1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gainward 780 GLH issue.

Discussion in 'NVIDIA' started by Aceman.au, Aug 27, 2013.

  1. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    So I've got 2 Gainward 780's in SLI and in some games I get massive FPS drops (so far its LoL and Bf3).

    The FPS will be sitting at whatever e.g. 100 fps then drop suddenly to 1-20 FPS and then come back up again. In Bf3 it isn't as bad, but in league of legends my entire screen freezes. I've tried it with SLI on and off, doesn't fix it. Overclocking doesn't seem to be the issue as I've had it at default clock and it still happens.

    Driver : 320.49

    System specs are as is my profile.

    It happens every game. It isn't isolated incidents.
  2. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    How far those cards are apart from each other?

    What I want to know is, does the upper card have atleast one slot of clearance to get some fresh air?

    Does it minimize your game when freezing? That could be the difference between TDR and a frame dip.

    I suggest you doing a clean install of drivers and while you are at it grab betas 326.80.

    My guess is a temperature issue due to not enough clearance and bad paste until you give us more information :toast:
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  3. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Primary is slot 1. 2nd in slot 3. 2-3cms of clearance, Massive air flow through my case. Temps 33-40 degrees no more. Ill reinstall drivers.
  4. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Even on load? Are you watercooled?
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  5. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    On load and Im not watercooling
  6. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,105 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    Could be boost derping out so have a GPU-z overlay running while play and check clocks when the frame rate crashes.
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  7. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    kk
  8. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Actually I can answer that already. I was watching my clocks with expertool and the core clock was dropping when the frames were.
  9. BiggieShady

    BiggieShady

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2012
    Messages:
    953 (1.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    318
    Location:
    Zagreb, Croatia
    Reproduce the issue and look at Perf Cap Reason at that moment on graph. It will indicate if it's because of thermals, voltage, power or driver.
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  10. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ok I will do when I play next. That might be tomorrow however. Ill post in this thread then.

    Ill play a game soon :D
  11. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ok nothing came up under Perfcap reason. But my clocks were sitting @ 666 mhz core and 400 mhz memory clock during the game and going to full clock when the spikes happened. The driver update definitely made a difference. Still a bit of lag though. Testing out BF3 now.
    Last edited: Aug 27, 2013
  12. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,105 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    go into some overclocking software and push up the power limit
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  13. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Hitting the power limit does not make your game freeze, especially if he's hovering around 100 FPS.

    Anyway I'd strongly recommend you to disable SLI in league of legends.
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  14. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    The power limit is @ 100 percent
  15. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Would setting it to the standard 780 clock fix it?
  16. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    In my 3D settings there's a lot of things turned on by the card. Anything here that could be causing a problem?

    [​IMG]

    Edit: Also, going to bed now, Ill continue tomorrow.
  17. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    So anyone got any answers? I might just have to message Gainward. See if they can fix it.
  18. buildzoid

    buildzoid

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2012
    Messages:
    1,105 (1.67/day)
    Thanks Received:
    293
    Location:
    CZ
    push the power limit to 120% that should solve the issues.
    If that doesn't help cranck the fans to 100% and see if it stops the frequency drops.
    make sure you don't have any 2D video running in the background ie: youtube
    Last edited: Aug 28, 2013
    Aceman.au says thanks.
  19. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Ok thanks
  20. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Also set that power management mode to -> prefer maximum performance.

    It's above SLI rendering mode.

    It made a big difference for me, resolved TDR in Firefox and some other problems.
  21. Aceman.au

    Aceman.au

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2008
    Messages:
    1,420 (0.63/day)
    Thanks Received:
    51
    Yeah I have, last league game there was next to no lag.
  22. radrok

    radrok

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2011
    Messages:
    2,981 (2.89/day)
    Thanks Received:
    800
    Location:
    Italy
    Good to see you've sorted out your problem :)

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page