1. Welcome to TechPowerUp Forums, Guest! Please check out our forum guidelines for info related to our community.

Galaxy Intros Low-Power 9800 GT Graphics Cards

Discussion in 'News' started by btarunr, Mar 26, 2009.

  1. btarunr

    btarunr Editor & Senior Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    28,201 (11.42/day)
    Thanks Received:
    13,572
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Galaxy made an addition to the increasing number of low-power GeForce 9800 GT graphics cards taking shape by several NVIDIA partners. The company introduced 512 MB and 1 GB variants. Specs-wise, the cards retain the GPU and memory configurations (112 SP, 256-bit memory interface), while cutting down on clock-speeds to 550/900 MHz (core/memory), from the reference speeds of 600/900 MHz.

    The company uses the 55 nm G92 GPU (G92-283-B1), which has a smaller thermal footprint in comparison to its 65 nm variant. The result: cards that do not require auxillary power from the 6-pin PCI-E connector. The 1 GB variant comes with a full-coverage single-slot cooler, while the 512 MB one comes with a simpler radial cooler. Both cards are SLI capable. Display outputs provided on the card include DVI, D-Sub, and HDMI.

    [​IMG] [​IMG]

    Source: VR-Zone
  2. mdm-adph

    mdm-adph New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2007
    Messages:
    2,478 (0.93/day)
    Thanks Received:
    340
    Location:
    Your house.
    Holy crap -- 8800GT's that don't require external power. That's actually pretty impressive.
  3. SpatialAnomaly New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2008
    Messages:
    31 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Exploring Mirkwood
    If they can produce the same performance as the cards that need a 6pin power plug, then it's great. Can they?

    Don't think so since they reduced the clocks. Seems like putting a throttle lock on a product, but calling it the same thing as the full-power version.
  4. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,837
    50Mhz on the core will hardle be noticeable, and you will likely be able to overclock the cards right back to stock speeds.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  5. nazaropeth New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2009
    Messages:
    33 (0.02/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1
    Location:
    Zielona Gora, Poland
    Next card that not required external power... That's isn't good for mainboard cause extra 70W comes over the PCB... External conector has another good point, it's giving chance to extra overclock by giving more power, when the card need that.
  6. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    You'll only be able to clock these back up on a PCI-E 2.0 mobo, due to the power constraints.
  7. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,837
    I'm sure the 50MHz will be possible on 1.1 boards too, I think you will get better results on a 2.0 board, but taking them back to stock clocks shouldn't be an issue.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  8. alexp999

    alexp999 Staff

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2007
    Messages:
    8,045 (3.16/day)
    Thanks Received:
    862
    Location:
    Dorset, UK
    Agree with that, I was thinking more on the proper overclock side, lol.
  9. richardbel

    richardbel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2008
    Messages:
    261 (0.13/day)
    Thanks Received:
    16
    Location:
    vancouver
    ^ yeah i was actually thinking the same thing.. its very expensive really..
  10. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,837
    These definitely won't be great in the overclocking department, that is for sure, but there are alternatives if you want a good overclocker. These would be great in a HTPC though.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  11. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,941 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    lowering the clocks is not what saved the power - lowering the core voltage is what saved the power.

    You wont be clocking it back up very far without BIOS modding the voltage back up, and even then, you wont get far on a 1.1 board. you need to extra power of a 2.0 board, or the 6 pin power for that.
  12. squallho1 Galaxy Representative

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2009
    Messages:
    15 (0.01/day)
    Thanks Received:
    7
    Location:
    Hong Kong
    This part is not designed for overclock right? For overclocking we have some other nice SKUs... :)
  13. Kursah

    Kursah

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    7,595 (2.68/day)
    Thanks Received:
    1,567
    Location:
    Missoula, MT, USA
    True, but it'd be sweet to get some slightly decent clocks off of such a card. Just seeing this is a good thing in this day and age, and it shows the performance that these companies can truly fit into the smaller pcb sizes of yore. I think it's probably cheaper and easier for the larger cards, but it's good to see still competent technology get attention to the point of this. Next up is 4870's and GTX260's on pcb's this size dammit! Well, I wish...

    :toast:
  14. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,941 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    It may not be designed for it, but that wont stop us from trying :)
  15. u2konline

    u2konline

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2008
    Messages:
    1,947 (0.88/day)
    Thanks Received:
    98
    Location:
    Dundalk, Maryland
    Interesting cards, a plus for not having to hook up anything to it.
  16. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad
    cool but seems can't overclock much , but can the mobo handle 4 of this in SLI
  17. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,941 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    with only one SLI bridge, its limited to 2 cards in SLI.

    Pity, it woulda made a cheap, low power quad SLI solution.
  18. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,837
    Or even a tri-sli option, I really wish manufacturers would start to release tri-sli capable 9800GTs and 9600GTs also.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  19. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,941 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    two bridges works for tri and quad SLI. one bridge only works for two cards.
  20. Hayder_Master

    Hayder_Master

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2008
    Messages:
    5,173 (2.27/day)
    Thanks Received:
    638
    Location:
    IRAQ-Baghdad

    you right it is only have one bridge
  21. newtekie1

    newtekie1 Semi-Retired Folder

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2005
    Messages:
    19,664 (6.23/day)
    Thanks Received:
    5,837
    I didn't think the two bridges allowed for Quad-SLi, only Tri. I thought the only way to get Quad-SLi was to buy two 9800GX2's or GTX295's.
    Crunching for Team TPU
  22. Mussels

    Mussels Moderprator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2004
    Messages:
    41,941 (11.76/day)
    Thanks Received:
    9,364
    im not sure if it works with quad on single GPU cards, but look at the SLI connector.

    . as long as an empty bridge lines up between teh cards, you can connect em... whether or not it works on current NV drivers, i dont know.


    edit: i had little pictchas. due to them not looking right, i edited em out./

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guest)

Share This Page