1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

G.Skill unveils DDR2-800 & DDR2-667 4 GB Kits

Discussion in 'News' started by W1zzard, Dec 6, 2006.

  1. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,137 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,090
    G.Skill International Enterprise launches 2 sets high capacity memory modules in DDR2-800 CL6 and DDR2-667 CL5.

    After waiting for 5 years, Microsoft starts to ship the new generation O.S. – VISTA. The global computer users are looking for high capacity memory modules to be capable of running it. G.Skill International Enterprise provides two different speed 2GB capacity module for mainstream. All users can catch the latest O.S. trend in saving price.

    [​IMG]

    DDR2-667 MQ Series Features:
    - Guaranteed clock speed of 667MHz (PC2-5300)
    - Low latency settings of 5 (CL), 5 (TRCD), 5 (TRP), 15 (TRAS)
    - Lifetime warranty
    - Available in the following packages:
    F2-5300CL5S-2GBMQ - Single Module of 2GB
    F2-5300CL5D-4GBMQ - Matched Pair of 2 * 2GB modules (4GB kit)

    DDR2-800 MQ Series Features:
    - Guaranteed clock speed of 800MHz (PC2-6400)
    - Low latency settings of 6 (CL), 6 (TRCD), 6 (TRP), 18 (TRAS)
    - Lifetime warranty
    - Available in the following packages:
    F2-6400CL6S-2GBMQ - Single Module of 2GB
    F2-6400CL6D-4GBMQ - Matched Pair of 2 * 2GB modules (4GB kit)

    Both single module and matched pair packages will be available through G.Skill’s authorized resellers and distributors worldwide. For more information and specifications of the new MQ series products, please visit http://www.gskill.com/en/ddr2.html
     
  2. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    Man! Those latencies are terrible! I would expect G.Skill to have been able to get it at least 1 step lower on everything.
     
  3. EastCoasthandle

    EastCoasthandle New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2005
    Messages:
    6,889 (1.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,506
    how much is that going to cost?
     
  4. W1zzard

    W1zzard Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2004
    Messages:
    15,137 (3.87/day)
    Thanks Received:
    12,090
    4 GB kit usually has slower latencies
     
  5. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    I know, I just didn't expect them to be that bad.
     
  6. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,589 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,421
    wait? who needs a 4 gig kit to run VISTA ? is it that crappy of a coding job?
     
  7. gamer210

    gamer210 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    University of Texas San Antonio
    Knowing Microsoft, it probably is. I think I had read on the Inquirer that Vista was taking up about 1.5 Gb of RAM, and that they had issues while running BF2142. Those latencies are terrible though. My G.Skill DDR is rated at 2.5-3-3-6 but runs smoothly at 2-2-2-4 so hopefully it can handle lower latencies.
     
  8. Easy Rhino

    Easy Rhino Linux Advocate

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2006
    Messages:
    13,589 (4.53/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,421
    1.5 gigs of ram!!?!? hell no. that can't be right.
     
  9. gamer210

    gamer210 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2005
    Messages:
    137 (0.04/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    University of Texas San Antonio
  10. Makaveli

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2006
    Messages:
    430 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    48
    Location:
    Toronto, Ontario
    i run RC2 and it doesn't use up that much memory. Just after boot it hits just over 500mb!
     
  11. Wile E

    Wile E Power User

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2006
    Messages:
    24,324 (7.99/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,778
    500 is even too much. Well, hopefully nLite can take care of that problem.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page