1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Gainward hd4850 Golden sample fixed by bios update?

Discussion in 'AMD / ATI' started by katsuru, Oct 25, 2008.

  1. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Hello guys,

    I changed my mobo and cpu, and my GPU started acting weird, with blackscreens, and strips/crashes while benching/gaming, i was reading around and i found out someone had similiar problem as me and with bios update, he solved it.


    my bios version is 11.007, on Techpowerup bios collection, there is a 11.008 for Gainward Golden Sample HD 4850.


    Do you think my Gfx would be back to normal, if i flash the bios?


    Thanks
  2. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Anyone can tell me if updating bios has any chance of solve my problem? thanks ;)
  3. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    It might but you need to make sure that your psu can handle all the new equip and if you went from AMD> intel or vs a vs than you will need to reformat windows that or say if you went from a really old intel/AMD platform and upgraded to a new one you would need to reformat...other than that double check connections maybe clean up the system defrag reg clean new drivers etc.
  4. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    I would say contact the retailer or Gainward before modifying your bios. You really shouldn't have to with a new card.
  5. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    my power supply is a LC power 550, my HD4850 was benching yesterday on my other sistem ( Amd 4600+ , msi k9n neo, 2x1G Mushkin ( same mems from this sys now ) the PSU is also the same, and my hd4850 benched for quite long time without problems, i even reduced the fan speed to let her heat a lil bit more to make sure temps were not causing this crashs, she was benching at 75º for some time, no crash at all, in this new sistem she hits 65º and puff... crash.


    =/ i cant understand that
  6. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Bad card. Thing is, what if you try flashing the bios and it's still messed up? You may then have warranty issues.
  7. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    why do you say bad card if she benchs OK on my other sistem? there must be a logical reason to explain why she crashs on this sistem at 65º ( everytime she hits that temp she crashs ) and yesterday when i tested her on the other sys, she hit 75º with no problems =/
  8. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    banking on the new mobo and proc w/o a format.
  9. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Windows was fresh instaled 2 times, one time Sp3, the other time sp2 to make sure this crashes werent sp3 fault.
  10. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    maybe drivers then? make sure that if your mobo has a pci-e 4pin aux that you plug it in..it will look like a molex connector soldered on the mobo..double check pci-e bus and lane options in the bios do a fresh bios flash if their is an update for your board....uninstall and reinstall cats try diff versions 8.7-8.10 make sure if your oc'd you run it at stock and do the tests.
  11. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Drivers i tried both, 8.9 and 8.10. I dont see no pci-e 4pin aux, the mobo is a Asus p5q-e, bios was fresh flashed to the latest version, PCI-E freq is set to 100mhz, i have no OC on my PC =/

    yesterday i tried to play farcry2, i was browsing the menu and the crash happened there :shadedshu


    i am getting really worried, because if the GPU is damaged i will be without it 4-6 weeks, =/
  12. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i was just benching in another sistem and this was the result: [​IMG][​IMG]


    Now someone explain me, why my GPU dont crash in my AMD sis, and it crashes on my C2D at 80 seconds with 65º, and why it doesnt crash when i set the fan speed to 100% on my C2D?

    The power supply used on my AMD bench test, is the same that i use on my C2D.
  13. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    any clues please?
  14. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    maybe the power suply is getting weak id rebuild everything...pull out everything in your system and rebuild it mean mobo and all yank it all out and rebuild sometimes it will just be that simple...if that still doesnt do it id look to RMA'ing the card.
  15. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    why should i RMA a GPU that works perfectly under another sistem and only on C2D sistem is having problems? GPU is not the problem here, i am pretty sure of it, my guess goes to Mobo or PSU =/ but the psu works on the other sistem just fine...
  16. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    rebuild and check options in the bios after
  17. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    it was rebuilt plenty of times, every time i tested the GPU in the other sistem, i had to take everything away from here so i could install the other mobo
  18. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    i was just playin farcry2 now with the fan set to 55%, she had temps rounding 50º , no crashes at all, yesterday when i tried farcry 2 i had the fan lil bit less active, and she crashed right away in the menu

    Why does she crash with 60+º in my c2d sistem and she doesnt crash with 75º in my amd sistem?

    You guys think this could be a power supply problem? or is my p5q-e damaged?
  19. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida


    its hard to tell in the bios under hardware monitor what does it say you 12v rail is at?
  20. erocker

    erocker Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2006
    Messages:
    39,521 (13.50/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,920
    Have you downloaded and installed the latest chipset drivers from Intel? Dx9 all up to date?
  21. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    12.40 i think

    Yes and yes =/


    This is driving me crazy, i have never seen something like this
  22. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    hmm this is incredably odd in all honesty iv pretty much run out of ideas...id say rma the card.
  23. katsuru New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2008
    Messages:
    53 (0.03/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Again the question, why RMA a card that works just fine ? only this Setup - C2D E8400 E0 + P5Q-E + 2x1G Mushkin + HD 4850 Golden Sample is giving problems, because with this one - AMD 4600+ , K9n Neo, 2x1G Mushkin + HD 4850 Golden sample, there is no problem at all with crashes or anything like that... =/


    I will try another PSU tomorrow, if it doesnt solve my problem,the board goes back ( it has 1 week ) if the new mobo still crashs with this GPU then i will send my GPU to Gainward .
  24. Solaris17

    Solaris17 Creator Solaris Utility DVD

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2005
    Messages:
    17,068 (5.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    3,502
    Location:
    Florida
    that makes sense go for it.

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page