1. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,248 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    G.skill TridentX: 2400 Mhz is for Ivy processors

    (Changed title to give a better description of the subject)

    ... for a second time :(

    Today I received my second kit after returning the first one, that gave me constant Memtest and AIDA test errors.

    It's 18 GB (2x8) of 2400 Mhz Trident X ram (10-12-12-31, 1,65v)

    So today, before installing it on my main rig I clicked it into another computer and had to run them at 1600 Mhz. But 4x complete Memtest gave zero errors.

    Then I installed them on my main rig, at 2133 Mhz (maximum for Sandy Bridge) (9-12-12-31-2CR, 1,65v) and got a fantastic AIDA Memory and Cache benchmark of 23230 MB/s read and latency of 39 ns.

    Then I did the AIDA stress test, including memory stress. Red warning and test abortion after a few seconds!!!!

    Am I missing something here or is this just another case for RMA? :twitch: Thx!
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2012
  2. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,502 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Would presume that 2400 C10 ram would work at 2133 C9. Did you verify the 1.65v?
    erixx says thanks.
  3. Wrigleyvillain

    Wrigleyvillain PTFO or GTFO

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2007
    Messages:
    7,648 (3.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,765
    Location:
    Chicago
    So the AIDA stress is the only one causing the error? What about SuperPi 32M and P95 Blend?
    erixx says thanks.
  4. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,248 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    tested again with timing changed from 9 to 10.

    1,65 V. In BIOS it always is monitored as 1,665 v but I have it set to 1,65

    As I am working I cannot perform other tests now. Thanks!
  5. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    i would start suspecting the motherboard if i were you. do you have a friend on whose pc you can try them on?
  6. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    My 2600K wouldn't do 2133 even with 2 sticks but my 3770K does with 4. Try the 1866 multi and increase your BCLK to see if they run alright at ~1950MHz. Just because the multiplier is there doesn't mean the chip can do it. Never had a problem with any G.Skill modules and if they are coming back from RMA "bad" then your system might be the issue here.
    erixx says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  7. Sasqui

    Sasqui

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2005
    Messages:
    7,502 (2.37/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,314
    Location:
    Manchester, NH
    Or the IMC, seeing as the CPU is clocked at 4.4Ghz?
  8. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    The problem is your CPU. Those sticks are meant for Z77 and IVB, not SB. Says so right on the product page:

    http://www.gskill.com/products.php?index=513


    I don't suggest RMA. Try 1866 10-11-10, maybe tighter.
    erixx says thanks.
  9. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,248 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    OKAY! THANKS! I wanted to duly test theses sticks before giving them tomorrow ( :) ) too the i7 3770K when it arrives... I understood (well, read somewhere, that Sandy bridge i5-2600K woudl run them, and run them well, on 2133 Mhz.... Always learning something new! Rebooting now! yeahaa!
  10. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    If you got IVB coming, wait until you get that chip in at least, for sure. Sometimes using SB, even 2x4 GB @ 2133 MHz can be a problem.
    Jstn7477 says thanks.
  11. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,248 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Ok, set it to what you said Dave. And it is passing the tests, just waiting a little more, but no error messages. Latency is a bit worse now, Read speed okay. Didn't know I was pushing my SB and pushing it hard! Thanks a lot, again!
  12. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    13,774 (4.54/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6,858
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    You can always try tightening the timings, too. You might get 9-10-9, or maybe even 9-9-9 or 8-9-9...play a bit. :p Secondaries could probably use a tweak or two as well, although if left on auto they do tend to scale fairly well wit hthe Extreme.
    erixx says thanks.
  13. de.das.dude

    de.das.dude Pro Indian Modder

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    7,521 (4.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,951
    i dont have any experience with intels :p
  14. Jstn7477

    Jstn7477

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2009
    Messages:
    3,797 (2.11/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,493
    Location:
    Sarasota, Florida, USA
    I agree with Cadaveca on this. My 3770K can actually run my 4x4 Gskill Ripjaws 2133 CL11 kits at their rated speed and timings when my 2600K couldn't even handle one set of them on the 2133 multi (the system had really subtle instability at that speed). Ended up buying a 2x8 Sniper 1866 kit for my 2600K system when I retired it as my main computer and moved it to the office for crunching.
    erixx says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU More than 25k PPD
  15. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,248 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    As a matter of conclusion (for me at least) I can tell that now, with the new Ivy chip, the 3770(k) and the Z77 chipset of the MVE, these G.skill Trident X 2400 run like wild horses with everything at max specs, even command rate 1. Getting good results too.

    I did some movie formating and BF3 and it is beautiful seeing all "8" CPU gauges at 100% in my Aida64.

    And i just can't feel any lagging anywhere in BF3 or FC3, it is so smooth it is like a movie.

    I set the processor to 44x, offset of 0,025, and i get 0.84v for idle at 1600 Mhz, and 1.128 at 4400 Mhz. Temps, idle just the same as the i5, around 30ºC, and loading quickly goes up to 60 and slowly climbs up to 70ºC max. that is about 10ºC more than the i5 (not 20ºC as some reported) , but runs with less voltage, runs just better and eats bytes faster :laugh:

    So the conclusion is: I5+SANDY BRIDGE CANNOT RUN FAST RAM AT ITS ANNOUNCED SPEED, LIMIT IS AROUND 1800 MHZ
  16. erixx

    erixx

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,248 (2.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    432
    Here some background numbers. Pic 1 (upper left :) ) is the stock 3770 and RAM command at 2T.
    Pic 2is the first 4400 with everything on auto and RAM command rate at 1T.
    Pic 3 is the latest and best so far, with a CPU stress test in the background to eliminate "idle" states. Really nice jump in Read and latency.
    I just did another Memory and cache test, with the CPU idling at 1600, getting the exact same results as in pic 2.
    Why in pic 3 I get much better Reads but worse L1 Read values is a mistery.

    But!!! the last pic is the i5, with this same RAM running at 2133 (which results in errors sooner then later) but with astonishing Cache L1 values!!!!!....

    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2012

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page