1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

GA-Z77X-UD3H - Samsung 30nm Ram

Discussion in 'Motherboards & Memory' started by Vario, Oct 14, 2013.

  1. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    I am having really bad results with Samsung 30NM HYK0 ram. I have this issue with both 2x4 and 4x4 configurations. I have 5 dimms I can test, two sets of matched and one single odd dimm. I have not tried overclocking a single 4gb dimm though.
    I have tested all 5 dimms separately in another computer with excellent results (Asrock z77e motherboard), 2133 C9 1.4 v and memtest 24 hours pass on every stick.

    Unfortunately when installed in my GA-Z77X-UD3H, the ram doesn't clock past 2000mhz and doesn't go below cas 10. I can get cas 9 but only at 1333. It doesn't make any sense other than some motherboard setting i am missing. I have tried adding voltage to VTT and to IMC, as well as running voltage from 1.35 to 1.6v. The board will just do a boot loop. It doesn't load the OS. Its not a Windows stability issue, its something about the motherboard and this particular type of ram. I believe the digital read out says 15 then 51 then 15 then turns off. Then it will do the usual boot sequence to Ab (bios).

    I have tried the F16, F18, and a hacked f20c (i think) bios, the F18 has worked the best so far.

    With settings:
    all LLC 3d power control is auto/stock
    VTT: Auto
    IMC: Auto
    Ram mode: Extreme
    Timing mode: quick.
    Timing: 2000mhz
    Timing: 10 10 10 28 Cr 1t everything else stock.
    DRAM Voltage 1.5

    This works. But pretty much any other setting doesn't seem to get past the boot loop besides the stock 1600 c11-11-11-28 Jedec profile.

    The ram is composed of two sticks from 05/12 batch and two sticks from 16/12 batch. The matched sticks are in the dual channel slots correctly. I have tried changing the order.


    I can run prime 95 and it has no issues, I can also do XTU memory stress test for a few hours with passes. The thing is, the system kind of acts the way an unstable system would. This was true with both a Xeon 1230v2 and the current 3770k. I have tried it with the 3770k overclocked and stock as well as adding offset voltage to the xeon to see if that would fix it.

    I tried moving the dimms around physically on the board.

    I have tried adding VTT and using VTT LLC (which I dont really trust) and ram voltages, etc.

    Is it because Gigabyte doesn't support the Samsung HYK0?

    This ram does not have an XMP profile.
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2013
  2. DF is BUSY

    DF is BUSY

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    267 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    i swear i read some problems in regard to the ud3h and certain ram not clocking properly, but yeah i would say "not supporting" would be plausible
  3. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Should I just live with this 2000 mhz speed? Is it going to harm my ram modules? I also feel like the system is fast but also kind of unstable despite passing stability metrics. I have gotten boot loop sequences 15 51 sometimes with the setting.

    Also tried doing 1600 and going low and the cas timings won't boot below 9 10 10 28.
  4. DF is BUSY

    DF is BUSY

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2013
    Messages:
    267 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    50
    IMO, if setting them at 2000 is causing instability/you feel its unstable, i would just lower it, did you try any settings between 2000 and 1600?

    as far as having them at 1600 and not being able to tighten the timings that much -is pretty odd, again the ud3h board can be a funny thing at times.

    the samsung at stock is 1600 @ 11-11-11-28 right?
  5. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    I tried 1866 and its the same story.

    Anything over 1600.

    Stock is 1600/11-11-11-28 This board does weird stuff like make them 1600/9/13/13/38

    It also didn't let them overclock with the xeon until I bios flashed, they were locked to 1333 and 1600 multis only.
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2013
  6. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Going to try another bios...
  7. brandonwh64

    brandonwh64 Addicted to Bacon and StarCrunches!!!

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2009
    Messages:
    18,418 (10.41/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,986
    Location:
    Chatsworth, GA
    Noticeable performance is kinda mute around 1866 so really I would set to 1600 and the lowest CAS you can get but if you are bored and want to play I understand.
    Vario says thanks.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    No the shit straight up crashes now in windows. I reset bios to stock and selected the 1600 default. Played 4 games of starcraft. Then signed out and was sitting idle and it crashed.

    I put my old ram back in (the hyper x) and no problems.


    Heres the thing: I get zero errors memtest when I test it in my 1155 systems but i get a shitload of errors in my phenom 2 rig, like within 3 minutes it errors and locks the system.

    It runs perfectly fine in my z77e itx, 2133 c9 1.5v best i got! I've tried all 5 sticks I own same results.

    Ill test it tomorrow in a x58 system.

    I think its just really really unsupported in these two motherboards. I got a few other computers I can test the ram in. A GA Z77X-D3H with an i5 2400 and a 3570k in a Asus Z77X pro or whatever.
  9. petedread

    petedread

    Joined:
    May 29, 2011
    Messages:
    269 (0.24/day)
    Thanks Received:
    21
    Location:
    Doncaster
    I know this won't help much but,
    I feel your pain. My Samsung 30nm is behaving oddly in my Z87 board (Gigabyte). I get random crashes and I can't OC it like I used to in my P67(Asus) or my Z77. In the P67 it would easily run at 2133 and tight timings, and I never had to touch the volts, left it at stock V. It's a long time ago so I can't really remember but I think the ram mite have done 2133 with stock timings aswell 11, 11, 11, 28. I was super impressed with the ram but right now I'm looking at buying some Avexir Core Extreme Green (to match sniper mobo) Series, DDR3 PC3-22800C12 2933MHz. I will never get it to run at 2933 but even if I only get it to do 2133 at least won't have to put up with the crashes.
    Vario says thanks.
  10. vlolv

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    3 (0.00/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    West Java, Indonesia
    I used this mem for my AMD system and run daily stable @2133 cl9 vdimm 1.6v and @2400 cl10/cl11 vdimm 1.65 - 1.7v and already test this mem on MSI MPower Max running properly @2200 cl9 vdimm 1.65v
    Vario says thanks.
  11. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    I am about 8 hours into prime 95 blend with the ram set to 9-9-9-24 1.5v 1600. Going to see what destabilizes it when.
  12. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Tweaktown has a lot of custom gigabyte bios's and data on this ram working with it but I tried a lot of their suggestions without luck. Its very weird. I think its a tertiary or secondary timing that isn't right stock for an OC setting that gigabyte is more sensitive to.
  13. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Okay so 12 hours of p95 with maxed memory at 1600 9-9-9-24 (timings above) and its okay, gonna try to push it:

    20x 9-9-9-24 will boot but unstable at 1.6v Fails IBT very high,

    I tried 22x 11-11-11-33 2t at 1.65v won't boot. Error/code 15 and 51.

    Haven't messed with vtt and imc yet.

    Right now I am running IBT max 20 loop stock processor but with ram at 1800, 1.45v, 9-9-9-24. Im on the 4th loop, its gonna be a long test. If I get a nice stable 1800 I won't mess with this more. I don't like the heat the added vtt imc voltages added to my overall.
  14. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Might be stable like this
    [​IMG]
    Above is with full programs loaded, so it could probably be lower latency if I task managered more.
    Its getting me higher scores than the 2x8 hyper x 1600 10-10-10-33. My OC seems knocked down about 100 mhz to compensate for IMC load. This chip sucks, 4.2 ghz needs about 1.3v.

    Now I have to test it.
  15. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,542 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    i think i see your problem.

    a couple of 100 mv on those volts will not add a massive amount to the heat in the chip, nor would it make the ram melt either. i would try a little more vdimm too, just in case you are getting some vdrop on the vdimm too.
  16. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Yes so a few more mv on each of the vdimms voltage settings? Theres voltage adjustments for all sorts of ram features, not just the vdimm. Saw it in the bios but haven't touched them.
  17. marsey99

    marsey99

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,542 (0.60/day)
    Thanks Received:
    289
    i was thinking 100mv on the sa/io volts to start and maybe 50 or so on the vdimm.

    you will not get much bump in ram mhz without a little more voltage to the imc.
  18. Homeless

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,025 (0.32/day)
    Thanks Received:
    109
    Location:
    USA
    I have a UD3H with 4x4gb Samsung RAM and to get over 1866 you have to change the slew rate to 4 or greater. Unfortunately for me, this function is only available in the newer beta bios'es and doesn't exist in bios F18. I should note that I have always had issues with Sleep on the F19/F20 beta bios series, so I never use them.
  19. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    I'll give this a shot after trying the slew rate trick!

    Thank you so much man.


    The secondary and tertiary timings seem to be working great that I took from this hyper x but the profile will erase. I'll back it up, load the f20 and see if I can get it to 2400. I can run it at 1.4v 2133 on the other pc no problem.
  20. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Okay so I loaded the f20c beta bios and fucked with the slew rates, it didn't give me an edge at all just same crap.

    Heres what I am running now with F18. This gives me good performance and it seems stable IBT Maxed ram 20 loops okay and 10 hours of aida 64 tester, I haven't tested a 24 hour prime run yet. I based the timings off my hyper x.

    This is for my gigabyte z77xud3h f18 bios so YMMV.
    18x memory multi (DDR3 1800)
    9
    9
    9
    24

    33
    4
    5
    10
    21
    7
    174
    5
    20
    1
    3
    3

    5200
    45
    1
    3
    3
    3
    3
    1
    3
    4
    4

    Turbo Expert, locked in all timings on both channels so no autos.
    Dram voltage: 1.450v.

    My cpu is 42x, +.040v. Everything else is the same.
  21. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Tried 2 sticks. Same deal, locked out of 2000+ but I can run some low timings. I guess the motherboard doesn't really like the ram because same stick runs at 2133 easily in the other motherboard without really doing anything.

    Going to try to get 4 sticks to run 2000 Mhz with same timings (9-9-9-24).
  22. Vario

    Vario

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2005
    Messages:
    2,740 (0.86/day)
    Thanks Received:
    851
    Okay I'm not messing with this memory anymore. It keeps doing this BSOD 116 and I am done with it. The hyper X overclocks better actually.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page