1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Galaxy GeForce GTX 550 Ti Display4 Graphics Card Pictured

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Nov 24, 2011.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,957 (11.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,757
    Location:
    Hyderabad, India
    Here are the first pictures of Galaxy's GeForce GTX 550 Ti Display4 graphics card, designed exclusively for Asian markets. As its name might suggest, it is a GeForce GTX 550 Ti based graphics card designed to support up to four displays. The card uses an IDT VMM 1403 display output logic chip that lets it effectively make use of the total resolution the GPU supports. The redesigned display logic supports a total resolution of 5760 x 1080. Spread across four displays, you get 1440 x 1080 per display, or spread it across three displays to get 1920 x 1080 per display. Apart from four DVI connectors, its output logic makes room for a mini-HDMI connector.

    The GeForce GTX 550 Ti is aided by 1 GB of GDDR5 memory across a 192-bit wide memory interface. It is powered by a 3+1 phase VRM controlled by Galaxy's in-house G-Engine chip. The GTX 550 Ti packs 192 CUDA cores, and clock speeds of 950 MHz core, 1900 MHz CUDA cores, and 1025 MHz (4.10 GHz effective) GDDR5 memory. Galaxy also used its in-house "Glaciator" cooler, which makes use of a heat-pipe fed heatsink ventilated by a large central fan. This can can be partially detached to help clean it, and the portion of the heatsink directly underneath it. Galaxy's GTX 550 Ti Display4 is priced at RMB 999 (converts to US $157).

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: Expreview
     
    Damn_Smooth says thanks.
  2. Scatler

    Scatler

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2011
    Messages:
    103 (0.08/day)
    Thanks Received:
    39
    designed exclusively for Asian markets

    WHY GOD!? WHYYYY?
    This card is pure goldmine with this price tag and only for asia :<
     
  3. Static~Charge

    Static~Charge

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    474 (0.21/day)
    Thanks Received:
    86
    Keep your eye on eBay. These cards are bound to show up there.
     
  4. antuk15

    antuk15

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2011
    Messages:
    402 (0.29/day)
    Thanks Received:
    138
    192 bit memory interface but 1024mb of VRAM... That doesn't add up.. Shouldn't it be 1152mb VRAM?
     
  5. ViperXTR

    ViperXTR

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2011
    Messages:
    1,396 (0.98/day)
    Thanks Received:
    409
    afaik, nVidia did some modifications in the memory controller for the GTX 550 Ti, in such a way that it has three 64bit memory controllers, and each controller is controlling 2 32bit memory chips. 4 of the memory chips are 128MB in size while the remaining 2 are 256MB in size totaling 1024MB of memory at 192bit. The Raster Operators (ROP) are also tied to the memory chips, and each chip has 4 ROPs in it so in simple terms:

    Note: GTX 550 Ti has 6 memory chips

    Memory Controller 1 - 64bit - 128MB 32bit memory w/4 ROPs + 128MB 32bit memory w/4 ROPs
    Memory Controller 2 - 64bit - 128MB 32bit memory w/4 ROPs + 128MB 32bit memory w/4 ROPs
    Memory Controller 3 - 64bit - 256MB 32bit memory w/4 ROPs + 256MB 32bit memory w/4 ROPs

    Total of - 192bit 1024MB memory w/ 24ROPs

    In terms of memory controller, its really different from GTS 450 since it had to balance the load on the odd memory configuration, and thats up to the drivers.

    correct me if i miss somethin or some errors
     
    D4S4 says thanks.
  6. Damn_Smooth

    Damn_Smooth

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,435 (1.09/day)
    Thanks Received:
    478
    Location:
    A frozen turdberg.
    This would make a hell of a lot more sense if it was a 580 with 3GB RAM.
     

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page