1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

G.Skill Unveils 64 GB Quad-Channel DDR3-2400 memory kit

Discussion in 'News' started by Cristian_25H, Dec 13, 2011.

  1. Cristian_25H

    Cristian_25H News Poster

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2011
    Messages:
    4,626 (4.25/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,164
    Location:
    Still on the East Side
    As if the three kits introduced last month weren't enough, G.Skill has developed yet another quad-channel package for Sandy Bridge-E systems, one that is made up of eight 8 GB modules certified to operate at 2400 MHz. Part of the RipjawsZ series, this new 64 GB kit works at 2400 MHz with 10-12-12-31 latencies, features XMP 1.3 support, and is hand-tested to ensure maximum stability.

    G.Skill's new quad-channel kit is backed by a lifetime warranty and can be found on pre-order priced at (hold on to your headset) 3,199 Euro!

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2011
    f22a4bandit and cadaveca say thanks.
  2. Bundy

    Bundy

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,121 (0.43/day)
    Thanks Received:
    157
    :eek:Sould we order two sets so we have a spare?
     
  3. Hustler New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2010
    Messages:
    100 (0.06/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    lol..one day, 64GB will seem such a small amount of memory, in the same way we thought 64mb was such a HUGE amount of Ram for PC's in the mid 1990's.
     
  4. gumpty

    gumpty

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2008
    Messages:
    744 (0.31/day)
    Thanks Received:
    134
    Location:
    Auckland
    When someone looks up 'diminishing returns', they should be taken to this product's webpage.
     
  5. bostonbuddy New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2011
    Messages:
    381 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    One day you'll scoff at less then 1TB of memory, I still remember when 64gb hdd's were huge. I remember when 1GB were huge.
     
  6. dieterd New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    120 (0.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    2
    I remember when I had HDD with <1GB and win 95. I needed to delet some windows system files to get some space fore the newest games, ofcourse after restart windows did not work anymore - but I had my fun :)
    but seriously 3 199 EUR for RAM? no matter what amount.
     
  7. moonlord

    moonlord New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2010
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    6
    Location:
    Lovrin Romania
    Bling bling, their heatsinks are made from platinum :roll:
     
  8. loleafidas New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2011
    Messages:
    83 (0.07/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3
    Location:
    Somewhere I Belong
    According 2 ur opinion, I buy these RAM 4 3,199 Euro n use wastefully until "one day" ???
     
  9. AsRock

    AsRock TPU addict

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2007
    Messages:
    11,136 (4.10/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,771
    Location:
    US
    8MB to 16MB was recommended i remember most and 50-100MB HDDS with 1/2 - 1 meg upgradable video cards. Then later Matrox started to do 4MB-16MB upgradable cards.
     
  10. LAN_deRf_HA

    LAN_deRf_HA

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2008
    Messages:
    4,559 (1.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    954
    I bet running those settings hurts your max cpu clock. I'd rather run these slower and try to get better timings out of them.
     
  11. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028 (0.83/day)
    Thanks Received:
    521
    Location:
    Lost in Norway
    Honestly my first thought is they look alot like Corsair Vengence's heat sinks...
     
  12. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,990 (2.65/day)
    Thanks Received:
    803
    Location:
    Italy
    You can order a 64 GB kit 1600 Mhz G.Skill at almost 500 Euros and seeing that memory frequency doesn't make that much of a difference I think this one is a bit out of place for every kind of customer, especially because if you want to overclock your RAM for records you're using 2GB DIMMs and if you use this amount memory you aren't going to bother about speeds, unless you are planning to run 64GB linX all day :D
     
  13. Rowsol

    Rowsol

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2011
    Messages:
    585 (0.44/day)
    Thanks Received:
    82
    Location:
    Pocomoke, MD
    hahahah
     
  14. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    I wonder if they'll send me a set for review...:roll:
     
  15. nt300

    nt300

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2010
    Messages:
    868 (0.49/day)
    Thanks Received:
    159
    Location:
    Toronto, ON. Canada
    Harddrives in the future will become obsolete. New performing Ram technologies will replace harddrives especially when we will be using +4TB of Ram :eek: . Technologies meaning the Ram won't get flushed the way it does today. Think of it as a partition within the ram where part of it would be say reserve for harddrive.
     
  16. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    Do you have a motherboard that can support 64GB ram at 2400 :D

    These things are major Epeen 64Gb will last you at least another 6-10 years but by then we will be on DDR4 or something.
     
  17. treboRR

    treboRR New Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2010
    Messages:
    74 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    and my friend thought that his 100 MB HDD will never be full! :D
     
  18. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Yes, I do have a board that should be more than capable, and it seems my CPU should be able to as well. Getting my 16GB 2133 MHz kit from G.Skill @ 2400 was far to simple. Set timings, volts and go.

    64GB IS overkill, but I'd leave 16GB for OS, and turn the rest into a ramdrive. If only we coudl get the OS loaded on to it...or games...or whatever super-HD video...:roll:
     
  19. Delta6326

    Delta6326

    Joined:
    May 21, 2008
    Messages:
    3,840 (1.61/day)
    Thanks Received:
    670
    Location:
    Iowa, USA
    In that case they better send you a set! I wanna see benchies!
     
  20. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Meh. In all seriousness, it's very cool, but that's pretty pricey. The timings actually aren't that bad, considering.

    But looking at the product page, I don't have the right board as they have qualified the Rampage IV Extreme only, but the vDIMM of 1.65v and VCSSA of 1.25v seems pretty reasonable.

    http://www.gskill.com/japan/products.php?index=460

    Maybe I'll see if I can get one form ASUS. That might increase my chances. :laugh:
     
  21. Phxprovost

    Phxprovost Xtreme Refugee

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2009
    Messages:
    1,218 (0.59/day)
    Thanks Received:
    262
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    i really doubt it, unless something entirely revolutionary happens i doubt we would ever need it for anything but a enterprise class hardware. It would seem we are moving into an era that has less to do with specs and more to do with UI features, IE "smartphones" and tablets.
     
    Chevalr1c says thanks.
  22. Steevo

    Steevo

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2005
    Messages:
    8,432 (2.55/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,253
    Only for 3.1.... I ran 256 for 95, and 512 for 98.


    People today with more than 8GB in their system are wasting time unless they are running mission critical tasks and hand tuned applications with large databases.
     
    10 Million points folded for TPU
  23. garyinhere

    garyinhere

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2010
    Messages:
    1,610 (0.91/day)
    Thanks Received:
    976
    Location:
    I'm roomates with Corey Feldman
    Doubt it, The case reviewer has been doing a really good job of it so why change it to you.
     
  24. cadaveca

    cadaveca My name is Dave

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2006
    Messages:
    14,099 (4.47/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7,283
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    Because I asked nicely? :laugh: Finished a board review today, will be live soon, and next up is...a set of G.Skill memory.:pimp:
     
  25. AthlonX2

    AthlonX2 HyperVtXâ„¢

    Joined:
    Sep 27, 2006
    Messages:
    7,225 (2.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,700
    wow dude your ego gets any bigger how will canada hold it? :)
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page